ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
Tata · Multi Cap

TATA MULTICAP FUND

Equity Scheme - Multi Cap Fund Direct plan, growth launched 16 Jan 2023 open-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 21 Sep 2026
₹15.95
−0.17% since 18 Sep 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
6.0%
return
3 years
10.5%
a year
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
14.2%
a year, over 3.6 years
Assets (AUM)
₹3,503 Cr
Jul 2026 factsheet
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
0.45% / 1.64%
a year, as of Jul 2026
Holdings
83
top ten are 26% of the fund · Aug 2026
Disclosed history
5.6 yrs
Sep 2018 – Aug 2026 · 5 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
Meeta Shetty · since at least Feb 2025Murthy Nagarajan · since at least Feb 2025Hasmukh Vishariya · since Mar 2025

As the Jul 2026 factsheet printed it: standard deviation 15.5% · portfolio turnover 0.64×. Exit load and minimum investment are not yet extracted from the scheme documents.

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.60% a year more than Direct

₹49,347 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Run by Meeta Shetty for at least 1.5 yrs

with Murthy Nagarajan, Hasmukh Vishariya · the factsheet archive starts Feb 2025, so this is a floor. A return earned before they arrived is the house's record, not theirs — the tenure table shows the fund against its category over exactly their months.

Meeta Shetty's other funds →
NAVTracking gap

NAV sits 8.2 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy

6 jumps since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Beat its category in 0% of three-year stretches, and averaged −4.4 points a year across all of them

8 rolling windows since 2023 · behind by 4.4 when it lost points a year — and never won one. A single five-year figure depends on the day you look; the share of stretches won does not — and the average margin says whether winning often was worth anything.

See every window →

headline and record disagree One check found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Feb 2023

100120140160Feb 2023Jan 2024Dec 2024Nov 2025Sep 2026Feb 2023: NAV ₹9.94Mar 2023: NAV ₹9.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.16May 2023: NAV ₹10.60Jun 2023: NAV ₹10.95Jul 2023: NAV ₹11.60Aug 2023: NAV ₹11.73Sep 2023: NAV ₹11.87Oct 2023: NAV ₹11.66Nov 2023: NAV ₹12.25Dec 2023: NAV ₹12.97Jan 2024: NAV ₹13.23Feb 2024: NAV ₹13.16Mar 2024: NAV ₹13.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹13.63May 2024: NAV ₹13.71Jun 2024: NAV ₹14.81Jul 2024: NAV ₹15.52Aug 2024: NAV ₹15.68Sep 2024: NAV ₹15.89Oct 2024: NAV ₹15.08Nov 2024: NAV ₹14.95Dec 2024: NAV ₹14.82Jan 2025: NAV ₹13.74Feb 2025: NAV ₹12.44Mar 2025: NAV ₹13.33Apr 2025: NAV ₹13.66May 2025: NAV ₹14.33Jun 2025: NAV ₹14.95Jul 2025: NAV ₹14.70Aug 2025: NAV ₹14.42Sep 2025: NAV ₹14.69Oct 2025: NAV ₹15.26Nov 2025: NAV ₹15.44Dec 2025: NAV ₹15.51Jan 2026: NAV ₹15.18Feb 2026: NAV ₹15.25Mar 2026: NAV ₹13.66Apr 2026: NAV ₹15.27May 2026: NAV ₹15.72Jun 2026: NAV ₹16.12Jul 2026: NAV ₹16.36Aug 2026: NAV ₹16.37Sep 2026: NAV ₹15.95
100120140160Feb 2023Jan 2024Dec 2024Nov 2025Sep 2026Feb 2023: NAV ₹9.94Mar 2023: NAV ₹9.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.16May 2023: NAV ₹10.60Jun 2023: NAV ₹10.95Jul 2023: NAV ₹11.60Aug 2023: NAV ₹11.73Sep 2023: NAV ₹11.87Oct 2023: NAV ₹11.66Nov 2023: NAV ₹12.25Dec 2023: NAV ₹12.97Jan 2024: NAV ₹13.23Feb 2024: NAV ₹13.16Mar 2024: NAV ₹13.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹13.63May 2024: NAV ₹13.71Jun 2024: NAV ₹14.81Jul 2024: NAV ₹15.52Aug 2024: NAV ₹15.68Sep 2024: NAV ₹15.89Oct 2024: NAV ₹15.08Nov 2024: NAV ₹14.95Dec 2024: NAV ₹14.82Jan 2025: NAV ₹13.74Feb 2025: NAV ₹12.44Mar 2025: NAV ₹13.33Apr 2025: NAV ₹13.66May 2025: NAV ₹14.33Jun 2025: NAV ₹14.95Jul 2025: NAV ₹14.70Aug 2025: NAV ₹14.42Sep 2025: NAV ₹14.69Oct 2025: NAV ₹15.26Nov 2025: NAV ₹15.44Dec 2025: NAV ₹15.51Jan 2026: NAV ₹15.18Feb 2026: NAV ₹15.25Mar 2026: NAV ₹13.66Apr 2026: NAV ₹15.27May 2026: NAV ₹15.72Jun 2026: NAV ₹16.12Jul 2026: NAV ₹16.36Aug 2026: NAV ₹16.37Sep 2026: NAV ₹15.95
100120140160Feb 2023Jan 2024Dec 2024Nov 2025Sep 2026Feb 2023: NAV ₹9.94Mar 2023: NAV ₹9.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.16May 2023: NAV ₹10.60Jun 2023: NAV ₹10.95Jul 2023: NAV ₹11.60Aug 2023: NAV ₹11.73Sep 2023: NAV ₹11.87Oct 2023: NAV ₹11.66Nov 2023: NAV ₹12.25Dec 2023: NAV ₹12.97Jan 2024: NAV ₹13.23Feb 2024: NAV ₹13.16Mar 2024: NAV ₹13.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹13.63May 2024: NAV ₹13.71Jun 2024: NAV ₹14.81Jul 2024: NAV ₹15.52Aug 2024: NAV ₹15.68Sep 2024: NAV ₹15.89Oct 2024: NAV ₹15.08Nov 2024: NAV ₹14.95Dec 2024: NAV ₹14.82Jan 2025: NAV ₹13.74Feb 2025: NAV ₹12.44Mar 2025: NAV ₹13.33Apr 2025: NAV ₹13.66May 2025: NAV ₹14.33Jun 2025: NAV ₹14.95Jul 2025: NAV ₹14.70Aug 2025: NAV ₹14.42Sep 2025: NAV ₹14.69Oct 2025: NAV ₹15.26Nov 2025: NAV ₹15.44Dec 2025: NAV ₹15.51Jan 2026: NAV ₹15.18Feb 2026: NAV ₹15.25Mar 2026: NAV ₹13.66Apr 2026: NAV ₹15.27May 2026: NAV ₹15.72Jun 2026: NAV ₹16.12Jul 2026: NAV ₹16.36Aug 2026: NAV ₹16.37Sep 2026: NAV ₹15.95

44 month-ends · ₹9.94 → ₹15.95, 1.6× since Feb 2023

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−22.4%
27 Sep 2024 → 28 Feb 2025
Worst month
−10.4%
Mar 2026
Days to recover
474
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Aug 2026 disclosure · 83 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
1 HDFC BANK LTD
equity
Banks 5.11% Sep 2019 7.0 yrs +2.98%
2 ADANI PORTS AND SPECIAL ECONOMIC ZONE LTD
equity
Transport Infrastructure 3.12% Aug 2025 1.1 yrs +0.41%
3 TREPS / cash equivalents
CASH / NET CURRENT ASSET · money market
— 3.12% Oct 2020 5.9 yrs +1.58%
4 RELIANCE INDUSTRIES LTD
equity
Petroleum Products 2.50% Oct 2018 7.9 yrs -0.28%
5 AXIS BANK LTD
equity
Banks 2.18% Dec 2020 5.8 yrs -0.14%
6 NTPC LTD
equity
Power 2.13% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.58%
7 ICICI BANK LTD
equity
Banks 2.09% Dec 2025 9 mo +0.52%
8 PEARL GLOBAL INDUSTRIES LTD
equity
Textiles & Apparels 2.00% Jul 2024 2.2 yrs +0.56%
9 DIXON TECHNOLOGIES (INDIA) LTD
equity
Consumer Durables 1.90% Mar 2026 6 mo +0.31%
10 MARUTI SUZUKI INDIA LTD
equity
Automobiles 1.89% May 2026 4 mo +0.90%
11 DR. LAL PATH LABS LTD
equity
Healthcare Services 1.84% Feb 2025 1.6 yrs -0.76%
12 SPR AUTO TECHNOLOGIES LTD
equity
Auto Components 1.83% Aug 2024 2.1 yrs +0.49%
13 VISHAL MEGA MART LTD
equity
Retailing 1.83% Dec 2024 1.8 yrs +0.22%
14 MAHINDRA & MAHINDRA LTD
equity
Automobiles 1.79% Nov 2025 10 mo 0.00%
15 METROPOLIS HEALTHCARE LTD
equity
Healthcare Services 1.78% Jul 2025 1.2 yrs -0.05%
16 BHARTI AIRTEL LTD
equity
Telecom - Services 1.77% Jan 2020 6.7 yrs -0.43%
17 KOTAK MAHINDRA BANK LTD
equity
Banks 1.76% May 2026 4 mo +0.32%
18 UNITED SPIRITS LTD
equity
Beverages 1.67% Jun 2026 3 mo +1.67%
19 POWER FINANCE CORPORATION LTD
equity
Finance 1.56% May 2024 2.3 yrs -0.58%
20 INDIAN HOTELS CO. LTD
equity
Leisure Services 1.45% Jun 2026 3 mo +1.45%
21 STATE BANK OF INDIA
equity
Banks 1.45% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.55%
22 INDIAN BANK
equity
Banks 1.38% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.25%
23 BANDHAN BANK LTD
equity
Banks 1.37% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.51%
24 COFORGE LTD
equity
IT - Software 1.37% Jun 2025 1.3 yrs +0.31%
25 ASTER DM QUALITY CARE LTD
equity
Healthcare Services 1.37% Mar 2025 1.5 yrs -0.33%
26 INDUS TOWERS LTD
equity
Telecom - Services 1.36% Mar 2026 6 mo +0.03%
27 CRAFTSMAN AUTOMATION LTD
equity
Auto Components 1.31% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs +0.33%
28 UNO MINDA LTD
equity
Auto Components 1.30% Mar 2023 3.5 yrs +0.09%
29 FEDERAL BANK LTD
equity
Banks 1.30% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.26%
30 SAMVARDHANA MOTHERSON INTERNATIONAL LTD
equity
Auto Components 1.29% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs +0.11%
31 INFOSYS LTD
equity
IT - Software 1.29% Jul 2020 6.2 yrs -0.13%
32 USHA MARTIN LTD
equity
Industrial Products 1.28% Apr 2024 2.4 yrs -0.12%
33 FIRSTSOURCE SOLUTIONS LTD
equity
Commercial Services & Supplies 1.27% Feb 2025 1.6 yrs -0.09%
34 HAVELLS INDIA LTD
equity
Consumer Durables 1.26% Apr 2026 5 mo +0.82%
35 SHRIRAM FINANCE LTD
equity
Finance 1.24% Mar 2026 6 mo +0.10%
36 GRAVITA INDIA LTD
equity
Minerals & Mining 1.18% May 2024 2.3 yrs +0.05%
37 REC LTD
equity
Finance 1.13% Nov 2023 2.8 yrs -0.14%
38 RADICO KHAITAN LTD
equity
Beverages 1.09% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.07%
39 TBO TEK LTD
equity
Leisure Services 1.08% Nov 2025 10 mo +0.49%
40 ATHER ENERGY LTD
equity
Automobiles 1.06% Jul 2026 2 mo +1.06%
41 CAN FIN HOMES LTD
equity
Finance 1.06% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -0.13%
42 ADANI ENERGY SOLUTIONS LTD
equity
Power 1.04% Aug 2024 2.1 yrs -0.15%
43 ICICI LOMBARD GENERAL INSURANCE CO. LTD
equity
Insurance 0.99% Apr 2024 2.4 yrs -0.30%
44 BANK OF BARODA
equity
Banks 0.99% Feb 2026 7 mo -0.21%
45 ZF COMMERCIAL VEHICLE CONTROL SYSTEMS INDIA LTD
equity
Auto Components 0.98% May 2026 4 mo +0.44%
46 ADITYA BIRLA SUN LIFE AMC LTD
equity
Capital Markets 0.97% Apr 2026 5 mo -0.08%
47 CUMMINS INDIA LTD
equity
Industrial Products 0.93% May 2026 4 mo -0.22%
48 VIJAYA DIAGNOSTIC CENTRE LTD
equity
Healthcare Services 0.91% Nov 2025 10 mo +0.06%
49 I) REPO
money market
— 0.90% Aug 2026 1 mo +0.90%
50 APOLLO HOSPITALS ENTERPRISE LTD
equity
Healthcare Services 0.89% Feb 2023 3.6 yrs -1.81%
Showing 1–50 of 83 · page 1 of 2 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago

Banks18.9% · 18.5%
Healthcare Services7.7% · 8.3%
Auto Components7.5% · 6.8%
Finance6.8% · 6.7%
Industrial Products5.2% · 5.9%
Automobiles4.7%
Consumer Durables4.7%
IT - Software4.3% · 9.7%
share of the book05%10%15%20%

By market cap, Aug 2026

Large cap39.6%
Mid cap26.3%
Small / micro cap30.1%
Cash & equivalents4.0%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 12% → 40%Mid cap: 4% → 26%Small / micro: 0% → 30%Cash & other: 71% → 4%25%50%75%Sep 2018Aug 2023Aug 2026
Large cap: 12% → 40%Mid cap: 4% → 26%Small / micro: 0% → 30%Cash & other: 71% → 4%25%50%75%Large cap 40%Mid cap 26%Small / micro 30%Cash & other 4%Sep 2018Aug 2023Aug 2026
Large cap: 12% → 40%Mid cap: 4% → 26%Small / micro: 0% → 30%Cash & other: 71% → 4%25%50%75%Large cap 40%Mid cap 26%Small / micro 30%Cash & other 4%Sep 2018Aug 2023Aug 2026
  • Large cap 40%
  • Mid cap 26%
  • Small / micro 30%
  • Cash & other 4%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date

Beat its category in 0% of three-year stretches, and averaged −4.4 points a year across all of them

8 rolling windows since 2023 · behind by 4.4 when it lost points a year — and never won one

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. It did not win one of the 8; the average across all of them is −4.4 points. The worst window ended Feb 2026, 5.3 points behind.

windows measured8windows won0average across every window−4.44 pts a year · median −4.63when behind, by how much−4.44 pts a year over 8 windowsworst window−5.30 pts a year, ended Feb 2026best window−3.63 pts a year, ended Jun 2026non-overlapping windows in that span1 — the rolling count overlaps, this does not
Thin record. Only 8 rolling windows — under six years of NAV. The share is shown because it was measured; it is a start, not a record, and does not qualify for the home shelf until 36 windows exist.

Fund minus category, each rolling three-year window

-5.3 pp0.0 pp+5.3 ppFeb 2026: fund 15.3% vs category 20.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 11.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.6% vs category 19.1% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 14.0% vs category 18.0% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 13.7% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 12.2% vs category 16.1% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 11.8% vs category 16.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 10.3% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
-5.3 pp0.0 pp+5.3 ppFeb 2026: fund 15.3% vs category 20.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 11.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.6% vs category 19.1% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 14.0% vs category 18.0% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 13.7% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 12.2% vs category 16.1% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 11.8% vs category 16.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 10.3% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
-5.3 pp0.0 pp+5.3 ppFeb 2026: fund 15.3% vs category 20.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 11.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.6% vs category 19.1% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 14.0% vs category 18.0% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 13.7% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 12.2% vs category 16.1% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 11.8% vs category 16.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 10.3% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
ahead of categorybehind

Each bar is one window's margin in percentage points a year. The height of the bars, not the count of green ones, is what the average across every window measures.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.60% a year more than Direct

₹49,347 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹49,347Direct vs Regular, annualised14.1% vs 12.5%measured over3.58 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 92% of the portfolio a year

−0.00 pts of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

excess return per unit of turnover−0.00 pts
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 23 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, and averaged 0.4 points ahead of them

610 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 15.1 points when it won, behind by 14.9 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 15.1 points in the 310 positions it won and behind by 14.9 in the 300 it lost, so the average across all 610 is +0.4 points. The worst position was INE256A01028 at the Oct 2023 disclosure, 67.0 points behind.

positions judged610beat the median stock310average across every position+0.40 pts · median +0.09when ahead, by how much+15.13 pts over 310 positionswhen behind, by how much−14.91 pts over 300 positionsworst position−67.02 pts, INE256A01028 at the Oct 2023 disclosurebest position+68.10 pts, INE002A01018 at the Jan 2020 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹3,503 Cr, 45th percentile in category; 23% of growth came from inflows

smaller than 55% of the funds in its category (28 funds) · AUM Sep 2023 → Jul 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 2.15%

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendfallingexpense ratio, Regular / Direct2.15% / 0.78% · category median 2.22%AUM, Sep 2023 → Jul 2026₹2,344 Cr → ₹3,503 Cr (+15% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns23% net inflows · NAV +38% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Mar 2023 – Jul 2026

20003000Mar 2023Sep 2024Jul 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Mar 2023: ₹1,170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹1,982 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹2,344 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹2,600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹2,867 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹2,958 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹3,253 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹3,211 Cr (amfi-aaum)Feb 2025: ₹2,817 CrMar 2025: ₹2,771 CrMay 2025: ₹3,009 CrJun 2025: ₹3,001 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jul 2025: ₹3,167 CrAug 2025: ₹3,098 CrSep 2025: ₹3,131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Oct 2025: ₹3,173 CrNov 2025: ₹3,219 CrDec 2025: ₹3,201 CrFeb 2026: ₹3,190 CrMar 2026: ₹3,000 CrMay 2026: ₹2,854 CrJun 2026: ₹3,379 CrJul 2026: ₹3,503 Cr
20003000Mar 2023Sep 2024Jul 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Mar 2023: ₹1,170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹1,982 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹2,344 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹2,600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹2,867 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹2,958 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹3,253 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹3,211 Cr (amfi-aaum)Feb 2025: ₹2,817 CrMar 2025: ₹2,771 CrMay 2025: ₹3,009 CrJun 2025: ₹3,001 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jul 2025: ₹3,167 CrAug 2025: ₹3,098 CrSep 2025: ₹3,131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Oct 2025: ₹3,173 CrNov 2025: ₹3,219 CrDec 2025: ₹3,201 CrFeb 2026: ₹3,190 CrMar 2026: ₹3,000 CrMay 2026: ₹2,854 CrJun 2026: ₹3,379 CrJul 2026: ₹3,503 Cr
20003000Mar 2023Sep 2024Jul 2025Dec 2025Jul 2026Mar 2023: ₹1,170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹1,982 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹2,344 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹2,600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹2,867 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹2,958 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹3,253 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹3,211 Cr (amfi-aaum)Feb 2025: ₹2,817 CrMar 2025: ₹2,771 CrMay 2025: ₹3,009 CrJun 2025: ₹3,001 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jul 2025: ₹3,167 CrAug 2025: ₹3,098 CrSep 2025: ₹3,131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Oct 2025: ₹3,173 CrNov 2025: ₹3,219 CrDec 2025: ₹3,201 CrFeb 2026: ₹3,190 CrMar 2026: ₹3,000 CrMay 2026: ₹2,854 CrJun 2026: ₹3,379 CrJul 2026: ₹3,503 Cr

23 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 2.08% in Sep 2018 → 2.15% in Sep 2026

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this headline and record disagree

Run by Meeta Shetty for at least 1.5 yrs

with Murthy Nagarajan, Hasmukh Vishariya · the factsheet archive starts Feb 2025, so this is a floor

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
running it nowMeeta Shetty (since at least Feb 2025), Murthy Nagarajan (since at least Feb 2025), Hasmukh Vishariya (since Mar 2025)share of the fund's life under the current teamnot knowable — the archive starts Feb 2025, so the tenure is a floorchanges of hands in the archive1 — last Mar 2025

Who ran it, month by month · factsheets through Sep 2026

running it nowearlier
ManagerRoleFromToFund vs category, those months3-yr stretches won in tenure
Meeta Shetty fund manager by Feb 2025† now 12.4% vs 10.5% p.a. (+1.85 pp) —
Murthy Nagarajan fund manager by Feb 2025† now 12.4% vs 10.5% p.a. (+1.85 pp) —
Hasmukh Vishariya fund manager Mar 2025* now 21.4% vs 18.7% p.a. (+2.72 pp) —
Kapil Malhotra fund manager by Feb 2025† Feb 2025 −9.5% vs −8.8% (−0.64 pp) —

* dated by first appearance in the archive we hold, not by a date the factsheet printed. † already named on the first factsheet we hold: the stint is at least this long, and its start is not known. Co-managed months count for every manager named; a factsheet names the manager of record, not who made each call. All managers →

The 5-year figure covers most of the fund's entire life. This scheme is about 3.7 years old and a 5-year return is being displayed for it. That is effectively a since-inception number — it measures the period the fund happened to be launched into, and separates nothing from the manager's contribution.
How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notEvery fund is young once, and a short record is not a bad one. This says the number cannot bear the weight usually placed on it, not that the fund is worse than a peer.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

NAV sits 8.2 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy

What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

Latest gap beyond expense accrual
+8.2 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.238 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
6noisy
31 Jul 2026 −13 bp · 30 Jun 2026 +11 bp · 15 Sep 2026 +9.3 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
-25 bp0 bp25 bp50 bp−13 bp jump−13 bp jump+11 bp jump+11 bp jump+9.3 bp jump+9.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +54 bp (published 2.66%, replicated 2.12%)29 Jun 2026: +45 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.54%)30 Jun 2026: +56 bp (published 2.56%, replicated 2.00%)1 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.25%, replicated 1.24%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.96%)6 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.73%)7 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.60%, replicated 1.50%)8 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published -0.42%, replicated -0.48%)9 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.59%)10 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.88%)13 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 2.00%, replicated 1.91%)14 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.02%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.57%, replicated 1.50%)16 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.40%, replicated 1.33%)17 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.42%, replicated 1.36%)20 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.61%, replicated 1.53%)21 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.53%)22 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.28%, replicated 0.20%)23 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)24 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.61%, replicated -0.65%)27 Jul 2026: −4 bp (published 0.44%, replicated 0.48%)28 Jul 2026: −12 bp (published 0.29%, replicated 0.41%)29 Jul 2026: −18 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.42%)30 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published 1.27%, replicated 1.46%)31 Jul 2026: −32 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.85%)3 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.28%, replicated 1.27%)4 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.09%)5 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.45%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.36%)7 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 1.65%, replicated 1.60%)10 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.48%, replicated 1.41%)11 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.16%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.95%)13 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.94%, replicated 0.87%)14 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.71%)17 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.71%, replicated 0.61%)18 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.49%, replicated 0.39%)19 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.19%, replicated 0.00%)20 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.48%, replicated 0.31%)21 Aug 2026: +19 bp (published 0.65%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +21 bp (published 0.52%, replicated 0.31%)25 Aug 2026: +15 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.65%)26 Aug 2026: +16 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.35%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.15%, replicated 0.03%)28 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.24%)31 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.05%, replicated -0.14%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)2 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.94%, replicated -0.96%)3 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.71%, replicated -0.73%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.98%)7 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -1.53%, replicated -1.53%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.65%)9 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -2.02%, replicated -2.03%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.03%, replicated -2.02%)11 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.44%, replicated -2.38%)15 Sep 2026: +4 bp (published -3.93%, replicated -3.96%)16 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -3.71%, replicated -3.72%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -3.32%, replicated -3.35%)18 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -2.41%, replicated -2.46%)
-25 bp0 bp25 bp50 bp−13 bp jump−13 bp jump+11 bp jump+11 bp jump+9.3 bp jump+9.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +54 bp (published 2.66%, replicated 2.12%)29 Jun 2026: +45 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.54%)30 Jun 2026: +56 bp (published 2.56%, replicated 2.00%)1 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.25%, replicated 1.24%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.96%)6 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.73%)7 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.60%, replicated 1.50%)8 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published -0.42%, replicated -0.48%)9 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.59%)10 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.88%)13 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 2.00%, replicated 1.91%)14 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.02%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.57%, replicated 1.50%)16 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.40%, replicated 1.33%)17 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.42%, replicated 1.36%)20 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.61%, replicated 1.53%)21 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.53%)22 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.28%, replicated 0.20%)23 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)24 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.61%, replicated -0.65%)27 Jul 2026: −4 bp (published 0.44%, replicated 0.48%)28 Jul 2026: −12 bp (published 0.29%, replicated 0.41%)29 Jul 2026: −18 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.42%)30 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published 1.27%, replicated 1.46%)31 Jul 2026: −32 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.85%)3 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.28%, replicated 1.27%)4 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.09%)5 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.45%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.36%)7 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 1.65%, replicated 1.60%)10 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.48%, replicated 1.41%)11 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.16%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.95%)13 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.94%, replicated 0.87%)14 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.71%)17 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.71%, replicated 0.61%)18 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.49%, replicated 0.39%)19 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.19%, replicated 0.00%)20 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.48%, replicated 0.31%)21 Aug 2026: +19 bp (published 0.65%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +21 bp (published 0.52%, replicated 0.31%)25 Aug 2026: +15 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.65%)26 Aug 2026: +16 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.35%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.15%, replicated 0.03%)28 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.24%)31 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.05%, replicated -0.14%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)2 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.94%, replicated -0.96%)3 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.71%, replicated -0.73%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.98%)7 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -1.53%, replicated -1.53%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.65%)9 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -2.02%, replicated -2.03%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.03%, replicated -2.02%)11 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.44%, replicated -2.38%)15 Sep 2026: +4 bp (published -3.93%, replicated -3.96%)16 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -3.71%, replicated -3.72%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -3.32%, replicated -3.35%)18 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -2.41%, replicated -2.46%)
-25 bp0 bp25 bp50 bp−13 bp jump−13 bp jump+11 bp jump+11 bp jump+9.3 bp jump+9.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +54 bp (published 2.66%, replicated 2.12%)29 Jun 2026: +45 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.54%)30 Jun 2026: +56 bp (published 2.56%, replicated 2.00%)1 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.25%, replicated 1.24%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.96%)6 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.73%)7 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.60%, replicated 1.50%)8 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published -0.42%, replicated -0.48%)9 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.59%)10 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.99%, replicated 1.88%)13 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 2.00%, replicated 1.91%)14 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.02%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.57%, replicated 1.50%)16 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.40%, replicated 1.33%)17 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.42%, replicated 1.36%)20 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.61%, replicated 1.53%)21 Jul 2026: +9 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.53%)22 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.28%, replicated 0.20%)23 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)24 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.61%, replicated -0.65%)27 Jul 2026: −4 bp (published 0.44%, replicated 0.48%)28 Jul 2026: −12 bp (published 0.29%, replicated 0.41%)29 Jul 2026: −18 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.42%)30 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published 1.27%, replicated 1.46%)31 Jul 2026: −32 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.85%)3 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.28%, replicated 1.27%)4 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.09%)5 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.45%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.36%)7 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 1.65%, replicated 1.60%)10 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.48%, replicated 1.41%)11 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.16%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.01%, replicated 0.95%)13 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.94%, replicated 0.87%)14 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.71%)17 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.71%, replicated 0.61%)18 Aug 2026: +10 bp (published 0.49%, replicated 0.39%)19 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.19%, replicated 0.00%)20 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.48%, replicated 0.31%)21 Aug 2026: +19 bp (published 0.65%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +21 bp (published 0.52%, replicated 0.31%)25 Aug 2026: +15 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.65%)26 Aug 2026: +16 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.35%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.15%, replicated 0.03%)28 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.24%)31 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 0.05%, replicated -0.14%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)2 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.94%, replicated -0.96%)3 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.71%, replicated -0.73%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.98%)7 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -1.53%, replicated -1.53%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.65%)9 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -2.02%, replicated -2.03%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.03%, replicated -2.02%)11 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.44%, replicated -2.38%)15 Sep 2026: +4 bp (published -3.93%, replicated -3.96%)16 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -3.71%, replicated -3.72%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -3.32%, replicated -3.35%)18 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -2.41%, replicated -2.46%)

Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.

Marked noisy: the replication jumped on 29 days in the window. Read the gap as coverage, not as a signal.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
Tata Multicap Fund - Direct Plan - Growth
growth₹15.9521 Sep 2026
direct
Tata Multicap Fund - Direct Plan - IDCW Reinvestment
idcw₹15.9521 Sep 2026
direct
Tata Multicap Fund - Direct Plan - IDCW Payout
idcw₹15.9521 Sep 2026
regular
Tata Multicap Fund - Regular Plan - Growth
growth₹15.0921 Sep 2026
regular
Tata Multicap Fund - Regular Plan - IDCW Reinvestment
idcw₹15.0921 Sep 2026
regular
Tata Multicap Fund - Regular Plan - IDCW Payout
idcw₹15.0921 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹15.95
Regular growth NAV
₹15.09
NAV divergence to date
5.7% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
1.60% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹49,347

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size