ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
HSBC · Mid Cap

HSBC Midcap Fund

Equity Scheme - Mid Cap Fund Direct plan, growth launched 24 Jun 2004 open-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 21 Sep 2026
₹541.39
−0.14% since 18 Sep 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
19.4%
return
3 years
24.8%
a year
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
24.8%
a year, over 3.8 years
Assets (AUM)
₹17,188 Cr
Aug 2026 factsheet
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
0.53% / 1.43%
a year, as of Aug 2026
Holdings
77
top ten are 37% of the fund · Aug 2026
Disclosed history
3.8 yrs
Nov 2022 – Aug 2026 · 5 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
Cheenu Gupta · since Nov 2022Mayank Chaturvedi · since Sep 2025 · overseas investments

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.31% a year more than Direct

₹91,037 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Run by Cheenu Gupta for 3.8 yrs

with Mayank Chaturvedi. A return earned before they arrived is the house's record, not theirs — the tenure table shows the fund against its category over exactly their months.

Cheenu Gupta's other funds →
NAVTracking gap

NAV sits 3.5 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy

6 jumps since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Beat its category in 100% of three-year stretches, and averaged +4.9 points a year across all of them

11 rolling windows since 2022 · ahead by 4.9 points a year when it won — and never lost one. A single five-year figure depends on the day you look; the share of stretches won does not — and the average margin says whether winning often was worth anything.

See every window →

headline and record disagree 2 checks found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Nov 2022

100150200Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹232.63Dec 2022: NAV ₹229.37Jan 2023: NAV ₹226.40Feb 2023: NAV ₹224.41Mar 2023: NAV ₹223.20Apr 2023: NAV ₹229.47May 2023: NAV ₹239.79Jun 2023: NAV ₹252.42Jul 2023: NAV ₹269.10Aug 2023: NAV ₹274.38Sep 2023: NAV ₹283.58Oct 2023: NAV ₹279.65Nov 2023: NAV ₹308.54Dec 2023: NAV ₹324.63Jan 2024: NAV ₹336.15Feb 2024: NAV ₹347.45Mar 2024: NAV ₹349.93Apr 2024: NAV ₹373.27May 2024: NAV ₹383.61Jun 2024: NAV ₹415.28Jul 2024: NAV ₹434.64Aug 2024: NAV ₹441.58Sep 2024: NAV ₹452.97Oct 2024: NAV ₹434.42Nov 2024: NAV ₹439.33Dec 2024: NAV ₹458.50Jan 2025: NAV ₹396.07Feb 2025: NAV ₹351.12Mar 2025: NAV ₹381.50Apr 2025: NAV ₹394.37May 2025: NAV ₹422.16Jun 2025: NAV ₹447.24Jul 2025: NAV ₹436.15Aug 2025: NAV ₹432.43Sep 2025: NAV ₹438.76Oct 2025: NAV ₹454.42Nov 2025: NAV ₹460.74Dec 2025: NAV ₹457.08Jan 2026: NAV ₹447.82Feb 2026: NAV ₹457.23Mar 2026: NAV ₹414.59Apr 2026: NAV ₹484.62May 2026: NAV ₹508.62Jun 2026: NAV ₹526.47Jul 2026: NAV ₹519.38Aug 2026: NAV ₹555.06Sep 2026: NAV ₹541.39
100150200Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹232.63Dec 2022: NAV ₹229.37Jan 2023: NAV ₹226.40Feb 2023: NAV ₹224.41Mar 2023: NAV ₹223.20Apr 2023: NAV ₹229.47May 2023: NAV ₹239.79Jun 2023: NAV ₹252.42Jul 2023: NAV ₹269.10Aug 2023: NAV ₹274.38Sep 2023: NAV ₹283.58Oct 2023: NAV ₹279.65Nov 2023: NAV ₹308.54Dec 2023: NAV ₹324.63Jan 2024: NAV ₹336.15Feb 2024: NAV ₹347.45Mar 2024: NAV ₹349.93Apr 2024: NAV ₹373.27May 2024: NAV ₹383.61Jun 2024: NAV ₹415.28Jul 2024: NAV ₹434.64Aug 2024: NAV ₹441.58Sep 2024: NAV ₹452.97Oct 2024: NAV ₹434.42Nov 2024: NAV ₹439.33Dec 2024: NAV ₹458.50Jan 2025: NAV ₹396.07Feb 2025: NAV ₹351.12Mar 2025: NAV ₹381.50Apr 2025: NAV ₹394.37May 2025: NAV ₹422.16Jun 2025: NAV ₹447.24Jul 2025: NAV ₹436.15Aug 2025: NAV ₹432.43Sep 2025: NAV ₹438.76Oct 2025: NAV ₹454.42Nov 2025: NAV ₹460.74Dec 2025: NAV ₹457.08Jan 2026: NAV ₹447.82Feb 2026: NAV ₹457.23Mar 2026: NAV ₹414.59Apr 2026: NAV ₹484.62May 2026: NAV ₹508.62Jun 2026: NAV ₹526.47Jul 2026: NAV ₹519.38Aug 2026: NAV ₹555.06Sep 2026: NAV ₹541.39
100150200Nov 2022Nov 2023Nov 2024Oct 2025Sep 2026Nov 2022: NAV ₹232.63Dec 2022: NAV ₹229.37Jan 2023: NAV ₹226.40Feb 2023: NAV ₹224.41Mar 2023: NAV ₹223.20Apr 2023: NAV ₹229.47May 2023: NAV ₹239.79Jun 2023: NAV ₹252.42Jul 2023: NAV ₹269.10Aug 2023: NAV ₹274.38Sep 2023: NAV ₹283.58Oct 2023: NAV ₹279.65Nov 2023: NAV ₹308.54Dec 2023: NAV ₹324.63Jan 2024: NAV ₹336.15Feb 2024: NAV ₹347.45Mar 2024: NAV ₹349.93Apr 2024: NAV ₹373.27May 2024: NAV ₹383.61Jun 2024: NAV ₹415.28Jul 2024: NAV ₹434.64Aug 2024: NAV ₹441.58Sep 2024: NAV ₹452.97Oct 2024: NAV ₹434.42Nov 2024: NAV ₹439.33Dec 2024: NAV ₹458.50Jan 2025: NAV ₹396.07Feb 2025: NAV ₹351.12Mar 2025: NAV ₹381.50Apr 2025: NAV ₹394.37May 2025: NAV ₹422.16Jun 2025: NAV ₹447.24Jul 2025: NAV ₹436.15Aug 2025: NAV ₹432.43Sep 2025: NAV ₹438.76Oct 2025: NAV ₹454.42Nov 2025: NAV ₹460.74Dec 2025: NAV ₹457.08Jan 2026: NAV ₹447.82Feb 2026: NAV ₹457.23Mar 2026: NAV ₹414.59Apr 2026: NAV ₹484.62May 2026: NAV ₹508.62Jun 2026: NAV ₹526.47Jul 2026: NAV ₹519.38Aug 2026: NAV ₹555.06Sep 2026: NAV ₹541.39

47 month-ends · ₹232.63 → ₹541.39, 2.3× since Nov 2022

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−26.0%
17 Dec 2024 → 28 Feb 2025
Worst month
−13.6%
Jan 2025
Days to recover
416
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Aug 2026 disclosure · 77 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
11 Radico Khaitan Limited
equity
Beverages 2.70% Nov 2022 3.8 yrs +0.74%
12 Aditya Infotech Limited
equity
Industrial Manufacturing 2.64% Aug 2025 1.1 yrs -0.55%
13 Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Serv Ltd.
equity
Finance 2.27% Sep 2024 2.0 yrs +2.27%
14 Hitachi Energy India Limited
equity
Electrical Equipment 2.19% Mar 2024 2.5 yrs -0.98%
15 Nippon Life India Asset Management Ltd
equity
Capital Markets 2.16% Apr 2024 2.4 yrs -0.03%
16 JSW Energy Limited
equity
Power 2.13% Apr 2026 5 mo +0.24%
17 Netweb Technologies India Limited
equity
IT - Services 2.11% Apr 2026 5 mo -0.18%
18 Mankind Pharma Limited
equity
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology 2.10% Mar 2024 2.5 yrs +0.39%
19 Navin Fluorine International Limited
equity
Chemicals & Petrochemicals 2.06% May 2026 4 mo +1.41%
20 Thyrocare Technologies Limited
equity
Healthcare Services 1.99% Oct 2025 11 mo +0.44%
Showing 11–20 of 77 · page 2 of 8 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago

Electrical Equipment15.9% · 11.5%
Retailing12.4% · 7.6%
Banks10.3%
Finance8.0% · 11.0%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology7.0% · 4.9%
Capital Markets5.5% · 9.7%
Financial Technology (Fintech)5.3%
Industrial Manufacturing4.5% · 6.1%
share of the book05%10%15%20%

By market cap, Aug 2026

Large cap0.3%
Mid cap78.1%
Small / micro cap20.8%
Cash & equivalents0.8%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 14% → 0%Mid cap: 49% → 78%Small / micro: 26% → 21%Cash & other: 7% → 1%25%50%75%Nov 2022Nov 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 14% → 0%Mid cap: 49% → 78%Small / micro: 26% → 21%Cash & other: 7% → 1%25%50%75%Large cap 0%Mid cap 78%Small / micro 21%Nov 2022Nov 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 14% → 0%Mid cap: 49% → 78%Small / micro: 26% → 21%Cash & other: 7% → 1%25%50%75%Large cap 0%Mid cap 78%Small / micro 21%Nov 2022Nov 2024Aug 2026
  • Large cap 0%
  • Mid cap 78%
  • Small / micro 21%
  • Cash & other 1%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date headline and record disagree

Beat its category in 100% of three-year stretches, and averaged +4.9 points a year across all of them

11 rolling windows since 2022 · ahead by 4.9 points a year when it won — and never lost one

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. It did not lose one of the 11, so the average across all of them is the average win, +4.9 points.

windows measured11windows won11average across every window+4.89 pts a year · median +5.37when ahead, by how much+4.89 pts a year over 11 windowsworst window+2.43 pts a year, ended Dec 2025best window+7.81 pts a year, ended Aug 2026non-overlapping windows in that span1 — the rolling count overlaps, this does not
Thin record. Only 11 rolling windows — under six years of NAV. The share is shown because it was measured; it is a start, not a record, and does not qualify for the home shelf until 36 windows exist.

Fund minus category, each rolling three-year window

-7.8 pp0.0 pp+7.8 ppNov 2025: fund 25.6% vs category 23.0% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.8% vs category 23.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 25.5% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 26.8% vs category 24.0% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 22.9% vs category 19.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 28.3% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 28.5% vs category 21.5% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 27.8% vs category 20.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 24.5% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 26.5% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 24.1% vs category 17.1% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
-7.8 pp0.0 pp+7.8 ppNov 2025: fund 25.6% vs category 23.0% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.8% vs category 23.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 25.5% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 26.8% vs category 24.0% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 22.9% vs category 19.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 28.3% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 28.5% vs category 21.5% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 27.8% vs category 20.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 24.5% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 26.5% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 24.1% vs category 17.1% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
-7.8 pp0.0 pp+7.8 ppNov 2025: fund 25.6% vs category 23.0% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.8% vs category 23.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 25.5% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 26.8% vs category 24.0% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 22.9% vs category 19.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 28.3% vs category 22.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 28.5% vs category 21.5% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 27.8% vs category 20.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 24.5% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 26.5% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 24.1% vs category 17.1% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025May 2026Sep 2026
ahead of categorybehind

Each bar is one window's margin in percentage points a year. The height of the bars, not the count of green ones, is what the average across every window measures.

A modest five-year number over a record that beat its category 100% of the time. Rolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. This fund was ahead of its category median in 100% of them, which points the opposite way to the headline figure. A single end date decided that headline.
How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.31% a year more than Direct

₹91,037 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹91,037Direct vs Regular, annualised24.6% vs 23.3%measured over3.83 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 170% of the portfolio a year

+0.07 pts of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

excess return per unit of turnover+0.07 pts
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 25 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, yet averaged 3.3 points ahead of them

390 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 19.4 points when it won, behind by 12.7 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. It lost more positions than it won, but the wins were bigger. Ahead by 19.4 points in the 195 positions it won and behind by 12.7 in the 195 it lost, so the average across all 390 is +3.3 points. The worst position was INE331A01037 at the Oct 2023 disclosure, 44.9 points behind. The typical position was −0.1 points, far from the average, so a few positions are carrying it. Counting positions makes this fund look worse than the arithmetic does.

positions judged390beat the median stock195average across every position+3.33 pts · median −0.06when ahead, by how much+19.36 pts over 195 positionswhen behind, by how much−12.70 pts over 195 positionsworst position−44.87 pts, INE331A01037 at the Oct 2023 disclosurebest position+96.04 pts, INE134E01011 at the Jul 2023 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹17,188 Cr, 73rd percentile in category; 14% of growth came from inflows

smaller than 27% of the funds in its category (28 funds) · AUM Aug 2023 → Aug 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 2.21%

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendrisingexpense ratio, Regular / Direct2.21% / 1.15% · category median 2.02%AUM, Aug 2023 → Aug 2026₹7,852 Cr → ₹17,188 Cr (+30% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns14% net inflows · NAV +102% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Sep 2021 – Aug 2026

050001000015000Sep 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Jun 2025Aug 2026Sep 2021: ₹200 CrOct 2021: ₹514 CrNov 2021: ₹508 CrDec 2021: ₹498 CrJan 2022: ₹512 CrFeb 2022: ₹507 CrMar 2022: ₹187 CrApr 2022: ₹195 CrMay 2022: ₹178 CrJun 2022: ₹173 CrJul 2022: ₹180 CrAug 2022: ₹193 CrSep 2022: ₹193 CrOct 2022: ₹190 CrNov 2022: ₹6,741 CrDec 2022: ₹7,561 CrJan 2023: ₹7,273 CrFeb 2023: ₹7,066 CrMar 2023: ₹6,944 CrApr 2023: ₹6,979 CrMay 2023: ₹7,141 CrJun 2023: ₹7,424 CrJul 2023: ₹7,658 CrAug 2023: ₹7,852 CrSep 2023: ₹8,115 CrOct 2023: ₹8,093 CrNov 2023: ₹8,470 CrDec 2023: ₹9,056 CrJan 2024: ₹9,270 CrFeb 2024: ₹9,680 CrMar 2024: ₹9,626 CrApr 2024: ₹10,082 CrMay 2024: ₹10,458 CrJun 2024: ₹11,105 CrJul 2024: ₹11,597 CrAug 2024: ₹11,694 CrSep 2024: ₹12,206 CrOct 2024: ₹12,112 CrNov 2024: ₹11,710 CrDec 2024: ₹12,467 CrJan 2025: ₹11,408 CrFeb 2025: ₹10,256 CrMar 2025: ₹9,957 CrMay 2025: ₹11,085 CrJun 2025: ₹11,776 CrJul 2025: ₹11,961 CrAug 2025: ₹11,865 CrSep 2025: ₹12,155 CrOct 2025: ₹12,348 CrNov 2025: ₹12,483 CrDec 2025: ₹12,363 CrJan 2026: ₹12,158 CrFeb 2026: ₹12,416 CrMar 2026: ₹11,803 CrApr 2026: ₹12,633 CrMay 2026: ₹13,802 CrJun 2026: ₹14,632 CrJul 2026: ₹15,342 CrAug 2026: ₹17,188 Cr
050001000015000Sep 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Jun 2025Aug 2026Sep 2021: ₹200 CrOct 2021: ₹514 CrNov 2021: ₹508 CrDec 2021: ₹498 CrJan 2022: ₹512 CrFeb 2022: ₹507 CrMar 2022: ₹187 CrApr 2022: ₹195 CrMay 2022: ₹178 CrJun 2022: ₹173 CrJul 2022: ₹180 CrAug 2022: ₹193 CrSep 2022: ₹193 CrOct 2022: ₹190 CrNov 2022: ₹6,741 CrDec 2022: ₹7,561 CrJan 2023: ₹7,273 CrFeb 2023: ₹7,066 CrMar 2023: ₹6,944 CrApr 2023: ₹6,979 CrMay 2023: ₹7,141 CrJun 2023: ₹7,424 CrJul 2023: ₹7,658 CrAug 2023: ₹7,852 CrSep 2023: ₹8,115 CrOct 2023: ₹8,093 CrNov 2023: ₹8,470 CrDec 2023: ₹9,056 CrJan 2024: ₹9,270 CrFeb 2024: ₹9,680 CrMar 2024: ₹9,626 CrApr 2024: ₹10,082 CrMay 2024: ₹10,458 CrJun 2024: ₹11,105 CrJul 2024: ₹11,597 CrAug 2024: ₹11,694 CrSep 2024: ₹12,206 CrOct 2024: ₹12,112 CrNov 2024: ₹11,710 CrDec 2024: ₹12,467 CrJan 2025: ₹11,408 CrFeb 2025: ₹10,256 CrMar 2025: ₹9,957 CrMay 2025: ₹11,085 CrJun 2025: ₹11,776 CrJul 2025: ₹11,961 CrAug 2025: ₹11,865 CrSep 2025: ₹12,155 CrOct 2025: ₹12,348 CrNov 2025: ₹12,483 CrDec 2025: ₹12,363 CrJan 2026: ₹12,158 CrFeb 2026: ₹12,416 CrMar 2026: ₹11,803 CrApr 2026: ₹12,633 CrMay 2026: ₹13,802 CrJun 2026: ₹14,632 CrJul 2026: ₹15,342 CrAug 2026: ₹17,188 Cr
050001000015000Sep 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Jun 2025Aug 2026Sep 2021: ₹200 CrOct 2021: ₹514 CrNov 2021: ₹508 CrDec 2021: ₹498 CrJan 2022: ₹512 CrFeb 2022: ₹507 CrMar 2022: ₹187 CrApr 2022: ₹195 CrMay 2022: ₹178 CrJun 2022: ₹173 CrJul 2022: ₹180 CrAug 2022: ₹193 CrSep 2022: ₹193 CrOct 2022: ₹190 CrNov 2022: ₹6,741 CrDec 2022: ₹7,561 CrJan 2023: ₹7,273 CrFeb 2023: ₹7,066 CrMar 2023: ₹6,944 CrApr 2023: ₹6,979 CrMay 2023: ₹7,141 CrJun 2023: ₹7,424 CrJul 2023: ₹7,658 CrAug 2023: ₹7,852 CrSep 2023: ₹8,115 CrOct 2023: ₹8,093 CrNov 2023: ₹8,470 CrDec 2023: ₹9,056 CrJan 2024: ₹9,270 CrFeb 2024: ₹9,680 CrMar 2024: ₹9,626 CrApr 2024: ₹10,082 CrMay 2024: ₹10,458 CrJun 2024: ₹11,105 CrJul 2024: ₹11,597 CrAug 2024: ₹11,694 CrSep 2024: ₹12,206 CrOct 2024: ₹12,112 CrNov 2024: ₹11,710 CrDec 2024: ₹12,467 CrJan 2025: ₹11,408 CrFeb 2025: ₹10,256 CrMar 2025: ₹9,957 CrMay 2025: ₹11,085 CrJun 2025: ₹11,776 CrJul 2025: ₹11,961 CrAug 2025: ₹11,865 CrSep 2025: ₹12,155 CrOct 2025: ₹12,348 CrNov 2025: ₹12,483 CrDec 2025: ₹12,363 CrJan 2026: ₹12,158 CrFeb 2026: ₹12,416 CrMar 2026: ₹11,803 CrApr 2026: ₹12,633 CrMay 2026: ₹13,802 CrJun 2026: ₹14,632 CrJul 2026: ₹15,342 CrAug 2026: ₹17,188 Cr

59 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 2.14% in Sep 2021 → 2.21% in Sep 2026

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this headline and record disagree

Run by Cheenu Gupta for 3.8 yrs

with Mayank Chaturvedi

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

running it nowCheenu Gupta (since Nov 2022), Mayank Chaturvedi (since Oct 2025)share of the fund's life under the longest-serving current manager17%changes of hands in the archive6 — last Sep 2025

Who ran it, month by month · factsheets through Sep 2026

running it nowearlier
ManagerRoleFromToFund vs category, those months3-yr stretches won in tenure
Cheenu Gupta fund manager Nov 2022* now 24.5% vs 20.0% p.a. (+4.53 pp) 100% of 9
Mayank Chaturvedi overseas investments Sep 2025 now 20.1% vs 10.5% (+9.58 pp)
Gautam Bhupal fund manager by Sep 2021† Sep 2021
Kapil Punjabi debt portion Oct 2021* Feb 2022
Neelotpal Sahai equity portion Oct 2021* Feb 2022
Ranjithgopal K A equity portion Oct 2021* Feb 2022
Gautam Bhupal fund manager Mar 2022* Oct 2022
Vihang Shankar Naik fund manager Nov 2022* Aug 2023 17.9% vs 19.8% (−1.89 pp)
Sonal Gupta overseas investments Sep 2023* Aug 2025 25.5% vs 21.3% p.a. (+4.24 pp)
Venugopal Manghat equity portion Sep 2023* Mar 2025 23.1% vs 19.9% p.a. (+3.28 pp)

* dated by first appearance in the archive we hold, not by a date the factsheet printed. † already named on the first factsheet we hold: the stint is at least this long, and its start is not known. Co-managed months count for every manager named; a factsheet names the manager of record, not who made each call. All managers →

The 5-year record predates everyone currently running it. The longest-serving manager on this scheme has been in place about 3.8 years, against a 5-year figure on display. Mayank Chaturvedi joined roughly 1.0 years ago. A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.
How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. It does mean the displayed record is the house’s more than the person’s.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

NAV sits 3.5 bp from its disclosed portfolio, but the replication is noisy

What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

Latest gap beyond expense accrual
+3.5 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.238 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
6noisy
31 Aug 2026 +16 bp · 23 Jul 2026 −14 bp · 28 Jul 2026 +14 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
-25 bp0 bp25 bp+16 bp jump+16 bp jump−14 bp jump−14 bp jump+14 bp jump+14 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +12 bp (published 2.25%, replicated 2.13%)29 Jun 2026: +16 bp (published 2.83%, replicated 2.67%)30 Jun 2026: +27 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.24%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.21%, replicated -0.21%)2 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published -0.12%, replicated -0.14%)3 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -1.64%, replicated -1.64%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.97%, replicated -1.01%)7 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published -1.99%, replicated -2.07%)8 Jul 2026: −3 bp (published -3.18%, replicated -3.16%)9 Jul 2026: −9 bp (published -1.57%, replicated -1.48%)10 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -0.66%, replicated -0.45%)13 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.11%, replicated -0.91%)14 Jul 2026: −22 bp (published -1.80%, replicated -1.58%)15 Jul 2026: −25 bp (published -0.56%, replicated -0.30%)16 Jul 2026: −36 bp (published -1.45%, replicated -1.09%)17 Jul 2026: −24 bp (published -1.70%, replicated -1.45%)20 Jul 2026: −28 bp (published -1.32%, replicated -1.03%)21 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -0.62%, replicated -0.43%)22 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -0.91%)23 Jul 2026: −33 bp (published -2.18%, replicated -1.85%)24 Jul 2026: −39 bp (published -2.73%, replicated -2.34%)27 Jul 2026: −34 bp (published -1.63%, replicated -1.29%)28 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.11%)29 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -1.76%, replicated -1.57%)30 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.17%)31 Jul 2026: −16 bp (published -1.35%, replicated -1.19%)3 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.48%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.90%, replicated 1.89%)5 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.45%, replicated 2.44%)6 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.17%, replicated 2.16%)7 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.92%)10 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 3.16%, replicated 3.20%)11 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 3.46%, replicated 3.45%)12 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 4.44%, replicated 4.48%)13 Aug 2026: −9 bp (published 4.00%, replicated 4.09%)14 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.38%, replicated 3.43%)17 Aug 2026: −10 bp (published 3.69%, replicated 3.78%)18 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.95%, replicated 4.00%)19 Aug 2026: −13 bp (published 3.55%, replicated 3.68%)20 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 4.38%, replicated 4.44%)21 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 5.01%, replicated 5.08%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 4.67%, replicated 4.70%)25 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 4.60%, replicated 4.55%)26 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 5.50%, replicated 5.32%)27 Aug 2026: +14 bp (published 5.56%, replicated 5.42%)28 Aug 2026: +24 bp (published 5.48%, replicated 5.24%)31 Aug 2026: +40 bp (published 6.87%, replicated 6.47%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.31%, replicated -1.31%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.77%, replicated -1.77%)3 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.26%, replicated -1.25%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -1.82%, replicated -1.84%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.75%, replicated -1.72%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.90%)9 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.44%, replicated -1.41%)10 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -1.69%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: +9 bp (published -1.85%, replicated -1.94%)15 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -5.10%, replicated -5.13%)16 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -5.05%, replicated -5.11%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -4.59%, replicated -4.62%)18 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.33%)
-25 bp0 bp25 bp+16 bp jump+16 bp jump−14 bp jump−14 bp jump+14 bp jump+14 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +12 bp (published 2.25%, replicated 2.13%)29 Jun 2026: +16 bp (published 2.83%, replicated 2.67%)30 Jun 2026: +27 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.24%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.21%, replicated -0.21%)2 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published -0.12%, replicated -0.14%)3 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -1.64%, replicated -1.64%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.97%, replicated -1.01%)7 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published -1.99%, replicated -2.07%)8 Jul 2026: −3 bp (published -3.18%, replicated -3.16%)9 Jul 2026: −9 bp (published -1.57%, replicated -1.48%)10 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -0.66%, replicated -0.45%)13 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.11%, replicated -0.91%)14 Jul 2026: −22 bp (published -1.80%, replicated -1.58%)15 Jul 2026: −25 bp (published -0.56%, replicated -0.30%)16 Jul 2026: −36 bp (published -1.45%, replicated -1.09%)17 Jul 2026: −24 bp (published -1.70%, replicated -1.45%)20 Jul 2026: −28 bp (published -1.32%, replicated -1.03%)21 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -0.62%, replicated -0.43%)22 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -0.91%)23 Jul 2026: −33 bp (published -2.18%, replicated -1.85%)24 Jul 2026: −39 bp (published -2.73%, replicated -2.34%)27 Jul 2026: −34 bp (published -1.63%, replicated -1.29%)28 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.11%)29 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -1.76%, replicated -1.57%)30 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.17%)31 Jul 2026: −16 bp (published -1.35%, replicated -1.19%)3 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.48%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.90%, replicated 1.89%)5 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.45%, replicated 2.44%)6 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.17%, replicated 2.16%)7 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.92%)10 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 3.16%, replicated 3.20%)11 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 3.46%, replicated 3.45%)12 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 4.44%, replicated 4.48%)13 Aug 2026: −9 bp (published 4.00%, replicated 4.09%)14 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.38%, replicated 3.43%)17 Aug 2026: −10 bp (published 3.69%, replicated 3.78%)18 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.95%, replicated 4.00%)19 Aug 2026: −13 bp (published 3.55%, replicated 3.68%)20 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 4.38%, replicated 4.44%)21 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 5.01%, replicated 5.08%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 4.67%, replicated 4.70%)25 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 4.60%, replicated 4.55%)26 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 5.50%, replicated 5.32%)27 Aug 2026: +14 bp (published 5.56%, replicated 5.42%)28 Aug 2026: +24 bp (published 5.48%, replicated 5.24%)31 Aug 2026: +40 bp (published 6.87%, replicated 6.47%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.31%, replicated -1.31%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.77%, replicated -1.77%)3 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.26%, replicated -1.25%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -1.82%, replicated -1.84%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.75%, replicated -1.72%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.90%)9 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.44%, replicated -1.41%)10 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -1.69%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: +9 bp (published -1.85%, replicated -1.94%)15 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -5.10%, replicated -5.13%)16 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -5.05%, replicated -5.11%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -4.59%, replicated -4.62%)18 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.33%)
-25 bp0 bp25 bp+16 bp jump+16 bp jump−14 bp jump−14 bp jump+14 bp jump+14 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +12 bp (published 2.25%, replicated 2.13%)29 Jun 2026: +16 bp (published 2.83%, replicated 2.67%)30 Jun 2026: +27 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.24%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -0.21%, replicated -0.21%)2 Jul 2026: +2 bp (published -0.12%, replicated -0.14%)3 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published -1.64%, replicated -1.64%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.97%, replicated -1.01%)7 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published -1.99%, replicated -2.07%)8 Jul 2026: −3 bp (published -3.18%, replicated -3.16%)9 Jul 2026: −9 bp (published -1.57%, replicated -1.48%)10 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -0.66%, replicated -0.45%)13 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.11%, replicated -0.91%)14 Jul 2026: −22 bp (published -1.80%, replicated -1.58%)15 Jul 2026: −25 bp (published -0.56%, replicated -0.30%)16 Jul 2026: −36 bp (published -1.45%, replicated -1.09%)17 Jul 2026: −24 bp (published -1.70%, replicated -1.45%)20 Jul 2026: −28 bp (published -1.32%, replicated -1.03%)21 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -0.62%, replicated -0.43%)22 Jul 2026: −19 bp (published -1.10%, replicated -0.91%)23 Jul 2026: −33 bp (published -2.18%, replicated -1.85%)24 Jul 2026: −39 bp (published -2.73%, replicated -2.34%)27 Jul 2026: −34 bp (published -1.63%, replicated -1.29%)28 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.11%)29 Jul 2026: −20 bp (published -1.76%, replicated -1.57%)30 Jul 2026: −21 bp (published -2.39%, replicated -2.17%)31 Jul 2026: −16 bp (published -1.35%, replicated -1.19%)3 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.48%)4 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.90%, replicated 1.89%)5 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.45%, replicated 2.44%)6 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 2.17%, replicated 2.16%)7 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.92%)10 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 3.16%, replicated 3.20%)11 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 3.46%, replicated 3.45%)12 Aug 2026: −4 bp (published 4.44%, replicated 4.48%)13 Aug 2026: −9 bp (published 4.00%, replicated 4.09%)14 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.38%, replicated 3.43%)17 Aug 2026: −10 bp (published 3.69%, replicated 3.78%)18 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 3.95%, replicated 4.00%)19 Aug 2026: −13 bp (published 3.55%, replicated 3.68%)20 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 4.38%, replicated 4.44%)21 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 5.01%, replicated 5.08%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 4.67%, replicated 4.70%)25 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 4.60%, replicated 4.55%)26 Aug 2026: +18 bp (published 5.50%, replicated 5.32%)27 Aug 2026: +14 bp (published 5.56%, replicated 5.42%)28 Aug 2026: +24 bp (published 5.48%, replicated 5.24%)31 Aug 2026: +40 bp (published 6.87%, replicated 6.47%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.31%, replicated -1.31%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -1.77%, replicated -1.77%)3 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.26%, replicated -1.25%)4 Sep 2026: +2 bp (published -1.82%, replicated -1.84%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.75%, replicated -1.72%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.90%)9 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.44%, replicated -1.41%)10 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -1.69%, replicated -1.66%)11 Sep 2026: +9 bp (published -1.85%, replicated -1.94%)15 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -5.10%, replicated -5.13%)16 Sep 2026: +5 bp (published -5.05%, replicated -5.11%)17 Sep 2026: +3 bp (published -4.59%, replicated -4.62%)18 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.32%, replicated -2.33%)

Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.

Marked noisy: the replication jumped on 41 days in the window. Read the gap as coverage, not as a signal.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
HSBC Midcap Fund - Direct Growth
growth₹541.3921 Sep 2026
direct
HSBC Midcap Fund - Direct IDCW
idcw₹95.5221 Sep 2026
regular
HSBC Midcap Fund - Regular Growth
growth₹473.0921 Sep 2026
regular
HSBC Midcap Fund - Regular IDCW
idcw₹81.7221 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹541.39
Regular growth NAV
₹473.09
NAV divergence to date
14.4% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
1.31% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹91,037

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size