measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done
P5Cost, measured
Regular plan costs 1.08% a year more than Direct
₹14,827 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.
the factsheet archive starts Jun 2026, so this is a floor. A return earned before they arrived is the house's record, not theirs — the tenure table shows the fund against its category over exactly their months.
NAV sits 300 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy
10 jumps since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.
Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.
Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.
headline and record disagree One check found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.
NAV and drawdown
Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026
Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Mar 2024
31 month-ends · ₹10.11 → ₹11.17, 1.1× since Mar 2024
Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−28.0%
27 Sep 2024 → 3 Mar 2025
Worst month
−11.5%
Mar 2026
Days to recover
not yet recovered
from the deepest trough back to the old high
Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.
Holdings
Aug 2026 disclosure · 37 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures
Showing 11–20 of 37 · page 2 of 4rows per page102550all
Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago
Gas21.5% · 18.7%
Petroleum Products20.3% · 28.4%
Power16.5% · 17.9%
Electrical Equipment7.3% · 4.5%
Oil7.1% · 3.1%
Industrial Products6.3% · 6.3%
Construction6.2% · 5.4%
Finance3.4% · 3.3%
share of the book05%10%15%20%25%
By market cap, Aug 2026
Large cap43.7%
Mid cap27.6%
Small / micro cap22.6%
Cash & equivalents2.5%
Not classified3.5%
Other0.1%
share of the book025%50%75%100%
"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.
Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says
Large cap 44%
Mid cap 28%
Small / micro 23%
Cash & other 3%
The seven checks, in full
each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.
P4Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.
What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.
How it is measured, and the case against
A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.
How often has it beaten its category, across every window?
Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5Cost, measured
Regular plan costs 1.08% a year more than Direct
₹14,827 on ₹1 lakh over ten years
What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.
1.08 pp a year
costliest in categorycheapest in category
79th percentile · top quartile of 226 funds · category median 1.46 pp
on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹14,827Direct vs Regular, annualised4.1% vs 3.0%measured over2.5 years
How it is measured, and the case against
The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.
What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?
Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1Churn, and what it bought
Turns over 56% of the portfolio a year
+0.00 pts of excess return per unit of turnover
What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.
56% a year
costliest in categorycheapest in category
85th percentile · top quartile of 214 funds · category median 83%
excess return per unit of turnover+0.00 pts
How it is measured, and the case against
Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.
Is the trading paying for itself?
Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2Conviction or inertia
Typical top-10 holding kept 31 months
What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.
31 months
lowest in categoryhighest in category
61th percentile · above median of 215 funds · category median 23 months
active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against
The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.
How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?
Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3Hit rate of the top ten
5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, yet averaged 2.0 points ahead of them
246 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 15.1 points when it won, behind by 10.5 when it lost
What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.
How often, and by how much. It lost more positions than it won, but the wins were bigger. Ahead by 15.1 points in the 120 positions it won and behind by 10.5 in the 126 it lost, so the average across all 246 is +2.0 points. The worst position was INE371A01025 at the Feb 2024 disclosure, 35.1 points behind. The typical position was −0.4 points, far from the average, so a few positions are carrying it. Counting positions makes this fund look worse than the arithmetic does.
49%
lowest in categoryhighest in category
25th percentile · below median of 209 funds
positions judged246beat the median stock120average across every position+1.99 pts · median −0.40when ahead, by how much+15.14 pts over 120 positionswhen behind, by how much−10.53 pts over 126 positionsworst position−35.09 pts, INE371A01025 at the Feb 2024 disclosurebest position+78.81 pts, INE07Y701011 at the Mar 2024 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against
A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.
Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?
Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6Size against edge
₹8,640 Cr, 95th percentile in category; 94% of growth came from inflows
smaller than 5% of the funds in its category (216 funds) · AUM Mar 2024 → Jul 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 1.85%
What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.
95th percentile by AUM
largestsmallest
5th percentile · bottom decile of 216 funds
median holding weight, trendrisingexpense ratio, Regular / Direct1.85% / 0.93% · category median 2.38%AUM, Mar 2024 → Jul 2026₹2,688 Cr → ₹8,640 Cr (+65% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns94% net inflows · NAV +13% over the window
Assets under management, ₹ crore, Mar 2024 – Jul 2026
11 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 1.76% in Feb 2024 → 1.85% in Sep 2026
How it is measured, and the case against
Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.
Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?
Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7Whose record is thisheadline and record disagree
Run by Raj Gandhi for at least 3 mo
the factsheet archive starts Jun 2026, so this is a floor
What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.
No category distribution for this measure yet.
running it nowRaj Gandhi (since at least Jun 2026)share of the fund's life under the current teamnot knowable — the archive starts Jun 2026, so the tenure is a floorchanges of hands in the archivenone
Who ran it, month by month · factsheets through Sep 2026
* dated by first appearance in the archive we hold, not by a date the factsheet printed. † already named on the first factsheet we hold: the stint is at least this long, and its start is not known. Co-managed months count for every manager named; a factsheet names the manager of record, not who made each call. All managers →
The 5-year figure covers most of the fund's entire life. This scheme is about 2.6 years old and a 5-year return is being displayed for it. That is effectively a since-inception number — it measures the period the fund happened to be launched into, and separates nothing from the manager's contribution.
How it is measured, and the case against
A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.
Does the displayed record predate the people running it?
Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notEvery fund is young once, and a short record is not a bad one. This says the number cannot bear the weight usually placed on it, not that the fund is worse than a peer.
Tracking gap
the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices
NAV sits 300 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy
What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.
Latest gap beyond expense accrual
+300 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.238 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
10noisy
7 Sep 2026 +268 bp · 2 Jul 2026 +108 bp · 11 Sep 2026 +22 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.
Marked noisy: the replication jumped on 33 days in the window. Read the gap as coverage, not as a signal.
Share classes
latest NAV per AMFI code
Plan
Option
NAV
Date
direct SBI Energy Opportunities Fund - Direct Plan - Growth
growth
₹11.17
21 Sep 2026
direct SBI Energy Opportunities Fund - Direct Plan - Income Distribution Cum Capital Withdrawal Option
—
₹11.17
21 Sep 2026
regular SBI Energy Opportunities Fund - Regular Plan - Growth
growth
₹10.87
21 Sep 2026
regular SBI Energy Opportunities Fund - Regular Plan - Income Distribution Cum Capital Withdrawal Option
—
₹10.87
21 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹11.17
Regular growth NAV
₹10.87
NAV divergence to date
2.8% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
1.08% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹14,827
A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.