ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
Aditya Birla Sun Life AMC Limited · Equity Funds

Aditya Birla Sun Life Nifty Smallcap 50 Index Fund

Index Funds - Equity Funds Direct plan, growth benchmark: Nifty Smallcap 50 TRI launched 15 Mar 2021 open-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 21 Sep 2026
₹24.37
−0.09% since 18 Sep 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
13.2%
return
3 years
20.1%
a year
5 years
13.3%
a year
Since launch
17.0%
a year, over 5.4 years
Assets (AUM)
₹243 Cr
Apr 2026 factsheet
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
0.48% / 1.02%
a year, as of Apr 2026
Holdings
52
top ten are 34% of the fund · Aug 2026
Disclosed history
5.3 yrs
May 2021 – Aug 2026 · 4 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.70% a year more than Direct

₹27,717 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

NAV replicates within 0.6 bp of its disclosed portfolio

0 jumps since the last disclosure. We re-price the last disclosed portfolio every day and compare it with the NAV the fund published; a gap that opens and stays is a trade not yet disclosed.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Beat its category in 97% of three-year stretches, and averaged +6.0 points a year across all of them

30 rolling windows since 2021 · ahead by 6.2 points a year when it won, behind by 0.5 when it lost. A single five-year figure depends on the day you look; the share of stretches won does not — and the average margin says whether winning often was worth anything.

See every window →

headline and record disagree 2 checks found the headline number and the underlying record pointing different ways — marked on the cards below.

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 21 Sep 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Apr 2021

100150200Apr 2021Sep 2022Jan 2024Jun 2025Sep 2026Apr 2021: NAV ₹10.47May 2021: NAV ₹11.28Jun 2021: NAV ₹11.95Jul 2021: NAV ₹12.92Aug 2021: NAV ₹12.56Sep 2021: NAV ₹13.07Oct 2021: NAV ₹12.85Nov 2021: NAV ₹12.44Dec 2021: NAV ₹13.05Jan 2022: NAV ₹12.65Feb 2022: NAV ₹11.09Mar 2022: NAV ₹11.79Apr 2022: NAV ₹11.59May 2022: NAV ₹10.31Jun 2022: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2022: NAV ₹10.35Aug 2022: NAV ₹10.84Sep 2022: NAV ₹10.51Oct 2022: NAV ₹10.62Nov 2022: NAV ₹11.00Dec 2022: NAV ₹10.70Jan 2023: NAV ₹10.58Feb 2023: NAV ₹10.18Mar 2023: NAV ₹10.12Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.95May 2023: NAV ₹11.41Jun 2023: NAV ₹12.09Jul 2023: NAV ₹13.04Aug 2023: NAV ₹13.84Sep 2023: NAV ₹14.41Oct 2023: NAV ₹14.25Nov 2023: NAV ₹16.02Dec 2023: NAV ₹17.47Jan 2024: NAV ₹18.19Feb 2024: NAV ₹18.00Mar 2024: NAV ₹17.17Apr 2024: NAV ₹19.19May 2024: NAV ₹18.86Jun 2024: NAV ₹20.93Jul 2024: NAV ₹21.87Aug 2024: NAV ₹22.44Sep 2024: NAV ₹22.50Oct 2024: NAV ₹21.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹21.99Dec 2024: NAV ₹21.86Jan 2025: NAV ₹19.68Feb 2025: NAV ₹17.36Mar 2025: NAV ₹18.88Apr 2025: NAV ₹19.40May 2025: NAV ₹20.91Jun 2025: NAV ₹22.44Jul 2025: NAV ₹21.20Aug 2025: NAV ₹20.23Sep 2025: NAV ₹20.54Oct 2025: NAV ₹21.63Nov 2025: NAV ₹21.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹21.05Jan 2026: NAV ₹20.03Feb 2026: NAV ₹20.31Mar 2026: NAV ₹18.25Apr 2026: NAV ₹21.48May 2026: NAV ₹21.88Jun 2026: NAV ₹22.82Jul 2026: NAV ₹23.62Aug 2026: NAV ₹24.35Sep 2026: NAV ₹24.37
100150200Apr 2021Sep 2022Jan 2024Jun 2025Sep 2026Apr 2021: NAV ₹10.47May 2021: NAV ₹11.28Jun 2021: NAV ₹11.95Jul 2021: NAV ₹12.92Aug 2021: NAV ₹12.56Sep 2021: NAV ₹13.07Oct 2021: NAV ₹12.85Nov 2021: NAV ₹12.44Dec 2021: NAV ₹13.05Jan 2022: NAV ₹12.65Feb 2022: NAV ₹11.09Mar 2022: NAV ₹11.79Apr 2022: NAV ₹11.59May 2022: NAV ₹10.31Jun 2022: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2022: NAV ₹10.35Aug 2022: NAV ₹10.84Sep 2022: NAV ₹10.51Oct 2022: NAV ₹10.62Nov 2022: NAV ₹11.00Dec 2022: NAV ₹10.70Jan 2023: NAV ₹10.58Feb 2023: NAV ₹10.18Mar 2023: NAV ₹10.12Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.95May 2023: NAV ₹11.41Jun 2023: NAV ₹12.09Jul 2023: NAV ₹13.04Aug 2023: NAV ₹13.84Sep 2023: NAV ₹14.41Oct 2023: NAV ₹14.25Nov 2023: NAV ₹16.02Dec 2023: NAV ₹17.47Jan 2024: NAV ₹18.19Feb 2024: NAV ₹18.00Mar 2024: NAV ₹17.17Apr 2024: NAV ₹19.19May 2024: NAV ₹18.86Jun 2024: NAV ₹20.93Jul 2024: NAV ₹21.87Aug 2024: NAV ₹22.44Sep 2024: NAV ₹22.50Oct 2024: NAV ₹21.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹21.99Dec 2024: NAV ₹21.86Jan 2025: NAV ₹19.68Feb 2025: NAV ₹17.36Mar 2025: NAV ₹18.88Apr 2025: NAV ₹19.40May 2025: NAV ₹20.91Jun 2025: NAV ₹22.44Jul 2025: NAV ₹21.20Aug 2025: NAV ₹20.23Sep 2025: NAV ₹20.54Oct 2025: NAV ₹21.63Nov 2025: NAV ₹21.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹21.05Jan 2026: NAV ₹20.03Feb 2026: NAV ₹20.31Mar 2026: NAV ₹18.25Apr 2026: NAV ₹21.48May 2026: NAV ₹21.88Jun 2026: NAV ₹22.82Jul 2026: NAV ₹23.62Aug 2026: NAV ₹24.35Sep 2026: NAV ₹24.37
100150200Apr 2021Sep 2022Jan 2024Jun 2025Sep 2026Apr 2021: NAV ₹10.47May 2021: NAV ₹11.28Jun 2021: NAV ₹11.95Jul 2021: NAV ₹12.92Aug 2021: NAV ₹12.56Sep 2021: NAV ₹13.07Oct 2021: NAV ₹12.85Nov 2021: NAV ₹12.44Dec 2021: NAV ₹13.05Jan 2022: NAV ₹12.65Feb 2022: NAV ₹11.09Mar 2022: NAV ₹11.79Apr 2022: NAV ₹11.59May 2022: NAV ₹10.31Jun 2022: NAV ₹9.46Jul 2022: NAV ₹10.35Aug 2022: NAV ₹10.84Sep 2022: NAV ₹10.51Oct 2022: NAV ₹10.62Nov 2022: NAV ₹11.00Dec 2022: NAV ₹10.70Jan 2023: NAV ₹10.58Feb 2023: NAV ₹10.18Mar 2023: NAV ₹10.12Apr 2023: NAV ₹10.95May 2023: NAV ₹11.41Jun 2023: NAV ₹12.09Jul 2023: NAV ₹13.04Aug 2023: NAV ₹13.84Sep 2023: NAV ₹14.41Oct 2023: NAV ₹14.25Nov 2023: NAV ₹16.02Dec 2023: NAV ₹17.47Jan 2024: NAV ₹18.19Feb 2024: NAV ₹18.00Mar 2024: NAV ₹17.17Apr 2024: NAV ₹19.19May 2024: NAV ₹18.86Jun 2024: NAV ₹20.93Jul 2024: NAV ₹21.87Aug 2024: NAV ₹22.44Sep 2024: NAV ₹22.50Oct 2024: NAV ₹21.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹21.99Dec 2024: NAV ₹21.86Jan 2025: NAV ₹19.68Feb 2025: NAV ₹17.36Mar 2025: NAV ₹18.88Apr 2025: NAV ₹19.40May 2025: NAV ₹20.91Jun 2025: NAV ₹22.44Jul 2025: NAV ₹21.20Aug 2025: NAV ₹20.23Sep 2025: NAV ₹20.54Oct 2025: NAV ₹21.63Nov 2025: NAV ₹21.29Dec 2025: NAV ₹21.05Jan 2026: NAV ₹20.03Feb 2026: NAV ₹20.31Mar 2026: NAV ₹18.25Apr 2026: NAV ₹21.48May 2026: NAV ₹21.88Jun 2026: NAV ₹22.82Jul 2026: NAV ₹23.62Aug 2026: NAV ₹24.35Sep 2026: NAV ₹24.37

66 month-ends · ₹10.47 → ₹24.37, 2.3× since Apr 2021

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−25.1%
11 Dec 2024 → 28 Feb 2025
Worst month
−11.8%
Feb 2025
Days to recover
490
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Aug 2026 disclosure · 52 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
51 TREPS / cash equivalents
TREPS · money market
— 0.44% Jul 2026 2 mo +0.44%
52 TREPS / cash equivalents
Net Receivable / Payable · money market
— -0.42% Jul 2026 2 mo -0.42%
Showing 51–52 of 52 · page 3 of 3 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Aug 2026 · grey: a year ago

Finance15.1% · 9.0%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology12.9% · 10.0%
Capital Markets11.5% · 18.1%
Banks11.3%
Chemicals & Petrochemicals7.0% · 7.6%
Healthcare Services6.8% · 4.0%
Auto Components5.7%
Consumer Durables5.0% · 5.6%
share of the book05%10%15%20%

By market cap, Aug 2026

Mid cap19.3%
Small / micro cap78.0%
Not classified2.6%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 0% → 0%Mid cap: 14% → 19%Small / micro: 60% → 78%Cash & other: 1% → 0%25%50%75%May 2021Jan 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 0% → 0%Mid cap: 14% → 19%Small / micro: 60% → 78%Cash & other: 1% → 0%25%50%75%Mid cap 19%Small / micro 78%May 2021Jan 2024Aug 2026
Large cap: 0% → 0%Mid cap: 14% → 19%Small / micro: 60% → 78%Cash & other: 1% → 0%25%50%75%Mid cap 19%Small / micro 78%May 2021Jan 2024Aug 2026
  • Large cap 0%
  • Mid cap 19%
  • Small / micro 78%
  • Cash & other 0%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date headline and record disagree

Beat its category in 97% of three-year stretches, and averaged +6.0 points a year across all of them

30 rolling windows since 2021 · ahead by 6.2 points a year when it won, behind by 0.5 when it lost

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 6.2 points a year in the 29 windows it won and behind by 0.5 in the 1 it lost, so the average across all 30 is +6.0 points. The worst window ended Jul 2024, 0.5 points behind.

windows measured30windows won29average across every window+5.96 pts a year · median +6.62when ahead, by how much+6.18 pts a year over 29 windowswhen behind, by how much−0.51 pts a year over 1 windowworst window−0.51 pts a year, ended Jul 2024best window+11.81 pts a year, ended Jun 2025non-overlapping windows in that span1 — the rolling count overlaps, this does not
Thin record. Only 30 rolling windows — under six years of NAV. The share is shown because it was measured; it is a start, not a record, and does not qualify for the home shelf until 36 windows exist.

Fund minus category, each rolling three-year window

-11.8 pp0.0 pp+11.8 ppApr 2024: fund 22.4% vs category 20.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2024: fund 18.7% vs category 18.3% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2024: fund 20.6% vs category 19.2% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2024: fund 19.2% vs category 19.7% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2024: fund 21.3% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2024: fund 19.9% vs category 18.2% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2024: fund 19.5% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2024: fund 20.9% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2024: fund 18.8% vs category 14.7% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025: fund 15.9% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 16.1% vs category 11.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 17.0% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 18.7% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 26.6% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 33.4% vs category 21.6% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 27.0% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 23.1% vs category 14.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 25.0% vs category 16.0% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 26.8% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 24.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.3% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 23.7% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 25.9% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 21.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 25.2% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 24.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 23.6% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 21.9% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 20.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 19.1% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2024Jul 2025Sep 2026
-11.8 pp0.0 pp+11.8 ppApr 2024: fund 22.4% vs category 20.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2024: fund 18.7% vs category 18.3% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2024: fund 20.6% vs category 19.2% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2024: fund 19.2% vs category 19.7% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2024: fund 21.3% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2024: fund 19.9% vs category 18.2% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2024: fund 19.5% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2024: fund 20.9% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2024: fund 18.8% vs category 14.7% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025: fund 15.9% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 16.1% vs category 11.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 17.0% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 18.7% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 26.6% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 33.4% vs category 21.6% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 27.0% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 23.1% vs category 14.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 25.0% vs category 16.0% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 26.8% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 24.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.3% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 23.7% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 25.9% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 21.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 25.2% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 24.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 23.6% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 21.9% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 20.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 19.1% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2024Jul 2025Sep 2026
-11.8 pp0.0 pp+11.8 ppApr 2024: fund 22.4% vs category 20.9% (3-year CAGR)May 2024: fund 18.7% vs category 18.3% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2024: fund 20.6% vs category 19.2% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2024: fund 19.2% vs category 19.7% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2024: fund 21.3% vs category 18.7% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2024: fund 19.9% vs category 18.2% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2024: fund 19.5% vs category 15.7% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2024: fund 20.9% vs category 16.6% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2024: fund 18.8% vs category 14.7% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2025: fund 15.9% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2025: fund 16.1% vs category 11.6% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2025: fund 17.0% vs category 12.8% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2025: fund 18.7% vs category 14.3% (3-year CAGR)May 2025: fund 26.6% vs category 17.7% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2025: fund 33.4% vs category 21.6% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2025: fund 27.0% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2025: fund 23.1% vs category 14.4% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2025: fund 25.0% vs category 16.0% (3-year CAGR)Oct 2025: fund 26.8% vs category 16.9% (3-year CAGR)Nov 2025: fund 24.6% vs category 16.3% (3-year CAGR)Dec 2025: fund 25.3% vs category 17.6% (3-year CAGR)Jan 2026: fund 23.7% vs category 17.3% (3-year CAGR)Feb 2026: fund 25.9% vs category 18.9% (3-year CAGR)Mar 2026: fund 21.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2026: fund 25.2% vs category 16.5% (3-year CAGR)May 2026: fund 24.2% vs category 15.1% (3-year CAGR)Jun 2026: fund 23.6% vs category 14.0% (3-year CAGR)Jul 2026: fund 21.9% vs category 13.5% (3-year CAGR)Aug 2026: fund 20.7% vs category 14.2% (3-year CAGR)Sep 2026: fund 19.1% vs category 12.4% (3-year CAGR)Apr 2024Jul 2025Sep 2026
ahead of categorybehind

Each bar is one window's margin in percentage points a year. The height of the bars, not the count of green ones, is what the average across every window measures.

A modest five-year number over a record that beat its category 97% of the time. Rolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. This fund was ahead of its category median in 97% of them, which points the opposite way to the headline figure. A single end date decided that headline.
How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.70% a year more than Direct

₹27,717 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹27,717Direct vs Regular, annualised16.9% vs 16.2%measured over5.42 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 100% of the portfolio a year

+0.13 pts of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

excess return per unit of turnover+0.13 pts
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 12 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, and averaged 6.9 points ahead of them

576 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 25.6 points when it won, behind by 15.5 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 25.6 points in the 314 positions it won and behind by 15.5 in the 262 it lost, so the average across all 576 is +6.9 points. The worst position was INE732I01013 at the Dec 2023 disclosure, 51.5 points behind.

positions judged576beat the median stock314average across every position+6.89 pts · median +2.66when ahead, by how much+25.57 pts over 314 positionswhen behind, by how much−15.49 pts over 262 positionsworst position−51.47 pts, INE732I01013 at the Dec 2023 disclosurebest position+216.56 pts, INE040H01021 at the May 2023 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹304 Cr, 75th percentile in category; 79% of growth came from inflows

smaller than 25% of the funds in its category (63 funds) · AUM Jun 2023 → Jun 2026 · Regular plan expense ratio 1.11%

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendflatexpense ratio, Regular / Direct1.11% / 0.57% · category median 1.12%AUM, Jun 2023 → Jun 2026₹58 Cr → ₹304 Cr (+73% a year)of that change, from flows rather than returns79% net inflows · NAV +89% over the window

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Jun 2021 – Jun 2026

100200300Jun 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Sep 2025Jun 2026Jun 2021: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹36 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹41 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹45 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹52 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹58 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹169 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹223 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹252 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹256 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹253 CrApr 2026: ₹243 CrJun 2026: ₹304 Cr (amfi-aaum)
100200300Jun 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Sep 2025Jun 2026Jun 2021: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹36 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹41 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹45 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹52 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹58 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹169 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹223 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹252 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹256 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹253 CrApr 2026: ₹243 CrJun 2026: ₹304 Cr (amfi-aaum)
100200300Jun 2021Dec 2022Mar 2024Sep 2025Jun 2026Jun 2021: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹36 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹41 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹43 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹45 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹52 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹58 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹84 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹169 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹223 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹252 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹256 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹253 CrApr 2026: ₹243 CrJun 2026: ₹304 Cr (amfi-aaum)

22 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average · Regular-plan expense ratio 1.01% in Apr 2021 → 1.11% in Sep 2026

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this headline and record disagree
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

The 5-year figure covers most of the fund's entire life. This scheme is about 5.5 years old and a 5-year return is being displayed for it. That is effectively a since-inception number — it measures the period the fund happened to be launched into, and separates nothing from the manager's contribution.
How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notEvery fund is young once, and a short record is not a bad one. This says the number cannot bear the weight usually placed on it, not that the fund is worse than a peer.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

NAV replicates within 0.6 bp of its disclosed portfolio

What this means. Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

Latest gap beyond expense accrual
−0.6 bp
expense accrual ≈ 0.079 bp a day
Jumps since the disclosure
0clean
24 Jul 2026 +6.1 bp · 11 Aug 2026 +5.7 bp · 3 Jul 2026 +4.7 bp
Window
60 days
25 Jun 2026 – 18 Sep 2026
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +5 bp (published 3.90%, replicated 3.84%)29 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 3.21%, replicated 3.17%)30 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 4.30%, replicated 4.26%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.23%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.36%, replicated 1.36%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.58%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.12%, replicated 2.08%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.28%, replicated -0.32%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)10 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.04%)13 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 3.28%, replicated 3.22%)14 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 2.16%, replicated 2.10%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.77%, replicated 2.69%)16 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.87%, replicated 2.79%)17 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 2.67%, replicated 2.56%)20 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 3.04%, replicated 2.93%)21 Jul 2026: +12 bp (published 3.56%, replicated 3.45%)22 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 1.68%, replicated 1.57%)23 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 0.62%, replicated 0.51%)24 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 0.45%, replicated 0.28%)27 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.60%)28 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.95%, replicated 1.77%)29 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 3.43%, replicated 3.25%)30 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.74%)31 Jul 2026: +20 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.31%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)4 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.11%)5 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.05%, replicated 2.06%)6 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.11%)7 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 3.22%, replicated 3.22%)10 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 2.90%, replicated 2.91%)11 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.05%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.81%, replicated 2.76%)13 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.05%)14 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.40%, replicated 2.34%)17 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.63%)18 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.54%)19 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.13%, replicated 2.00%)20 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.58%)21 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.59%, replicated 3.46%)24 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.23%, replicated 3.10%)25 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.20%, replicated 3.08%)26 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.84%, replicated 3.72%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.93%, replicated 3.81%)28 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.88%, replicated 3.75%)31 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.07%, replicated 2.95%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.29%, replicated -0.29%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.73%, replicated -0.72%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.51%)4 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.82%)7 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.88%, replicated 0.89%)8 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.21%)9 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.81%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.69%)11 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.09%, replicated 0.11%)15 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -2.27%, replicated -2.25%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.41%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.52%, replicated -1.51%)18 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.17%, replicated 0.19%)
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +5 bp (published 3.90%, replicated 3.84%)29 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 3.21%, replicated 3.17%)30 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 4.30%, replicated 4.26%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.23%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.36%, replicated 1.36%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.58%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.12%, replicated 2.08%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.28%, replicated -0.32%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)10 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.04%)13 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 3.28%, replicated 3.22%)14 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 2.16%, replicated 2.10%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.77%, replicated 2.69%)16 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.87%, replicated 2.79%)17 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 2.67%, replicated 2.56%)20 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 3.04%, replicated 2.93%)21 Jul 2026: +12 bp (published 3.56%, replicated 3.45%)22 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 1.68%, replicated 1.57%)23 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 0.62%, replicated 0.51%)24 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 0.45%, replicated 0.28%)27 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.60%)28 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.95%, replicated 1.77%)29 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 3.43%, replicated 3.25%)30 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.74%)31 Jul 2026: +20 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.31%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)4 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.11%)5 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.05%, replicated 2.06%)6 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.11%)7 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 3.22%, replicated 3.22%)10 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 2.90%, replicated 2.91%)11 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.05%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.81%, replicated 2.76%)13 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.05%)14 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.40%, replicated 2.34%)17 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.63%)18 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.54%)19 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.13%, replicated 2.00%)20 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.58%)21 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.59%, replicated 3.46%)24 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.23%, replicated 3.10%)25 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.20%, replicated 3.08%)26 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.84%, replicated 3.72%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.93%, replicated 3.81%)28 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.88%, replicated 3.75%)31 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.07%, replicated 2.95%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.29%, replicated -0.29%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.73%, replicated -0.72%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.51%)4 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.82%)7 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.88%, replicated 0.89%)8 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.21%)9 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.81%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.69%)11 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.09%, replicated 0.11%)15 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -2.27%, replicated -2.25%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.41%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.52%, replicated -1.51%)18 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.17%, replicated 0.19%)
0 bp10 bp20 bp+6.1 bp jump+6.1 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+5.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump+4.7 bp jump25 Jun 202617 Jul 20267 Aug 202628 Aug 202618 Sep 202625 Jun 2026: +5 bp (published 3.90%, replicated 3.84%)29 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 3.21%, replicated 3.17%)30 Jun 2026: +4 bp (published 4.30%, replicated 4.26%)1 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 0.23%, replicated 0.23%)2 Jul 2026: 0 bp (published 1.36%, replicated 1.36%)3 Jul 2026: +5 bp (published 1.47%, replicated 1.43%)6 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.58%)7 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 2.12%, replicated 2.08%)8 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published -0.28%, replicated -0.32%)9 Jul 2026: +4 bp (published 1.55%, replicated 1.51%)10 Jul 2026: +7 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.04%)13 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 3.28%, replicated 3.22%)14 Jul 2026: +6 bp (published 2.16%, replicated 2.10%)15 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.77%, replicated 2.69%)16 Jul 2026: +8 bp (published 2.87%, replicated 2.79%)17 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 2.67%, replicated 2.56%)20 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 3.04%, replicated 2.93%)21 Jul 2026: +12 bp (published 3.56%, replicated 3.45%)22 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 1.68%, replicated 1.57%)23 Jul 2026: +11 bp (published 0.62%, replicated 0.51%)24 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 0.45%, replicated 0.28%)27 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.78%, replicated 1.60%)28 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 1.95%, replicated 1.77%)29 Jul 2026: +18 bp (published 3.43%, replicated 3.25%)30 Jul 2026: +17 bp (published 2.91%, replicated 2.74%)31 Jul 2026: +20 bp (published 3.51%, replicated 3.31%)3 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.17%, replicated 1.17%)4 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 1.11%, replicated 1.11%)5 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 2.05%, replicated 2.06%)6 Aug 2026: −1 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.11%)7 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 3.22%, replicated 3.22%)10 Aug 2026: 0 bp (published 2.90%, replicated 2.91%)11 Aug 2026: +5 bp (published 3.10%, replicated 3.05%)12 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.81%, replicated 2.76%)13 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 3.11%, replicated 3.05%)14 Aug 2026: +6 bp (published 2.40%, replicated 2.34%)17 Aug 2026: +9 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.63%)18 Aug 2026: +8 bp (published 2.62%, replicated 2.54%)19 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.13%, replicated 2.00%)20 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 2.71%, replicated 2.58%)21 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.59%, replicated 3.46%)24 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.23%, replicated 3.10%)25 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.20%, replicated 3.08%)26 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.84%, replicated 3.72%)27 Aug 2026: +12 bp (published 3.93%, replicated 3.81%)28 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.88%, replicated 3.75%)31 Aug 2026: +13 bp (published 3.07%, replicated 2.95%)1 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.29%, replicated -0.29%)2 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published -0.73%, replicated -0.72%)3 Sep 2026: 0 bp (published 0.50%, replicated 0.51%)4 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.82%, replicated 0.82%)7 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.88%, replicated 0.89%)8 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 1.20%, replicated 1.21%)9 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.80%, replicated 0.81%)10 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published 0.67%, replicated 0.69%)11 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.09%, replicated 0.11%)15 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published -2.27%, replicated -2.25%)16 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -2.42%, replicated -2.41%)17 Sep 2026: −1 bp (published -1.52%, replicated -1.51%)18 Sep 2026: −2 bp (published 0.17%, replicated 0.19%)

Read it this way: daily residuals within ±2 bp are trading noise and the expense ratio accruing. A jump that stays is a portfolio change the fund has not disclosed yet — the size bounds how material. A gap that opens then closes is usually a dividend going ex-date.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
Aditya Birla Sun Life Nifty Smallcap 50 Index Fund-Direct Growth
growth₹24.3721 Sep 2026
direct
Aditya Birla Sun Life Nifty Smallcap 50 Index Fund-Direct - Payout of IDCW
idcw₹24.3721 Sep 2026
regular
Aditya Birla Sun Life Nifty Smallcap 50 Index Fund-Regular Growth
growth₹23.5821 Sep 2026
regular
Aditya Birla Sun Life Nifty Smallcap 50 Index Fund-Regular - Payout of IDCW
idcw₹23.5821 Sep 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹24.37
Regular growth NAV
₹23.58
NAV divergence to date
3.4% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
0.70% a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹27,717

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size