ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
HSBC · Equity Funds

HSBC NIFTY NEXT 50 Index Fund

Index Funds - Equity Funds Direct plan, growth launched 24 Mar 2020 open-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 21 Sep 2026
₹31.64
+0.09% since 18 Sep 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
3.3%
return
3 years
17.0%
a year
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
14.3%
a year, over 3.8 years
Assets (AUM)
₹182 Cr
Aug 2026 factsheet
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
0.28% / 0.58%
a year, as of Aug 2026
Holdings
52
top ten are 34% of the fund · Aug 2026
Disclosed history
3.8 yrs
Nov 2022 – Aug 2026 · 5 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
Praveen Ayathan · since Apr 2020Rajeesh Nair · since Sep 2023 · equity portion

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.48% a year more than Direct

₹15,504 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Run by Praveen Ayathan for 6.3 yrs

with Rajeesh Nair. A return earned before they arrived is the house's record, not theirs — the tenure table shows the fund against its category over exactly their months.

Praveen Ayathan's other funds →
NAVTracking gap

NAV replicates within 3.0 bp of its disclosed portfolio

1 jump since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Beat its category in 100% of three-year stretches, and averaged +3.4 points a year across all of them

11 rolling windows since 2022 · ahead by 3.4 points a year when it won — and never lost one. A single five-year figure depends on the day you look; the share of stretches won does not — and the average margin says whether winning often was worth anything.

See every window →

headline and record disagree 2 checks found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Nov 2022

100150Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹19.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹18.38Jan 2023: NAV ₹17.08Feb 2023: NAV ₹16.24Mar 2023: NAV ₹16.49Apr 2023: NAV ₹17.23May 2023: NAV ₹18.34Jun 2023: NAV ₹19.08Jul 2023: NAV ₹19.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹19.40Sep 2023: NAV ₹19.66Oct 2023: NAV ₹19.20Nov 2023: NAV ₹20.97Dec 2023: NAV ₹23.29Jan 2024: NAV ₹24.13Feb 2024: NAV ₹25.76Mar 2024: NAV ₹26.47Apr 2024: NAV ₹28.33May 2024: NAV ₹29.47Jun 2024: NAV ₹31.21Jul 2024: NAV ₹32.65Aug 2024: NAV ₹32.89Sep 2024: NAV ₹33.66Oct 2024: NAV ₹30.52Nov 2024: NAV ₹30.89Dec 2024: NAV ₹29.68Jan 2025: NAV ₹27.56Feb 2025: NAV ₹24.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹27.53Apr 2025: NAV ₹28.13May 2025: NAV ₹29.12Jun 2025: NAV ₹30.13Jul 2025: NAV ₹29.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹28.81Sep 2025: NAV ₹29.71Oct 2025: NAV ₹30.58Nov 2025: NAV ₹30.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹30.38Jan 2026: NAV ₹29.71Feb 2026: NAV ₹30.55Mar 2026: NAV ₹26.49Apr 2026: NAV ₹30.47May 2026: NAV ₹31.08Jun 2026: NAV ₹31.39Jul 2026: NAV ₹32.32Aug 2026: NAV ₹32.39Sep 2026: NAV ₹31.64
100150Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹19.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹18.38Jan 2023: NAV ₹17.08Feb 2023: NAV ₹16.24Mar 2023: NAV ₹16.49Apr 2023: NAV ₹17.23May 2023: NAV ₹18.34Jun 2023: NAV ₹19.08Jul 2023: NAV ₹19.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹19.40Sep 2023: NAV ₹19.66Oct 2023: NAV ₹19.20Nov 2023: NAV ₹20.97Dec 2023: NAV ₹23.29Jan 2024: NAV ₹24.13Feb 2024: NAV ₹25.76Mar 2024: NAV ₹26.47Apr 2024: NAV ₹28.33May 2024: NAV ₹29.47Jun 2024: NAV ₹31.21Jul 2024: NAV ₹32.65Aug 2024: NAV ₹32.89Sep 2024: NAV ₹33.66Oct 2024: NAV ₹30.52Nov 2024: NAV ₹30.89Dec 2024: NAV ₹29.68Jan 2025: NAV ₹27.56Feb 2025: NAV ₹24.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹27.53Apr 2025: NAV ₹28.13May 2025: NAV ₹29.12Jun 2025: NAV ₹30.13Jul 2025: NAV ₹29.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹28.81Sep 2025: NAV ₹29.71Oct 2025: NAV ₹30.58Nov 2025: NAV ₹30.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹30.38Jan 2026: NAV ₹29.71Feb 2026: NAV ₹30.55Mar 2026: NAV ₹26.49Apr 2026: NAV ₹30.47May 2026: NAV ₹31.08Jun 2026: NAV ₹31.39Jul 2026: NAV ₹32.32Aug 2026: NAV ₹32.39Sep 2026: NAV ₹31.64
100150Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹19.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹18.38Jan 2023: NAV ₹17.08Feb 2023: NAV ₹16.24Mar 2023: NAV ₹16.49Apr 2023: NAV ₹17.23May 2023: NAV ₹18.34Jun 2023: NAV ₹19.08Jul 2023: NAV ₹19.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹19.40Sep 2023: NAV ₹19.66Oct 2023: NAV ₹19.20Nov 2023: NAV ₹20.97Dec 2023: NAV ₹23.29Jan 2024: NAV ₹24.13Feb 2024: NAV ₹25.76Mar 2024: NAV ₹26.47Apr 2024: NAV ₹28.33May 2024: NAV ₹29.47Jun 2024: NAV ₹31.21Jul 2024: NAV ₹32.65Aug 2024: NAV ₹32.89Sep 2024: NAV ₹33.66Oct 2024: NAV ₹30.52Nov 2024: NAV ₹30.89Dec 2024: NAV ₹29.68Jan 2025: NAV ₹27.56Feb 2025: NAV ₹24.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹27.53Apr 2025: NAV ₹28.13May 2025: NAV ₹29.12Jun 2025: NAV ₹30.13Jul 2025: NAV ₹29.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹28.81Sep 2025: NAV ₹29.71Oct 2025: NAV ₹30.58Nov 2025: NAV ₹30.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹30.38Jan 2026: NAV ₹29.71Feb 2026: NAV ₹30.55Mar 2026: NAV ₹26.49Apr 2026: NAV ₹30.47May 2026: NAV ₹31.08Jun 2026: NAV ₹31.39Jul 2026: NAV ₹32.32Aug 2026: NAV ₹32.39Sep 2026: NAV ₹31.64

47 month-ends · ₹19.04 → ₹31.64, 1.7× since Nov 2022

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−26.6%
27 Sep 2024 → 28 Feb 2025
Worst month
−13.3%
Mar 2026
Days to recover
not yet recovered
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Aug 2026 disclosure · 52 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
51 TREPS / cash equivalents
Treps · money market
0.12% Nov 2022 3.8 yrs -0.14%
52 Net Current Assets (including cash & bank balances)
cash equivalent
-0.01% Nov 2022 3.8 yrs +0.08%
Showing 51–52 of 52 · page 3 of 3 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago

Finance11.3% · 10.8%
Power8.9% · 8.4%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology8.8% · 6.2%
Electrical Equipment6.6% · 4.3%
Banks6.4% · 5.0%
Automobiles5.3% · 5.0%
Auto Components4.7%
Petroleum Products4.6% · 4.9%
share of the book05%10%15%

By market cap, Aug 2026

Large cap80.9%
Mid cap19.0%
Cash & equivalents0.1%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 56% → 81%Mid cap: 34% → 19%Small / micro: 2% → 0%Cash & other: 0% → 0%25%50%75%Nov 2022Oct 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 56% → 81%Mid cap: 34% → 19%Small / micro: 2% → 0%Cash & other: 0% → 0%25%50%75%Large cap 81%Mid cap 19%Nov 2022Oct 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 56% → 81%Mid cap: 34% → 19%Small / micro: 2% → 0%Cash & other: 0% → 0%25%50%75%Large cap 81%Mid cap 19%Nov 2022Oct 2024Aug 2026
  • Large cap 81%
  • Mid cap 19%
  • Small / micro 0%
  • Cash & other 0%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date headline and record disagree

Beat its category in 100% of three-year stretches, and averaged +3.4 points a year across all of them

11 rolling windows since 2022 · ahead by 3.4 points a year when it won — and never lost one

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. It did not lose one of the 11, so the average across all of them is the average win, +3.4 points.

windows measured11windows won11average across every window+3.43 pts a year · median +4.18when ahead, by how much+3.43 pts a year over 11 windowsworst window+0.43 pts a year, ended Nov 2025best window+4.79 pts a year, ended Sep 2026non-overlapping windows in that span1 — the rolling count overlaps, this does not
Thin record. Only 11 rolling windows — under six years of NAV. The share is shown because it was measured; it is a start, not a record, and does not qualify for the home shelf until 36 windows exist.

Fund minus category, each rolling three-year window

-4.8 pp0.0 pp+4.8 ppNov 2025: fund 16.7% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 18.2% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 20.3% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 23.4% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 17.1% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 20.9% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 19.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 18.1% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 17.8% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 18.6% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 17.2% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
-4.8 pp0.0 pp+4.8 ppNov 2025: fund 16.7% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 18.2% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 20.3% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 23.4% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 17.1% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 20.9% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 19.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 18.1% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 17.8% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 18.6% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 17.2% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
-4.8 pp0.0 pp+4.8 ppNov 2025: fund 16.7% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 18.2% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 20.3% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 23.4% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 17.1% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 20.9% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 19.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 18.1% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 17.8% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 18.6% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 17.2% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
ahead of categorybehind

Each bar is one window's margin in percentage points a year. The height of the bars, not the count of green ones, is what the average across every window measures.

A modest five-year number over a record that beat its category 100% of the time. Rolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. This fund was ahead of its category median in 100% of them, which points the opposite way to the headline figure. A single end date decided that headline.
How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.48% a year more than Direct

₹15,504 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹15,504Direct vs Regular, annualised14.2% vs 13.7%measured over3.83 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 58% of the portfolio a year

+0.05 pts of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

excess return per unit of turnover+0.05 pts
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 30 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, and averaged 3.9 points ahead of them

400 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 20.4 points when it won, behind by 13.4 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 20.4 points in the 205 positions it won and behind by 13.4 in the 195 it lost, so the average across all 400 is +3.9 points. The worst position was INE399L01023 at the Dec 2022 disclosure, 93.3 points behind.

positions judged400beat the median stock205average across every position+3.90 pts · median +0.33when ahead, by how much+20.36 pts over 205 positionswhen behind, by how much−13.41 pts over 195 positionsworst position−93.26 pts, INE399L01023 at the Dec 2022 disclosurebest position+202.38 pts, INE066F01012 at the Aug 2023 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹182 Cr, 56th percentile in category; 58% of growth came from inflows

smaller than 44% of the funds in its category (63 funds) · AUM Aug 2023 → Aug 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 0.76%

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendfallingexpense ratio, Regular / Direct0.76% / 0.41% · category median 1.12%AUM, Aug 2023 → Aug 2026₹70 Cr → ₹182 Cr (+37% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns58% net inflows · NAV +67% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Nov 2022 – Aug 2026

50100150Nov 2022Oct 2023Oct 2024Oct 2025Aug 2026Nov 2022: ₹62 CrDec 2022: ₹63 CrJan 2023: ₹62 CrFeb 2023: ₹57 CrMar 2023: ₹57 CrApr 2023: ₹59 CrMay 2023: ₹64 CrJun 2023: ₹67 CrJul 2023: ₹69 CrAug 2023: ₹70 CrSep 2023: ₹72 CrOct 2023: ₹70 CrNov 2023: ₹72 CrDec 2023: ₹79 CrJan 2024: ₹84 CrFeb 2024: ₹91 CrMar 2024: ₹97 CrApr 2024: ₹105 CrMay 2024: ₹114 CrJun 2024: ₹124 CrJul 2024: ₹131 CrAug 2024: ₹131 CrSep 2024: ₹137 CrOct 2024: ₹135 CrNov 2024: ₹130 CrDec 2024: ₹135 CrJan 2025: ₹126 CrFeb 2025: ₹121 CrMar 2025: ₹120 CrMay 2025: ₹131 CrJun 2025: ₹135 CrJul 2025: ₹137 CrAug 2025: ₹136 CrSep 2025: ₹139 CrOct 2025: ₹141 CrNov 2025: ₹142 CrDec 2025: ₹141 CrJan 2026: ₹142 CrFeb 2026: ₹144 CrMar 2026: ₹138 CrApr 2026: ₹144 CrMay 2026: ₹152 CrJun 2026: ₹164 CrJul 2026: ₹169 CrAug 2026: ₹182 Cr
50100150Nov 2022Oct 2023Oct 2024Oct 2025Aug 2026Nov 2022: ₹62 CrDec 2022: ₹63 CrJan 2023: ₹62 CrFeb 2023: ₹57 CrMar 2023: ₹57 CrApr 2023: ₹59 CrMay 2023: ₹64 CrJun 2023: ₹67 CrJul 2023: ₹69 CrAug 2023: ₹70 CrSep 2023: ₹72 CrOct 2023: ₹70 CrNov 2023: ₹72 CrDec 2023: ₹79 CrJan 2024: ₹84 CrFeb 2024: ₹91 CrMar 2024: ₹97 CrApr 2024: ₹105 CrMay 2024: ₹114 CrJun 2024: ₹124 CrJul 2024: ₹131 CrAug 2024: ₹131 CrSep 2024: ₹137 CrOct 2024: ₹135 CrNov 2024: ₹130 CrDec 2024: ₹135 CrJan 2025: ₹126 CrFeb 2025: ₹121 CrMar 2025: ₹120 CrMay 2025: ₹131 CrJun 2025: ₹135 CrJul 2025: ₹137 CrAug 2025: ₹136 CrSep 2025: ₹139 CrOct 2025: ₹141 CrNov 2025: ₹142 CrDec 2025: ₹141 CrJan 2026: ₹142 CrFeb 2026: ₹144 CrMar 2026: ₹138 CrApr 2026: ₹144 CrMay 2026: ₹152 CrJun 2026: ₹164 CrJul 2026: ₹169 CrAug 2026: ₹182 Cr
50100150Nov 2022Oct 2023Oct 2024Oct 2025Aug 2026Nov 2022: ₹62 CrDec 2022: ₹63 CrJan 2023: ₹62 CrFeb 2023: ₹57 CrMar 2023: ₹57 CrApr 2023: ₹59 CrMay 2023: ₹64 CrJun 2023: ₹67 CrJul 2023: ₹69 CrAug 2023: ₹70 CrSep 2023: ₹72 CrOct 2023: ₹70 CrNov 2023: ₹72 CrDec 2023: ₹79 CrJan 2024: ₹84 CrFeb 2024: ₹91 CrMar 2024: ₹97 CrApr 2024: ₹105 CrMay 2024: ₹114 CrJun 2024: ₹124 CrJul 2024: ₹131 CrAug 2024: ₹131 CrSep 2024: ₹137 CrOct 2024: ₹135 CrNov 2024: ₹130 CrDec 2024: ₹135 CrJan 2025: ₹126 CrFeb 2025: ₹121 CrMar 2025: ₹120 CrMay 2025: ₹131 CrJun 2025: ₹135 CrJul 2025: ₹137 CrAug 2025: ₹136 CrSep 2025: ₹139 CrOct 2025: ₹141 CrNov 2025: ₹142 CrDec 2025: ₹141 CrJan 2026: ₹142 CrFeb 2026: ₹144 CrMar 2026: ₹138 CrApr 2026: ₹144 CrMay 2026: ₹152 CrJun 2026: ₹164 CrJul 2026: ₹169 CrAug 2026: ₹182 Cr

45 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 0.80% in Nov 2022 → 0.76% in Sep 2026

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this headline and record disagree

Run by Praveen Ayathan for 6.3 yrs

with Rajeesh Nair

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

running it nowPraveen Ayathan (since Apr 2020), Rajeesh Nair (since Oct 2023)share of the fund's life under the longest-serving current manager99%changes of hands in the archive1 — last Sep 2023

Who ran it, month by month · factsheets through Sep 2026

running it nowearlier
ManagerRoleFromToFund vs category, those months3-yr stretches won in tenure
Praveen Ayathan fund manager Apr 2020 now 15.5% vs 13.3% p.a. (+2.17 pp) 100% of 9
Rajeesh Nair equity portion Sep 2023* now 19.1% vs 14.5% p.a. (+4.60 pp)

* dated by first appearance in the archive we hold, not by a date the factsheet printed. Co-managed months count for every manager named; a factsheet names the manager of record, not who made each call. All managers →

The 5-year figure covers most of the fund's entire life. This scheme is about 6.5 years old and a 5-year return is being displayed for it. That is effectively a since-inception number — it measures the period the fund happened to be launched into, and separates nothing from the manager's contribution.
How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notEvery fund is young once, and a short record is not a bad one. This says the number cannot bear the weight usually placed on it, not that the fund is worse than a peer.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

NAV replicates within 3.0 bp of its disclosed portfolio

What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

Latest gap beyond expense accrual
−3 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.079 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
1clean
31 Jul 2026 +12 bp · 3 Jul 2026 +4 bp · 29 Jun 2026 −3.9 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
0 bp50 bp100 bp+12 bp jump+12 bp jump+4 bp jump+4 bp jump−3.9 bp jump−3.9 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +99 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 0.79%)29 Jun 2026: +95 bp (published 0.80%, replicated -0.14%)30 Jun 2026: +98 bp (published 0.99%, replicated 0.02%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.10%, replicated 1.10%)3 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.89%, replicated 0.85%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)7 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.86%, replicated 0.82%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -1.01%, replicated -1.06%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.20%, replicated -0.24%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.07%, replicated 1.02%)13 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.63%)14 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.31%, replicated 0.27%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.73%, replicated 0.68%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.33%)17 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published 0.30%, replicated 0.28%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.12%)21 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.56%)22 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)23 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.24%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.31%)28 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.68%, replicated 0.62%)29 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.38%)30 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.54%, replicated 1.48%)31 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 2.96%, replicated 2.78%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.76%, replicated 0.76%)5 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.13%, replicated 1.11%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.18%)7 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.46%, replicated 1.42%)10 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)11 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.35%)12 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.52%, replicated 1.49%)13 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.46%)14 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.21%, replicated 1.13%)17 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.18%, replicated 1.11%)18 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.40%, replicated 0.34%)20 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.73%)21 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.53%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.57%, replicated 0.50%)25 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.23%, replicated 1.16%)26 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.15%)27 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 1.03%, replicated 0.94%)28 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 0.77%, replicated 0.69%)31 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.20%, replicated -1.20%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.10%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.96%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.19%, replicated -1.19%)7 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.61%, replicated -1.60%)8 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.09%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.23%, replicated -1.23%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.28%, replicated -2.27%)15 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.72%, replicated -4.71%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.60%, replicated -4.59%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -3.56%, replicated -3.54%)18 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.35%)
0 bp50 bp100 bp+12 bp jump+12 bp jump+4 bp jump+4 bp jump−3.9 bp jump−3.9 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +99 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 0.79%)29 Jun 2026: +95 bp (published 0.80%, replicated -0.14%)30 Jun 2026: +98 bp (published 0.99%, replicated 0.02%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.10%, replicated 1.10%)3 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.89%, replicated 0.85%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)7 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.86%, replicated 0.82%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -1.01%, replicated -1.06%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.20%, replicated -0.24%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.07%, replicated 1.02%)13 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.63%)14 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.31%, replicated 0.27%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.73%, replicated 0.68%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.33%)17 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published 0.30%, replicated 0.28%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.12%)21 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.56%)22 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)23 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.24%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.31%)28 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.68%, replicated 0.62%)29 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.38%)30 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.54%, replicated 1.48%)31 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 2.96%, replicated 2.78%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.76%, replicated 0.76%)5 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.13%, replicated 1.11%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.18%)7 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.46%, replicated 1.42%)10 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)11 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.35%)12 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.52%, replicated 1.49%)13 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.46%)14 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.21%, replicated 1.13%)17 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.18%, replicated 1.11%)18 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.40%, replicated 0.34%)20 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.73%)21 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.53%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.57%, replicated 0.50%)25 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.23%, replicated 1.16%)26 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.15%)27 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 1.03%, replicated 0.94%)28 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 0.77%, replicated 0.69%)31 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.20%, replicated -1.20%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.10%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.96%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.19%, replicated -1.19%)7 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.61%, replicated -1.60%)8 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.09%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.23%, replicated -1.23%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.28%, replicated -2.27%)15 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.72%, replicated -4.71%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.60%, replicated -4.59%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -3.56%, replicated -3.54%)18 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.35%)
0 bp50 bp100 bp+12 bp jump+12 bp jump+4 bp jump+4 bp jump−3.9 bp jump−3.9 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +99 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 0.79%)29 Jun 2026: +95 bp (published 0.80%, replicated -0.14%)30 Jun 2026: +98 bp (published 0.99%, replicated 0.02%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.66%, replicated 0.66%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.10%, replicated 1.10%)3 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.89%, replicated 0.85%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)7 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.86%, replicated 0.82%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -1.01%, replicated -1.06%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.20%, replicated -0.24%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.07%, replicated 1.02%)13 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.63%)14 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.31%, replicated 0.27%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 0.73%, replicated 0.68%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.36%, replicated 0.33%)17 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published 0.30%, replicated 0.28%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.12%)21 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.62%, replicated 1.56%)22 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)23 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.24%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.31%)28 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 0.68%, replicated 0.62%)29 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.38%)30 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 1.54%, replicated 1.48%)31 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 2.96%, replicated 2.78%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.76%, replicated 0.76%)5 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.13%, replicated 1.11%)6 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.18%)7 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.46%, replicated 1.42%)10 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)11 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.39%, replicated 1.35%)12 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.52%, replicated 1.49%)13 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.50%, replicated 1.46%)14 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.21%, replicated 1.13%)17 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 1.18%, replicated 1.11%)18 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.95%, replicated 0.89%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.40%, replicated 0.34%)20 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.73%)21 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 0.53%, replicated 0.46%)24 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 0.57%, replicated 0.50%)25 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.23%, replicated 1.16%)26 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published 1.22%, replicated 1.15%)27 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 1.03%, replicated 0.94%)28 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 0.77%, replicated 0.69%)31 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.15%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.20%, replicated -1.20%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.10%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.96%, replicated -0.96%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.19%, replicated -1.19%)7 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.61%, replicated -1.60%)8 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -1.09%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.23%, replicated -1.23%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.67%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.28%, replicated -2.27%)15 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.72%, replicated -4.71%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -4.60%, replicated -4.59%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -3.56%, replicated -3.54%)18 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.35%)

Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
HSBC NIFTY NEXT 50 INDEX FUND - Direct Growth
growth₹31.6421 Sep 2026
direct
HSBC NIFTY NEXT 50 INDEX FUND - Direct IDCW
idcw₹31.6421 Sep 2026
regular
HSBC NIFTY NEXT 50 INDEX FUND - Regular Growth
growth₹30.7721 Sep 2026
regular
HSBC NIFTY NEXT 50 INDEX FUND - Regular IDCW
idcw₹30.7721 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹31.64
Regular growth NAV
₹30.77
NAV divergence to date
2.8% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
0.48% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹15,504

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size