ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
DSP Asset Managers Private Limited · Uncategorised · wound up

DSP A.C.E. Fund (Analyst's Conviction Equalized) - Series 2

uncategorised Direct plan, growth

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 28 Jun 2021
₹15.53
+2.04% since 31 May 2021
1 year
46.3%
return
3 years
18.0%
a year
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
15.8%
a year, over 3.3 years
Assets (AUM)
₹108 Cr
Jun 2021 AMFI quarterly average
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
not disclosed
a year
Holdings
54
top ten are 43% of the fund · May 2021
Disclosed history
2.8 yrs
Aug 2018 – May 2021 · 1 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.97 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹34,923 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

Not replicated: the portfolio cannot be priced line by line in this build.

Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.

Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

See every window →

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 28 Jun 2021

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Mar 2018

100120140160Mar 2018Jan 2019Nov 2019Sep 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: NAV ₹9.65Apr 2018: NAV ₹10.00May 2018: NAV ₹9.84Jun 2018: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2018: NAV ₹10.06Aug 2018: NAV ₹10.12Sep 2018: NAV ₹9.27Oct 2018: NAV ₹9.54Nov 2018: NAV ₹9.59Dec 2018: NAV ₹9.70Jan 2019: NAV ₹9.32Feb 2019: NAV ₹9.36Mar 2019: NAV ₹10.06Apr 2019: NAV ₹10.12May 2019: NAV ₹10.35Jun 2019: NAV ₹10.13Jul 2019: NAV ₹9.54Aug 2019: NAV ₹9.82Sep 2019: NAV ₹10.72Oct 2019: NAV ₹10.81Nov 2019: NAV ₹10.84Dec 2019: NAV ₹10.84Jan 2020: NAV ₹10.92Feb 2020: NAV ₹10.69Mar 2020: NAV ₹11.49Apr 2020: NAV ₹11.27May 2020: NAV ₹10.56Jun 2020: NAV ₹10.64Jul 2020: NAV ₹11.05Aug 2020: NAV ₹11.19Sep 2020: NAV ₹11.17Oct 2020: NAV ₹11.37Nov 2020: NAV ₹12.55Dec 2020: NAV ₹13.14Jan 2021: NAV ₹12.97Feb 2021: NAV ₹14.02Mar 2021: NAV ₹14.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹14.37May 2021: NAV ₹15.22Jun 2021: NAV ₹15.53
100120140160Mar 2018Jan 2019Nov 2019Sep 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: NAV ₹9.65Apr 2018: NAV ₹10.00May 2018: NAV ₹9.84Jun 2018: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2018: NAV ₹10.06Aug 2018: NAV ₹10.12Sep 2018: NAV ₹9.27Oct 2018: NAV ₹9.54Nov 2018: NAV ₹9.59Dec 2018: NAV ₹9.70Jan 2019: NAV ₹9.32Feb 2019: NAV ₹9.36Mar 2019: NAV ₹10.06Apr 2019: NAV ₹10.12May 2019: NAV ₹10.35Jun 2019: NAV ₹10.13Jul 2019: NAV ₹9.54Aug 2019: NAV ₹9.82Sep 2019: NAV ₹10.72Oct 2019: NAV ₹10.81Nov 2019: NAV ₹10.84Dec 2019: NAV ₹10.84Jan 2020: NAV ₹10.92Feb 2020: NAV ₹10.69Mar 2020: NAV ₹11.49Apr 2020: NAV ₹11.27May 2020: NAV ₹10.56Jun 2020: NAV ₹10.64Jul 2020: NAV ₹11.05Aug 2020: NAV ₹11.19Sep 2020: NAV ₹11.17Oct 2020: NAV ₹11.37Nov 2020: NAV ₹12.55Dec 2020: NAV ₹13.14Jan 2021: NAV ₹12.97Feb 2021: NAV ₹14.02Mar 2021: NAV ₹14.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹14.37May 2021: NAV ₹15.22Jun 2021: NAV ₹15.53
100120140160Mar 2018Jan 2019Nov 2019Sep 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: NAV ₹9.65Apr 2018: NAV ₹10.00May 2018: NAV ₹9.84Jun 2018: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2018: NAV ₹10.06Aug 2018: NAV ₹10.12Sep 2018: NAV ₹9.27Oct 2018: NAV ₹9.54Nov 2018: NAV ₹9.59Dec 2018: NAV ₹9.70Jan 2019: NAV ₹9.32Feb 2019: NAV ₹9.36Mar 2019: NAV ₹10.06Apr 2019: NAV ₹10.12May 2019: NAV ₹10.35Jun 2019: NAV ₹10.13Jul 2019: NAV ₹9.54Aug 2019: NAV ₹9.82Sep 2019: NAV ₹10.72Oct 2019: NAV ₹10.81Nov 2019: NAV ₹10.84Dec 2019: NAV ₹10.84Jan 2020: NAV ₹10.92Feb 2020: NAV ₹10.69Mar 2020: NAV ₹11.49Apr 2020: NAV ₹11.27May 2020: NAV ₹10.56Jun 2020: NAV ₹10.64Jul 2020: NAV ₹11.05Aug 2020: NAV ₹11.19Sep 2020: NAV ₹11.17Oct 2020: NAV ₹11.37Nov 2020: NAV ₹12.55Dec 2020: NAV ₹13.14Jan 2021: NAV ₹12.97Feb 2021: NAV ₹14.02Mar 2021: NAV ₹14.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹14.37May 2021: NAV ₹15.22Jun 2021: NAV ₹15.53

40 month-ends · ₹9.65 → ₹15.53, 1.6× since Mar 2018

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
not computed
Worst month
not computed
Days to recover
not computed
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

May 2021 disclosure · 54 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
21 Hindustan Unilever Limited
equity
Consumer Non Durables 1.88% Jun 2019 2.0 yrs +0.02% points
22 Bharat Forge Limited
equity
Industrial Products 1.80% Sep 2020 9 mo +0.04% points
23 Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited
equity
Pharmaceuticals 1.78% Aug 2018 2.8 yrs +0.17% points
24 Crompton Greaves Consumer Electricals Limited
equity
Consumer Durables 1.76% May 2019 2.1 yrs −0.09% points
25 Hindalco Industries Limited
equity
Non - Ferrous Metals 1.75% Aug 2019 1.8 yrs +0.11% points
26 IPCA Laboratories Limited
equity
Pharmaceuticals 1.67% Aug 2018 2.8 yrs +0.05% points
27 Britannia Industries Limited
equity
Consumer Non Durables 1.60% Aug 2019 1.8 yrs −0.09% points
28 Titan Company Limited
equity
Consumer Durables 1.58% May 2020 1.1 yrs +0.07% points
29 Eicher Motors Limited
equity
Auto 1.43% Aug 2020 10 mo −0.02% points
30 Maruti Suzuki India Limited
equity
Auto 1.23% Aug 2018 2.8 yrs −0.06% points
Showing 21–30 of 54 · page 3 of 6 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, May 2021 · grey: a year ago

Finance14.0% · 9.7%
Petroleum Products11.7% · 8.1%
Banks11.1% · 14.0%
Software9.2% · 6.4%
Insurance7.8%
Consumer Durables6.0% · 4.6%
Pharmaceuticals5.9% · 4.0%
Consumer Non Durables5.1% · 10.2%
share of the book05%10%15%

By market cap, May 2021

Large cap55.3%
Mid cap17.9%
Small / micro cap4.4%
Cash & equivalents4.7%
Not classified17.7%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 39% → 55%Mid cap: 31% → 18%Small / micro: 8% → 4%Cash & other: 3% → 5%25%50%75%Aug 2018Jan 2020May 2021
Large cap: 39% → 55%Mid cap: 31% → 18%Small / micro: 8% → 4%Cash & other: 3% → 5%25%50%75%Large cap 55%Mid cap 18%Cash & other 5%Aug 2018Jan 2020May 2021
Large cap: 39% → 55%Mid cap: 31% → 18%Small / micro: 8% → 4%Cash & other: 3% → 5%25%50%75%Large cap 55%Mid cap 18%Cash & other 5%Aug 2018Jan 2020May 2021
  • Large cap 55%
  • Mid cap 18%
  • Small / micro 4%
  • Cash & other 5%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.97 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹34,923 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹34,923Direct vs Regular, annualised15.8% vs 14.8%measured over3.25 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 56% of the portfolio a year

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
excess return per unit of turnoverneeds the category 1-year median — not computed yet
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 25 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten
Not measurable yet. Detector not yet written: needs each disclosure's top ten joined to six months of forward prices. Holdings and prices are in hand.

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹108 Cr; 68% of growth came from outflows

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
AUM, Jun 2018 → Jun 2021₹78 Cr → ₹108 Cr (+11% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns68% net outflows · NAV +64% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Mar 2018 – Jun 2021

255075100Mar 2018Mar 2019Dec 2019Dec 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹79 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹77 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹83 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹85 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹86 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹93 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹106 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹108 Cr (amfi-aaum)
255075100Mar 2018Mar 2019Dec 2019Dec 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹79 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹77 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹83 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹85 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹86 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹93 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹106 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹108 Cr (amfi-aaum)
255075100Mar 2018Mar 2019Dec 2019Dec 2020Jun 2021Mar 2018: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹78 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹74 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹79 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹77 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹83 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹85 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹86 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹93 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹106 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹108 Cr (amfi-aaum)

14 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. Co-managed funds attribute the same months to every named manager, and a factsheet names the manager of record, not necessarily the person making the calls.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

No signal. Replication needs a fully disclosed domestic-equity portfolio and daily prices for every line; this fund has not been replicated in this build.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
DSP A.C.E. Fund (Analyst's Conviction Equalized) - Series 2 - Direct Plan - Growth
growth₹15.5328 Jun 2021
direct
DSP A.C.E. Fund (Analyst's Conviction Equalized) - Series 2 - Direct Plan - Dividend Payout
idcw₹15.5328 Jun 2021
regular
DSP A.C.E. Fund (Analyst's Conviction Equalized) - Series 2 - Regular Plan - Growth
growth₹15.1028 Jun 2021
regular
DSP A.C.E. Fund (Analyst's Conviction Equalized) - Series 2 - Regular Plan - Dividend Payout
idcw₹15.1028 Jun 2021
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹15.53
Regular growth NAV
₹15.10
NAV divergence to date
2.8% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
0.97% points a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹34,923

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size