ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
Sundaram · ELSS

Sundaram ELSS Tax Saver Fund

ELSS Direct plan, growth benchmark: Nifty 500 TRI launched 1 Jan 1996 open-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 21 Sep 2026
₹521.73
+0.04% since 18 Sep 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
−5.8%
return
3 years
8.4%
a year
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
9.1%
a year, over 4.6 years
Assets (AUM)
₹1,288 Cr
Aug 2026 factsheet
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
1.39% / 1.85%
a year, as of Aug 2026
Holdings
58
top ten are 40% of the fund · Aug 2026
Disclosed history
4.7 yrs
Dec 2021 – Aug 2026 · 5 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
Rohit Seksaria · since Sep 2024Bharath S · since Jun 2025Shalav Saket · since Mar 2026 · overseas investments

As the Aug 2026 factsheet printed it: standard deviation 14.1% · portfolio turnover 0.36×. Exit load and minimum investment are not yet extracted from the scheme documents.

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.61% a year more than Direct

₹12,927 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Run by Rohit Seksaria for 2.0 yrs

with Bharath S, Shalav Saket. A return earned before they arrived is the house's record, not theirs — the tenure table shows the fund against its category over exactly their months.

Rohit Seksaria's other funds →
NAVTracking gap

NAV replicates within 2.4 bp of its disclosed portfolio

2 jumps since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Beat its category in 0% of three-year stretches, and averaged −1.9 points a year across all of them

21 rolling windows since 2022 · behind by 1.9 when it lost points a year — and never won one. A single five-year figure depends on the day you look; the share of stretches won does not — and the average margin says whether winning often was worth anything.

See every window →

headline and record disagree One check found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Jan 2022

100125150Jan 2022Mar 2023Jun 2024Aug 2025Sep 2026Jan 2022: NAV ₹348.05Feb 2022: NAV ₹332.81Mar 2022: NAV ₹342.40Apr 2022: NAV ₹337.46May 2022: NAV ₹327.60Jun 2022: NAV ₹313.54Jul 2022: NAV ₹341.95Aug 2022: NAV ₹357.64Sep 2022: NAV ₹349.48Oct 2022: NAV ₹364.31Nov 2022: NAV ₹370.18Dec 2022: NAV ₹358.87Jan 2023: NAV ₹353.16Feb 2023: NAV ₹345.25Mar 2023: NAV ₹343.09Apr 2023: NAV ₹355.72May 2023: NAV ₹369.82Jun 2023: NAV ₹389.14Jul 2023: NAV ₹404.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹403.56Sep 2023: NAV ₹409.76Oct 2023: NAV ₹397.39Nov 2023: NAV ₹423.62Dec 2023: NAV ₹449.15Jan 2024: NAV ₹447.88Feb 2024: NAV ₹462.50Mar 2024: NAV ₹470.14Apr 2024: NAV ₹487.32May 2024: NAV ₹486.50Jun 2024: NAV ₹517.52Jul 2024: NAV ₹534.90Aug 2024: NAV ₹543.40Sep 2024: NAV ₹554.40Oct 2024: NAV ₹523.63Nov 2024: NAV ₹525.68Dec 2024: NAV ₹522.85Jan 2025: NAV ₹505.46Feb 2025: NAV ₹472.23Mar 2025: NAV ₹502.11Apr 2025: NAV ₹519.09May 2025: NAV ₹533.64Jun 2025: NAV ₹549.52Jul 2025: NAV ₹545.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹540.98Sep 2025: NAV ₹539.99Oct 2025: NAV ₹559.14Nov 2025: NAV ₹566.63Dec 2025: NAV ₹566.21Jan 2026: NAV ₹547.04Feb 2026: NAV ₹549.44Mar 2026: NAV ₹483.31Apr 2026: NAV ₹530.95May 2026: NAV ₹519.85Jun 2026: NAV ₹529.06Jul 2026: NAV ₹537.75Aug 2026: NAV ₹535.60Sep 2026: NAV ₹521.73
100125150Jan 2022Mar 2023Jun 2024Aug 2025Sep 2026Jan 2022: NAV ₹348.05Feb 2022: NAV ₹332.81Mar 2022: NAV ₹342.40Apr 2022: NAV ₹337.46May 2022: NAV ₹327.60Jun 2022: NAV ₹313.54Jul 2022: NAV ₹341.95Aug 2022: NAV ₹357.64Sep 2022: NAV ₹349.48Oct 2022: NAV ₹364.31Nov 2022: NAV ₹370.18Dec 2022: NAV ₹358.87Jan 2023: NAV ₹353.16Feb 2023: NAV ₹345.25Mar 2023: NAV ₹343.09Apr 2023: NAV ₹355.72May 2023: NAV ₹369.82Jun 2023: NAV ₹389.14Jul 2023: NAV ₹404.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹403.56Sep 2023: NAV ₹409.76Oct 2023: NAV ₹397.39Nov 2023: NAV ₹423.62Dec 2023: NAV ₹449.15Jan 2024: NAV ₹447.88Feb 2024: NAV ₹462.50Mar 2024: NAV ₹470.14Apr 2024: NAV ₹487.32May 2024: NAV ₹486.50Jun 2024: NAV ₹517.52Jul 2024: NAV ₹534.90Aug 2024: NAV ₹543.40Sep 2024: NAV ₹554.40Oct 2024: NAV ₹523.63Nov 2024: NAV ₹525.68Dec 2024: NAV ₹522.85Jan 2025: NAV ₹505.46Feb 2025: NAV ₹472.23Mar 2025: NAV ₹502.11Apr 2025: NAV ₹519.09May 2025: NAV ₹533.64Jun 2025: NAV ₹549.52Jul 2025: NAV ₹545.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹540.98Sep 2025: NAV ₹539.99Oct 2025: NAV ₹559.14Nov 2025: NAV ₹566.63Dec 2025: NAV ₹566.21Jan 2026: NAV ₹547.04Feb 2026: NAV ₹549.44Mar 2026: NAV ₹483.31Apr 2026: NAV ₹530.95May 2026: NAV ₹519.85Jun 2026: NAV ₹529.06Jul 2026: NAV ₹537.75Aug 2026: NAV ₹535.60Sep 2026: NAV ₹521.73
100125150Jan 2022Mar 2023Jun 2024Aug 2025Sep 2026Jan 2022: NAV ₹348.05Feb 2022: NAV ₹332.81Mar 2022: NAV ₹342.40Apr 2022: NAV ₹337.46May 2022: NAV ₹327.60Jun 2022: NAV ₹313.54Jul 2022: NAV ₹341.95Aug 2022: NAV ₹357.64Sep 2022: NAV ₹349.48Oct 2022: NAV ₹364.31Nov 2022: NAV ₹370.18Dec 2022: NAV ₹358.87Jan 2023: NAV ₹353.16Feb 2023: NAV ₹345.25Mar 2023: NAV ₹343.09Apr 2023: NAV ₹355.72May 2023: NAV ₹369.82Jun 2023: NAV ₹389.14Jul 2023: NAV ₹404.77Aug 2023: NAV ₹403.56Sep 2023: NAV ₹409.76Oct 2023: NAV ₹397.39Nov 2023: NAV ₹423.62Dec 2023: NAV ₹449.15Jan 2024: NAV ₹447.88Feb 2024: NAV ₹462.50Mar 2024: NAV ₹470.14Apr 2024: NAV ₹487.32May 2024: NAV ₹486.50Jun 2024: NAV ₹517.52Jul 2024: NAV ₹534.90Aug 2024: NAV ₹543.40Sep 2024: NAV ₹554.40Oct 2024: NAV ₹523.63Nov 2024: NAV ₹525.68Dec 2024: NAV ₹522.85Jan 2025: NAV ₹505.46Feb 2025: NAV ₹472.23Mar 2025: NAV ₹502.11Apr 2025: NAV ₹519.09May 2025: NAV ₹533.64Jun 2025: NAV ₹549.52Jul 2025: NAV ₹545.34Aug 2025: NAV ₹540.98Sep 2025: NAV ₹539.99Oct 2025: NAV ₹559.14Nov 2025: NAV ₹566.63Dec 2025: NAV ₹566.21Jan 2026: NAV ₹547.04Feb 2026: NAV ₹549.44Mar 2026: NAV ₹483.31Apr 2026: NAV ₹530.95May 2026: NAV ₹519.85Jun 2026: NAV ₹529.06Jul 2026: NAV ₹537.75Aug 2026: NAV ₹535.60Sep 2026: NAV ₹521.73

57 month-ends · ₹348.05 → ₹521.73, 1.5× since Jan 2022

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−15.9%
27 Sep 2024 → 28 Feb 2025
Worst month
−12.0%
Mar 2026
Days to recover
243
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Aug 2026 disclosure · 58 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
11 Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd
equity
Automobiles 2.33% Mar 2025 1.5 yrs +0.13%
12 Ultratech Cement Ltd
equity
Cement & Cement Products 2.32% Dec 2021 4.8 yrs -0.14%
13 TREPS / cash equivalents
TREPS · money market
— 2.16% Jan 2022 4.7 yrs -0.66%
14 Eternal Ltd (Previously Zomato Ltd)
equity
Retailing 2.10% Dec 2021 4.8 yrs +0.55%
15 IndusInd Bank Ltd
equity
Banks 1.93% Dec 2022 3.8 yrs +0.19%
16 Force Motors Ltd
equity
Automobiles 1.91% Dec 2021 4.8 yrs -0.25%
17 Thermax Ltd
equity
Electrical Equipment 1.74% Mar 2026 6 mo +0.72%
18 TATA Motors Ltd
equity
Agricultural, Commercial & Construction Vehicles 1.61% Oct 2025 11 mo +0.60%
19 NTPC LTD
equity
Power 1.60% Oct 2024 1.9 yrs -0.32%
20 Cummins India Ltd
equity
Industrial Products 1.48% Jul 2025 1.2 yrs -0.52%
Showing 11–20 of 58 · page 2 of 6 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago

Banks27.5% · 27.8%
Automobiles5.7% · 6.3%
It - Software5.5% · 4.5%
Industrial Products4.7%
Construction4.5% · 3.3%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology3.6% · 5.0%
Telecom - Services3.6% · 3.2%
Petroleum Products3.4% · 4.8%
share of the book05%10%15%20%25%30%

By market cap, Aug 2026

Large cap60.6%
Mid cap18.9%
Small / micro cap16.6%
Cash & equivalents2.2%
Not classified2.0%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 53% → 61%Mid cap: 18% → 19%Small / micro: 8% → 17%Cash & other: 0% → 2%25%50%75%Dec 2021May 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 53% → 61%Mid cap: 18% → 19%Small / micro: 8% → 17%Cash & other: 0% → 2%25%50%75%Large cap 61%Mid cap 19%Small / micro 17%Dec 2021May 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 53% → 61%Mid cap: 18% → 19%Small / micro: 8% → 17%Cash & other: 0% → 2%25%50%75%Large cap 61%Mid cap 19%Small / micro 17%Dec 2021May 2024Aug 2026
  • Large cap 61%
  • Mid cap 19%
  • Small / micro 17%
  • Cash & other 2%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date

Beat its category in 0% of three-year stretches, and averaged −1.9 points a year across all of them

21 rolling windows since 2022 · behind by 1.9 when it lost points a year — and never won one

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. It did not win one of the 21; the average across all of them is −1.9 points. The worst window ended Aug 2026, 2.9 points behind.

windows measured21windows won0average across every window−1.89 pts a year · median −1.81when behind, by how much−1.89 pts a year over 21 windowsworst window−2.94 pts a year, ended Aug 2026best window−0.99 pts a year, ended Feb 2026non-overlapping windows in that span1 — the rolling count overlaps, this does not
Thin record. Only 21 rolling windows — under six years of NAV. The share is shown because it was measured; it is a start, not a record, and does not qualify for the home shelf until 36 windows exist.

Fund minus category, each rolling three-year window

-2.9 pp0.0 pp+2.9 ppJan 2025: fund 13.2% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 12.4% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 13.6% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 15.4% vs category 17.0% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 17.7% vs category 19.9% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 20.6% vs category 23.1% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 16.8% vs category 18.6% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 14.8% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 15.6% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 16.4% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 15.7% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 16.8% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 12.1% vs category 13.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.3% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 12.0% vs category 14.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 10.8% vs category 13.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 8.4% vs category 11.3% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025Dec 2025Sep 2026
-2.9 pp0.0 pp+2.9 ppJan 2025: fund 13.2% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 12.4% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 13.6% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 15.4% vs category 17.0% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 17.7% vs category 19.9% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 20.6% vs category 23.1% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 16.8% vs category 18.6% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 14.8% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 15.6% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 16.4% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 15.7% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 16.8% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 12.1% vs category 13.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.3% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 12.0% vs category 14.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 10.8% vs category 13.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 8.4% vs category 11.3% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025Dec 2025Sep 2026
-2.9 pp0.0 pp+2.9 ppJan 2025: fund 13.2% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 12.4% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 13.6% vs category 15.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 15.4% vs category 17.0% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 17.7% vs category 19.9% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 20.6% vs category 23.1% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 16.8% vs category 18.6% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 14.8% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 15.6% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 15.3% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 16.4% vs category 17.4% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 15.7% vs category 17.2% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 16.8% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 12.1% vs category 13.3% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 14.3% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 12.0% vs category 14.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 10.8% vs category 13.4% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 9.9% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 8.4% vs category 11.3% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025Dec 2025Sep 2026
ahead of categorybehind

Each bar is one window's margin in percentage points a year. The height of the bars, not the count of green ones, is what the average across every window measures.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.61% a year more than Direct

₹12,927 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹12,927Direct vs Regular, annualised9.1% vs 8.5%measured over4.67 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 67% of the portfolio a year

−0.08 pts of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

excess return per unit of turnover−0.08 pts
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 57 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, and averaged 0.2 points behind them

493 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 12.3 points when it won, behind by 12.1 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 12.3 points in the 239 positions it won and behind by 12.1 in the 254 it lost, so the average across all 493 is −0.2 points. The worst position was INE009A01021 at the Jan 2026 disclosure, 36.5 points behind.

positions judged493beat the median stock239average across every position−0.23 pts · median −0.79when ahead, by how much+12.28 pts over 239 positionswhen behind, by how much−12.05 pts over 254 positionsworst position−36.48 pts, INE009A01021 at the Jan 2026 disclosurebest position+98.87 pts, INE451A01017 at the Sep 2023 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹1,288 Cr, 54th percentile in category; 64% of growth came from outflows

smaller than 46% of the funds in its category (45 funds) · AUM Sep 2023 → Aug 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 2.30%

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendrisingexpense ratio, Regular / Direct2.30% / 1.78% · category median 1.94%AUM, Sep 2023 → Aug 2026₹1,085 Cr → ₹1,288 Cr (+6% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns64% net outflows · NAV +31% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Mar 2022 – Aug 2026

100012001400Mar 2022Apr 2024Feb 2025Nov 2025Aug 2026Mar 2022: ₹928 CrJun 2022: ₹890 CrSep 2022: ₹938 CrDec 2022: ₹975 CrMar 2023: ₹946 CrJun 2023: ₹986 CrSep 2023: ₹1,085 CrDec 2023: ₹1,118 CrMar 2024: ₹1,227 CrApr 2024: ₹1,264 CrMay 2024: ₹1,281 CrJun 2024: ₹1,328 CrJul 2024: ₹1,374 CrAug 2024: ₹1,377 CrSep 2024: ₹1,422 CrOct 2024: ₹1,382 CrNov 2024: ₹1,336 CrDec 2024: ₹1,368 CrJan 2025: ₹1,310 CrFeb 2025: ₹1,274 CrMar 2025: ₹1,252 CrApr 2025: ₹1,292 CrMay 2025: ₹1,343 CrJun 2025: ₹1,371 CrJul 2025: ₹1,388 CrAug 2025: ₹1,375 CrSep 2025: ₹1,378 CrOct 2025: ₹1,387 CrNov 2025: ₹1,401 CrDec 2025: ₹1,397 CrFeb 2026: ₹1,367 CrMar 2026: ₹1,368 CrApr 2026: ₹1,256 CrMay 2026: ₹1,279 CrJun 2026: ₹1,279 CrJul 2026: ₹1,268 CrAug 2026: ₹1,288 Cr
100012001400Mar 2022Apr 2024Feb 2025Nov 2025Aug 2026Mar 2022: ₹928 CrJun 2022: ₹890 CrSep 2022: ₹938 CrDec 2022: ₹975 CrMar 2023: ₹946 CrJun 2023: ₹986 CrSep 2023: ₹1,085 CrDec 2023: ₹1,118 CrMar 2024: ₹1,227 CrApr 2024: ₹1,264 CrMay 2024: ₹1,281 CrJun 2024: ₹1,328 CrJul 2024: ₹1,374 CrAug 2024: ₹1,377 CrSep 2024: ₹1,422 CrOct 2024: ₹1,382 CrNov 2024: ₹1,336 CrDec 2024: ₹1,368 CrJan 2025: ₹1,310 CrFeb 2025: ₹1,274 CrMar 2025: ₹1,252 CrApr 2025: ₹1,292 CrMay 2025: ₹1,343 CrJun 2025: ₹1,371 CrJul 2025: ₹1,388 CrAug 2025: ₹1,375 CrSep 2025: ₹1,378 CrOct 2025: ₹1,387 CrNov 2025: ₹1,401 CrDec 2025: ₹1,397 CrFeb 2026: ₹1,367 CrMar 2026: ₹1,368 CrApr 2026: ₹1,256 CrMay 2026: ₹1,279 CrJun 2026: ₹1,279 CrJul 2026: ₹1,268 CrAug 2026: ₹1,288 Cr
100012001400Mar 2022Apr 2024Feb 2025Nov 2025Aug 2026Mar 2022: ₹928 CrJun 2022: ₹890 CrSep 2022: ₹938 CrDec 2022: ₹975 CrMar 2023: ₹946 CrJun 2023: ₹986 CrSep 2023: ₹1,085 CrDec 2023: ₹1,118 CrMar 2024: ₹1,227 CrApr 2024: ₹1,264 CrMay 2024: ₹1,281 CrJun 2024: ₹1,328 CrJul 2024: ₹1,374 CrAug 2024: ₹1,377 CrSep 2024: ₹1,422 CrOct 2024: ₹1,382 CrNov 2024: ₹1,336 CrDec 2024: ₹1,368 CrJan 2025: ₹1,310 CrFeb 2025: ₹1,274 CrMar 2025: ₹1,252 CrApr 2025: ₹1,292 CrMay 2025: ₹1,343 CrJun 2025: ₹1,371 CrJul 2025: ₹1,388 CrAug 2025: ₹1,375 CrSep 2025: ₹1,378 CrOct 2025: ₹1,387 CrNov 2025: ₹1,401 CrDec 2025: ₹1,397 CrFeb 2026: ₹1,367 CrMar 2026: ₹1,368 CrApr 2026: ₹1,256 CrMay 2026: ₹1,279 CrJun 2026: ₹1,279 CrJul 2026: ₹1,268 CrAug 2026: ₹1,288 Cr

37 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 2.54% in Jan 2022 → 2.30% in Sep 2026

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this headline and record disagree

Run by Rohit Seksaria for 2.0 yrs

with Bharath S, Shalav Saket

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

running it nowRohit Seksaria (since Sep 2024), Bharath S (since Jun 2025), Shalav Saket (since Mar 2026)share of the fund's life under the longest-serving current manager7%changes of hands in the archive4 — last Mar 2026

Who ran it, month by month · factsheets through Sep 2026

running it nowearlier
ManagerRoleFromToFund vs category, those months3-yr stretches won in tenure
Rohit Seksaria fund manager Sep 2024* now −0.7% vs 0.6% p.a. (−1.29 pp) —
Bharath S fund manager Jun 2025* now 0.3% vs 3.5% p.a. (−3.19 pp) —
Shalav Saket overseas investments Mar 2026* now −2.5% vs 3.5% (−5.99 pp) —
: Sudhir Kedia Rohit Seksaria fund manager by Dec 2021† Feb 2024 14.6% vs 17.0% p.a. (−2.35 pp) —
: Sudhir Kedia fund manager Mar 2024* May 2025 12.1% vs 13.5% p.a. (−1.39 pp) —

* dated by first appearance in the archive we hold, not by a date the factsheet printed. † already named on the first factsheet we hold: the stint is at least this long, and its start is not known. Co-managed months count for every manager named; a factsheet names the manager of record, not who made each call. All managers →

The 5-year record predates everyone currently running it. The longest-serving manager on this scheme has been in place about 2.1 years, against a 5-year figure on display. Shalav Saket joined roughly 0.6 years ago. A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.
How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. It does mean the displayed record is the house’s more than the person’s.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

NAV replicates within 2.4 bp of its disclosed portfolio

What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

Latest gap beyond expense accrual
−2.4 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.238 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
2clean
25 Jun 2026 +6.8 bp · 3 Jul 2026 +6.1 bp · 20 Aug 2026 −5.3 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.8 bp jump+6.8 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump−5.3 bp jump−5.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +19 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.53%)29 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.94%, replicated 1.76%)30 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.59%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.56%, replicated 0.56%)2 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.14%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.73%, replicated 1.69%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.83%, replicated 1.79%)8 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.25%, replicated -0.28%)9 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.78%, replicated 0.74%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.89%, replicated 1.85%)13 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.73%)14 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.69%, replicated 0.66%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.15%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.98%, replicated 0.95%)17 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.31%, replicated 1.24%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.77%)21 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.91%, replicated 0.87%)22 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.13%, replicated -0.17%)23 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.79%, replicated -0.82%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published -0.98%, replicated -1.05%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.08%, replicated -0.00%)28 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.10%, replicated 0.01%)29 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.32%, replicated 1.23%)30 Jul 2026: +14 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.30%)31 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 1.64%, replicated 1.47%)3 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.67%, replicated 1.63%)4 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.21%)5 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.41%)6 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.50%)7 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.45%, replicated 1.43%)10 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)11 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.08%, replicated 1.09%)12 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.12%, replicated 1.11%)13 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.83%, replicated 0.82%)14 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.79%)17 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.77%)18 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 0.22%, replicated 0.17%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published -0.26%, replicated -0.33%)20 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.59%, replicated 0.58%)21 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.41%, replicated 0.41%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 0.24%, replicated 0.27%)25 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 0.47%, replicated 0.55%)26 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.37%)27 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.06%, replicated 0.07%)28 Aug 2026: −6 bp (published -0.03%, replicated 0.03%)31 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published -0.40%, replicated -0.35%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.27%, replicated -0.27%)2 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.93%)3 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.54%, replicated -0.55%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.04%, replicated -1.02%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.56%, replicated -1.55%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.43%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.34%, replicated -2.34%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.72%, replicated -2.71%)15 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -4.28%, replicated -4.25%)16 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -4.09%, replicated -4.05%)17 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -3.34%, replicated -3.30%)18 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.63%, replicated -2.58%)
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.8 bp jump+6.8 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump−5.3 bp jump−5.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +19 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.53%)29 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.94%, replicated 1.76%)30 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.59%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.56%, replicated 0.56%)2 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.14%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.73%, replicated 1.69%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.83%, replicated 1.79%)8 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.25%, replicated -0.28%)9 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.78%, replicated 0.74%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.89%, replicated 1.85%)13 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.73%)14 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.69%, replicated 0.66%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.15%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.98%, replicated 0.95%)17 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.31%, replicated 1.24%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.77%)21 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.91%, replicated 0.87%)22 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.13%, replicated -0.17%)23 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.79%, replicated -0.82%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published -0.98%, replicated -1.05%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.08%, replicated -0.00%)28 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.10%, replicated 0.01%)29 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.32%, replicated 1.23%)30 Jul 2026: +14 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.30%)31 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 1.64%, replicated 1.47%)3 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.67%, replicated 1.63%)4 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.21%)5 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.41%)6 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.50%)7 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.45%, replicated 1.43%)10 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)11 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.08%, replicated 1.09%)12 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.12%, replicated 1.11%)13 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.83%, replicated 0.82%)14 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.79%)17 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.77%)18 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 0.22%, replicated 0.17%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published -0.26%, replicated -0.33%)20 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.59%, replicated 0.58%)21 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.41%, replicated 0.41%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 0.24%, replicated 0.27%)25 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 0.47%, replicated 0.55%)26 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.37%)27 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.06%, replicated 0.07%)28 Aug 2026: −6 bp (published -0.03%, replicated 0.03%)31 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published -0.40%, replicated -0.35%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.27%, replicated -0.27%)2 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.93%)3 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.54%, replicated -0.55%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.04%, replicated -1.02%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.56%, replicated -1.55%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.43%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.34%, replicated -2.34%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.72%, replicated -2.71%)15 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -4.28%, replicated -4.25%)16 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -4.09%, replicated -4.05%)17 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -3.34%, replicated -3.30%)18 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.63%, replicated -2.58%)
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.8 bp jump+6.8 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump−5.3 bp jump−5.3 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +19 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.53%)29 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.94%, replicated 1.76%)30 Jun 2026: +18 bp (published 1.77%, replicated 1.59%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.56%, replicated 0.56%)2 Jul 2026: −1 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.14%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.73%, replicated 1.69%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.83%, replicated 1.79%)8 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.25%, replicated -0.28%)9 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.78%, replicated 0.74%)10 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.89%, replicated 1.85%)13 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.73%)14 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.69%, replicated 0.66%)15 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.19%, replicated 1.15%)16 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published 0.98%, replicated 0.95%)17 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 1.31%, replicated 1.24%)20 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.77%)21 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 0.91%, replicated 0.87%)22 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.13%, replicated -0.17%)23 Jul 2026: +3 bp (published -0.79%, replicated -0.82%)24 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published -0.98%, replicated -1.05%)27 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.08%, replicated -0.00%)28 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 0.10%, replicated 0.01%)29 Jul 2026: +10 bp (published 1.32%, replicated 1.23%)30 Jul 2026: +14 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.30%)31 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 1.64%, replicated 1.47%)3 Aug 2026: +4 bp (published 1.67%, replicated 1.63%)4 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.24%, replicated 1.21%)5 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.44%, replicated 1.41%)6 Aug 2026: +3 bp (published 1.53%, replicated 1.50%)7 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.45%, replicated 1.43%)10 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 1.30%, replicated 1.30%)11 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 1.08%, replicated 1.09%)12 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 1.12%, replicated 1.11%)13 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.83%, replicated 0.82%)14 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.79%)17 Aug 2026: +2 bp (published 0.79%, replicated 0.77%)18 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 0.22%, replicated 0.17%)19 Aug 2026: +7 bp (published -0.26%, replicated -0.33%)20 Aug 2026: +1 bp (published 0.59%, replicated 0.58%)21 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.41%, replicated 0.41%)24 Aug 2026: −3 bp (published 0.24%, replicated 0.27%)25 Aug 2026: −7 bp (published 0.47%, replicated 0.55%)26 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published 0.32%, replicated 0.37%)27 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 0.06%, replicated 0.07%)28 Aug 2026: −6 bp (published -0.03%, replicated 0.03%)31 Aug 2026: −5 bp (published -0.40%, replicated -0.35%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.27%, replicated -0.27%)2 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.92%, replicated -0.93%)3 Sep 2026: +1 bp (published -0.54%, replicated -0.55%)4 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.60%, replicated -0.60%)7 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.04%, replicated -1.02%)8 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -1.56%, replicated -1.55%)9 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.43%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.34%, replicated -2.34%)11 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.72%, replicated -2.71%)15 Sep 2026: −3 bp (published -4.28%, replicated -4.25%)16 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -4.09%, replicated -4.05%)17 Sep 2026: −4 bp (published -3.34%, replicated -3.30%)18 Sep 2026: −5 bp (published -2.63%, replicated -2.58%)

Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
Sundaram ELSS Tax Saver Fund Direct Plan Growth
growth₹521.7321 Sep 2026
direct
Sundaram ELSS Tax Saver Fund Direct Plan - Income Distribution CUM Capital Withdrawal Option (IDCW)
idcw₹499.6221 Sep 2026
regular
Sundaram ELSS Tax Saver Fund Regular Growth
growth₹484.8721 Sep 2026
regular
Sundaram ELSS Tax Saver Fund Regular Plan - Income Distribution CUM Capital Withdrawal Option (IDCW)
idcw₹372.7221 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹521.73
Regular growth NAV
₹484.87
NAV divergence to date
7.6% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
0.61% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹12,927

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size