ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
ICICI Prudential · Income

ICICI Prudential Multiple Yield Fund - Series 5 - 1100 Days - Plan A

Income Direct plan, growth launched 5 Sep 2013 close-ended

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 26 Sep 2016
₹14.70
+0.46% since 31 Aug 2016
1 year
7.9%
return
3 years
not enough history
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
8.8%
a year, over 2.0 years
Assets (AUM)
₹133 Cr
Sep 2016 AMFI quarterly average
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
not disclosed
a year
Holdings
24
top ten are 77% of the fund · Mar 2016
Disclosed history
2.3 yrs
Sep 2013 – Mar 2016 · 3 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.36 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹27,298 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

Not replicated: the portfolio cannot be priced line by line in this build.

Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.

Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

See every window →

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 26 Sep 2016

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Sep 2014

100110Sep 2014Mar 2015Oct 2015Apr 2016Sep 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹12.43Oct 2014: NAV ₹12.68Nov 2014: NAV ₹12.84Dec 2014: NAV ₹12.87Jan 2015: NAV ₹13.06Feb 2015: NAV ₹13.06Mar 2015: NAV ₹13.25Apr 2015: NAV ₹13.24May 2015: NAV ₹13.32Jun 2015: NAV ₹13.38Jul 2015: NAV ₹13.62Aug 2015: NAV ₹13.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹13.63Oct 2015: NAV ₹13.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹13.70Dec 2015: NAV ₹13.75Jan 2016: NAV ₹13.64Feb 2016: NAV ₹13.57Mar 2016: NAV ₹13.91Apr 2016: NAV ₹13.97May 2016: NAV ₹14.12Jun 2016: NAV ₹14.26Jul 2016: NAV ₹14.50Aug 2016: NAV ₹14.64Sep 2016: NAV ₹14.70
100110Sep 2014Mar 2015Oct 2015Apr 2016Sep 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹12.43Oct 2014: NAV ₹12.68Nov 2014: NAV ₹12.84Dec 2014: NAV ₹12.87Jan 2015: NAV ₹13.06Feb 2015: NAV ₹13.06Mar 2015: NAV ₹13.25Apr 2015: NAV ₹13.24May 2015: NAV ₹13.32Jun 2015: NAV ₹13.38Jul 2015: NAV ₹13.62Aug 2015: NAV ₹13.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹13.63Oct 2015: NAV ₹13.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹13.70Dec 2015: NAV ₹13.75Jan 2016: NAV ₹13.64Feb 2016: NAV ₹13.57Mar 2016: NAV ₹13.91Apr 2016: NAV ₹13.97May 2016: NAV ₹14.12Jun 2016: NAV ₹14.26Jul 2016: NAV ₹14.50Aug 2016: NAV ₹14.64Sep 2016: NAV ₹14.70
100110Sep 2014Mar 2015Oct 2015Apr 2016Sep 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹12.43Oct 2014: NAV ₹12.68Nov 2014: NAV ₹12.84Dec 2014: NAV ₹12.87Jan 2015: NAV ₹13.06Feb 2015: NAV ₹13.06Mar 2015: NAV ₹13.25Apr 2015: NAV ₹13.24May 2015: NAV ₹13.32Jun 2015: NAV ₹13.38Jul 2015: NAV ₹13.62Aug 2015: NAV ₹13.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹13.63Oct 2015: NAV ₹13.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹13.70Dec 2015: NAV ₹13.75Jan 2016: NAV ₹13.64Feb 2016: NAV ₹13.57Mar 2016: NAV ₹13.91Apr 2016: NAV ₹13.97May 2016: NAV ₹14.12Jun 2016: NAV ₹14.26Jul 2016: NAV ₹14.50Aug 2016: NAV ₹14.64Sep 2016: NAV ₹14.70

25 month-ends · ₹12.43 → ₹14.70, 1.2× since Sep 2014

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
not computed
Worst month
not computed
Days to recover
not computed
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Mar 2016 disclosure · 24 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
11 HCL Technologies Ltd.
equity
Software 2.96% Mar 2016 1 mo +2.96% points
12 TREPS / cash equivalents
CBLO · government security
— 2.81% Sep 2013 2.6 yrs +0.50% points
13 Shree Cements Ltd.
equity
Cement 2.33% Apr 2015 1.0 yrs +0.23% points
14 Motherson Sumi Systems Ltd.
equity
Auto Ancillaries 2.29% Sep 2013 2.6 yrs −0.22% points
15 Cipla Ltd.
equity
Pharmaceuticals 2.26% Apr 2014 2.0 yrs −0.61% points
16 ITC Ltd.
equity
Consumer Non Durables 1.89% Nov 2015 5 mo −0.10% points
17 ICICI Bank Ltd.
equity
Banks 1.83% Dec 2014 1.3 yrs −0.31% points
18 CPs and CDs
money market
— 1.54% Sep 2015 7 mo −2.87% points
19 Vijaya Bank **
money market
— 1.54% Sep 2015 7 mo +0.02% points
20 Tech Mahindra Ltd.
equity
Software 1.50% Apr 2015 1.0 yrs −0.20% points
Showing 11–20 of 24 · page 2 of 3 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Mar 2016 · grey: a year ago

Software4.5%
Power3.0%
Pharmaceuticals3.0% · 7.5%
Cement2.3%
Auto Ancillaries2.3% · 3.9%
Consumer Non Durables1.9%
Banks1.8% · 2.8%
share of the book05%

By market cap, Mar 2016

Large cap18.1%
Cash & equivalents8.2%
Not classified0.7%
Other74.6%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 9% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 8%25%50%75%Sep 2013Feb 2015Mar 2016
Large cap: 9% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 8%25%50%75%Large cap 18%Cash & other 8%Sep 2013Feb 2015Mar 2016
Large cap: 9% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 8%25%50%75%Large cap 18%Cash & other 8%Sep 2013Feb 2015Mar 2016
  • Large cap 18%
  • Cash & other 8%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.36 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹27,298 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹27,298Direct vs Regular, annualised8.8% vs 7.4%measured over2 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 20% of the portfolio a year

+0.11% points of excess return per unit of turnover

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
excess return per unit of turnover+0.11% points
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 12 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten

5 of 10 top picks beat their peers over the next 6 months, and averaged 0.3 percentage points ahead of them

172 positions judged, one disclosure at a time · ahead by 15.2 percentage points when it won, behind by 15.1 when it lost

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How often, and by how much. The count and the average agree. Ahead by 15.2 percentage points in the 87 positions it won and behind by 15.1 in the 85 it lost, so the average across all 172 is +0.3 percentage points. The worst position was INE062A01012 at the May 2014 disclosure, 114.3 percentage points behind.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
positions judged172beat the median stock87average across every position+0.27% points · median +1.00when ahead, by how much+15.23% points over 87 positionswhen behind, by how much−15.05% points over 85 positionsworst position−114.31% points, INE062A01012 at the May 2014 disclosurebest position+60.55% points, INE775A01035 at the Dec 2013 disclosure
How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹133 Cr, 46th percentile in category

smaller than 54% of the funds in its category (26 funds) · AUM Sep 2013 → Sep 2016

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

median holding weight, trendfallingAUM, Sep 2013 → Sep 2016₹8 Cr → ₹133 Cr (+159% a year)

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Sep 2013 – Sep 2016

50100Sep 2013Jun 2014Jun 2015Mar 2016Sep 2016Sep 2013: ₹8 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹104 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹107 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹113 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹127 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹134 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹133 Cr (amfi-aaum)
50100Sep 2013Jun 2014Jun 2015Mar 2016Sep 2016Sep 2013: ₹8 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹104 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹107 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹113 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹127 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹134 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹133 Cr (amfi-aaum)
50100Sep 2013Jun 2014Jun 2015Mar 2016Sep 2016Sep 2013: ₹8 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹104 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹107 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹113 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹127 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹131 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹134 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹133 Cr (amfi-aaum)

13 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. Co-managed funds attribute the same months to every named manager, and a factsheet names the manager of record, not necessarily the person making the calls.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

No signal. About 81% of this fund is outside listed Indian equity — a foreign or derivative sleeve, or debt — and there are no daily prices to replicate it with. A wrong signal would be worse than none.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
ICICI Prudential Multiple Yield Fund - Series 5 - 1100 Days - Plan A - Direct Plan - Cumulative
growth₹14.7026 Sep 2016
direct
ICICI Prudential Multiple Yield Fund - Series 5 - 1100 Days - Plan A - Direct Plan - Dividend
idcw₹12.8826 Sep 2016
regular
ICICI Prudential Multiple Yield Fund - Series 5 - 1100 Days - Plan A - Cumulative
growth₹14.1026 Sep 2016
regular
ICICI Prudential Multiple Yield Fund - Series 5 - 1100 Days - Plan A - Dividend
idcw₹12.5426 Sep 2016
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹14.70
Regular growth NAV
₹14.10
NAV divergence to date
4.3% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
1.36% points a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹27,298

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size