ANVESHAN Create account
qsif · quant Money Managers Limited · Specialised Investment Fund

qsif Active Asset Allocator Long-Short Fund

Not investableResearch only: SIFs are not in any investable list here and never in the paper-money draw — a ₹10 lakh minimum and set redemption days do not fit a paper-money ticket.

SIF Active Asset Allocator Long-Short interval (redemptions on set days only) risk band 3 of five minimum ₹10 lakh

The label “SIF” does not say how much risk a fund takes or what it charges: funds with the same label differ on both. And a year of NAVs with one fall in it is not enough to treat any figure below as a property of the fund.

At a glance

from AMFI’s SIF pages and the fund’s own documents

NAV, 29 Sep 2026
₹13.22
Direct, Growth
Since the first NAV
+32.1%
24 Apr 2026 – 29 Sep 2026 · over the period, not a yearly rate
History
5 months
nothing under six months is annualised
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
2.31% / 3.73%
a year, AMFI, 29 Sep 2026
When money can be taken out
Every Tuesday and Wednesday (the next business day when either is a holiday)
from the offer document

NAV is the price of one unit. The expense ratio is the yearly fee taken out of the fund; the Direct plan is bought without a distributor, the Regular plan pays one out of the fund. An interval fund pays redemptions only on set days.

Measured on this SIF

descriptive, each with the case for and against — no rating, no rank

SIF Too young to judge

5 months of NAVs, from 24 Apr 2026 to 29 Sep 2026

+32.1% since the first NAV (not stated as a yearly rate: under six months)

What this means. How long the record is. A return over a few months says what happened in those months; raised to a yearly rate it would be a number the fund never earned, so nothing under six months is shown that way.

First NAV24 Apr 2026Latest NAV29 Sep 2026Share class readSIF-90, the Direct Growth class where there is one
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterEverything on a SIF page is at most a year old, and most of it is months. Knowing the length first stops a short, lucky or unlucky stretch being read as a record.
Why it might notLength is not quality. A long record from a market that only rose is no better evidence than a short one, and a young fund may be well run.
SIF Against the right alternative, on the same dates

+33.3% from 24 Apr 2026 to 25 Sep 2026, against +1.9% for Multi asset allocation funds, median Direct plan

+31.34 percentage points over those dates; on ₹10 lakh, ₹3,13,433 more

What this means. A SIF is set against the mutual funds a buyer could hold instead, read on exactly the same two dates as the SIF. The median is the middle fund of the group; a fund without a NAV on both dates is left out and counted, never read off a nearby day.

AgainstThis fundAlternativeDifferenceOn ₹10 lakh
Multi asset allocation funds, median Direct plan (34 funds; 3 without NAVs on both dates left out)
mutual funds that also move between equity, debt and commodities
More
+33.3% +1.9% +31.34 percentage points ₹3,13,433 more
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterA long-short fund compared with the whole market looks brilliant in a fall and poor in a rally; compared with the fund a buyer would otherwise hold, the difference is the SIF’s own contribution, fees included.
Why it might notThe comparisons are chosen by the mandate, not by what the fund actually holds, and AMFI’s data does not say whether a hybrid SIF keeps its equity hedged or takes a view. Over months, the difference is mostly the market’s path.
SIF Which market it has seen

First NAV 24 Apr 2026: after the 19 Mar 2026 low, so its whole record is a rising market

What this means. The one fall in SIF history so far ran from the Nifty 500’s high on 5 Jan 2026 to its low on 19 Mar 2026. A SIF live through it has been tested once; one launched after it has only seen prices rise.

First NAV24 Apr 2026Live for the fallnoBorn after the lowyes
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterThe promise of a long-short fund is a smaller fall. Only the funds live then have any evidence on it, and a fund with none should be read as untested, not as safe.
Why it might notOne fall is one event. A fund that fell less this time may have been positioned for this fall, not for falls in general.
SIF What the mandate allows

The mandate sets no floor on equity: net exposure can be anywhere the managers choose

The offer document states no net-exposure range of its own

What this means. Moves between equity, debt, commodity derivatives and real-estate or infrastructure trusts with no fixed floor, with up to 25% short through unhedged derivatives. This is arithmetic from the rules, not a reading of the portfolio.

Stated asset allocationInvestment in equity and equity-related instruments :- 0-100%; Investment in debt and money market instruments:- 0-100%; Exchange Traded Commodity Derivatives (ETCDs):- 0-30%; Investments in InVITS:- 0-20%
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterThe range is how different two funds with the same label are allowed to be: an equity long-short fund can sit at 55% or 100% net long, which are two different products.
Why it might notThe rules bound the fund; they do not say where in the range it sits. Only the portfolio, published every other month, says that.
SIF What it costs

Direct plan 2.31% a year, against 0.79% for Multi asset allocation funds, median Direct plan

To end level with the cheaper alternative, the strategy must earn 1.52 percentage points more every year before costs: ₹15,200 a year on ₹10 lakh

What this means. The expense ratio is the yearly fee taken out of the fund, as AMFI publishes it each day. The gap to the alternative is the extra return the strategy must earn just to break even with it.

As of29 Sep 2026Regular plan3.73% a yearStated maximum, Direct2.43% a yearDirect over Regular, from the two NAVs+0.89 percentage points from 24 Apr 2026 to 29 Sep 2026
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterThe fee is the one number known in advance. A long-short strategy has to beat a cheaper fund by at least the fee gap, every year, for the extra complexity to pay for itself.
Why it might notA fee is paid for something. A strategy that falls less in a crash may be worth a higher fee to someone who would otherwise sell at the bottom.
SIF Where the gain came from

Sep 2026 (+14.6%) made 52% of the gain since launch

What this means. How much of the rise since the first NAV happened in the single strongest calendar month, measured in NAV points so all months add up to the whole.

Months read6PortfolioSIFs disclose their holdings every other month (as of the end of January, March, May, July, September and November), on each brand’s own website. They are not collected in this build yet.
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterA record made in one month is one good call, not a method; the same return spread over many months says more about the strategy.
Why it might notSome strategies are built to earn in bursts — a hedge that pays in the one month the market breaks — so a concentrated record is not a flaw in itself.
SIF The risk the fund states

Risk band 3 of five, as its own summary document states; Active Asset Allocator Long-Short funds state bands from 2 to 3

Band 5 at launch, band 3 now

What this means. SEBI has each SIF state a risk band from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest). Funds of one strategy type state very different bands — the label does not fix the risk.

Band 21 fundBand 32 funds
Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterTwo funds with one label and bands 1 and 5 are different products; the band is the fund house’s own reading of that difference.
Why it might notThe band is self-declared and moves with the portfolio; a low band on a young fund describes intentions more than a record.
SIF How big the strategy type has grown

₹1,721 crore across 3 Active Asset Allocator Long-Short funds at the end of Aug 2026

+559% in three months

What this means. AMFI’s SIF pages publish assets per strategy type, not per fund; a fund’s own size is in its factsheet. A small fund (under ₹200 crore) can close or merge; a fast-growing strategy type can run out of short positions to take.

Why it might matter, and why it might not
Why this might matterMoney arriving fast into a new product is a reason to ask whether the strategy scales; shorting in size is harder than buying.
Why it might notGrowth describes demand, not quality, and a strategy type’s total says nothing certain about any one fund in it.

The fund checks that need more

the measures on every mutual-fund page, and why each cannot run on a SIF yet

Consistency over rolling three-year stretches (P4)
not measurable yet: 5 months of NAVs, and the first three-year stretch needs 36
Direct against Regular, as a yearly rate over a year or more (P5)
not measurable yet: 5 months of NAVs; the gap to date is shown below instead
Turnover, how long top holdings are kept, and their hit rate (P1–P3)
not measurable: SIF portfolios are published every other month on each brand’s own site and are not collected here yet
Tracking the published NAV against the disclosed book
not measurable: needs a disclosed portfolio and daily prices for every line, including the short positions
Manager tenure against the category (P7)
the managers are listed from the summary document; there is no category record to measure a tenure against

NAV

month-end NAV of Direct, Growth, indexed to 100 at the first month

100.0110.0120.0130.0Apr 2026Jul 2026Sep 2026Apr 2026: NAV ₹10.01 on 30 Apr 2026May 2026: NAV ₹10.28 on 29 May 2026Jun 2026: NAV ₹10.55 on 30 Jun 2026Jul 2026: NAV ₹11.42 on 31 Jul 2026Aug 2026: NAV ₹11.54 on 31 Aug 2026Sep 2026: NAV ₹13.22 on 29 Sep 2026
100.0110.0120.0130.0Apr 2026Jul 2026Sep 2026Apr 2026: NAV ₹10.01 on 30 Apr 2026May 2026: NAV ₹10.28 on 29 May 2026Jun 2026: NAV ₹10.55 on 30 Jun 2026Jul 2026: NAV ₹11.42 on 31 Jul 2026Aug 2026: NAV ₹11.54 on 31 Aug 2026Sep 2026: NAV ₹13.22 on 29 Sep 2026
100.0110.0120.0130.0Apr 2026Jul 2026Sep 2026Apr 2026: NAV ₹10.01 on 30 Apr 2026May 2026: NAV ₹10.28 on 29 May 2026Jun 2026: NAV ₹10.55 on 30 Jun 2026Jul 2026: NAV ₹11.42 on 31 Jul 2026Aug 2026: NAV ₹11.54 on 31 Aug 2026Sep 2026: NAV ₹13.22 on 29 Sep 2026

6 month-ends; the last point is the latest NAV held, not a month-end.

What its documents state

the terms AMFI’s NAV file does not carry, with where each came from

Brand and fund house
qsif · quant Money Managers Limited
Strategy
Active Asset Allocator Long-Short — Moves between equity, debt, commodity derivatives and real-estate or infrastructure trusts with no fixed floor, with up to 25% short through unhedged derivatives.
Structure
interval (redemptions on set days only)
When money can be taken out
Every Tuesday and Wednesday (the next business day when either is a holiday)
Minimum investment
₹10 lakh
Exit load (a fee for leaving early)
Exit Load: 1% if redeemed/switched out on or before completion of 15 days from the date of allotment of units No Exit Load is payable if Units are redeemed / switched-out after 15 days from the date of allotment
Benchmark it names
40% NSE 500 TRI + 30% CRISIL Short Term Bond Fund Index + 30% iCOMDEX Composite Index
First NAV
24 Apr 2026
Fund managers, as the summary document names them
Sandeep Tandon (since 21 Apr 2026), Jignesh Shah (since 21 Apr 2026), Ankit Pande (since 21 Apr 2026), Sameer Kate (since 21 Apr 2026), Sanjeev Sharma (since 21 Apr 2026)

Sources

Every figure is read from AMFI’s SIF pages and the documents AMFI hosts for each strategy. A field a document does not state is shown as not stated, never filled in.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code (SIF codes start “SIF-”)

Plan and optionAMFI codeNAVDate
Direct, Growth
qsif Active Asset Allocator Long-Short Fund - Direct Plan - Growth
More
SIF-90₹13.2229 Sep 2026
Direct, IDCW (income paid out)
qsif Active Asset Allocator Long-Short Fund - Direct Plan - IDCW
More
SIF-92₹13.2229 Sep 2026
Regular, Growth
qsif Active Asset Allocator Long-Short Fund - Regular Plan - Growth
More
SIF-93₹13.1329 Sep 2026
Regular, IDCW (income paid out)
qsif Active Asset Allocator Long-Short Fund - Regular Plan - IDCW
More
SIF-91₹13.1329 Sep 2026

What a SIF is

and the words used above

A Specialised Investment Fund (SIF) is a mutual-fund-regulated product SEBI allowed from April 2025, sold under a brand separate from the fund house’s name (Altiva is Edelweiss, qsif is quant, Magnum is SBI). It may sell short — bet on prices falling, through derivatives — up to a quarter of its assets, which an ordinary mutual fund may not. The minimum investment is ₹10 lakh per investor per fund house, and many SIFs are interval funds: money can be taken out only on set days, not on any business day.

NAV
net asset value: the price of one unit, published each business day
Long-short
buys some securities (long) and bets on others falling (short), within SEBI’s 25% limit on unhedged short positions
Net exposure
long positions minus short positions, as a share of the fund: how much of it moves with the market
Interval fund
one that pays out redemptions only on set days (for example every Monday and Wednesday), not on any business day
Direct / Regular plan
the same portfolio bought without a distributor (Direct) or with one paid out of the fund (Regular)
Expense ratio (TER)
the yearly fee taken out of the fund, as a percentage of its assets; AMFI publishes it daily for each SIF
Median
the middle fund of a group, when they are lined up by return
Arbitrage fund
a mutual fund that buys a share and sells its future at once, earning the gap with little market risk
Balanced advantage fund
a mutual fund that moves between equity and debt by its own rule

Every SIF, by strategy type → · What the SIF label does not say →