ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
UNKNOWN · Uncategorised · wound up

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund

uncategorised Direct plan, growth

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 24 Nov 2016
₹20.45
+0.40% since 31 Oct 2016
1 year
7.0%
return
3 years
not enough history
5 years
not enough history
Since launch
7.8%
a year, over 2.1 years
Assets (AUM)
₹236 Cr
Sep 2016 AMFI quarterly average
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
not disclosed
a year
Holdings
none disclosed
Disclosed history
— – — · 0 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Cannot be measured: needs both a Direct and a Regular growth class.

The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

Not replicated: the portfolio cannot be priced line by line in this build.

Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.

Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

See every window →

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 24 Nov 2016

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Sep 2014

100105110115Sep 2014Apr 2015Nov 2015May 2016Nov 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹17.40Oct 2014: NAV ₹17.53Nov 2014: NAV ₹17.65Dec 2014: NAV ₹17.78Jan 2015: NAV ₹17.91Feb 2015: NAV ₹18.02Mar 2015: NAV ₹18.16Apr 2015: NAV ₹18.29May 2015: NAV ₹18.42Jun 2015: NAV ₹18.54Jul 2015: NAV ₹18.67Aug 2015: NAV ₹18.79Sep 2015: NAV ₹18.91Oct 2015: NAV ₹19.01Nov 2015: NAV ₹19.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹19.24Jan 2016: NAV ₹19.36Feb 2016: NAV ₹19.47Mar 2016: NAV ₹19.58Apr 2016: NAV ₹19.71May 2016: NAV ₹19.83Jun 2016: NAV ₹19.94Jul 2016: NAV ₹20.04Aug 2016: NAV ₹20.15Sep 2016: NAV ₹20.26Oct 2016: NAV ₹20.37Nov 2016: NAV ₹20.45
100105110115Sep 2014Apr 2015Nov 2015May 2016Nov 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹17.40Oct 2014: NAV ₹17.53Nov 2014: NAV ₹17.65Dec 2014: NAV ₹17.78Jan 2015: NAV ₹17.91Feb 2015: NAV ₹18.02Mar 2015: NAV ₹18.16Apr 2015: NAV ₹18.29May 2015: NAV ₹18.42Jun 2015: NAV ₹18.54Jul 2015: NAV ₹18.67Aug 2015: NAV ₹18.79Sep 2015: NAV ₹18.91Oct 2015: NAV ₹19.01Nov 2015: NAV ₹19.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹19.24Jan 2016: NAV ₹19.36Feb 2016: NAV ₹19.47Mar 2016: NAV ₹19.58Apr 2016: NAV ₹19.71May 2016: NAV ₹19.83Jun 2016: NAV ₹19.94Jul 2016: NAV ₹20.04Aug 2016: NAV ₹20.15Sep 2016: NAV ₹20.26Oct 2016: NAV ₹20.37Nov 2016: NAV ₹20.45
100105110115Sep 2014Apr 2015Nov 2015May 2016Nov 2016Sep 2014: NAV ₹17.40Oct 2014: NAV ₹17.53Nov 2014: NAV ₹17.65Dec 2014: NAV ₹17.78Jan 2015: NAV ₹17.91Feb 2015: NAV ₹18.02Mar 2015: NAV ₹18.16Apr 2015: NAV ₹18.29May 2015: NAV ₹18.42Jun 2015: NAV ₹18.54Jul 2015: NAV ₹18.67Aug 2015: NAV ₹18.79Sep 2015: NAV ₹18.91Oct 2015: NAV ₹19.01Nov 2015: NAV ₹19.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹19.24Jan 2016: NAV ₹19.36Feb 2016: NAV ₹19.47Mar 2016: NAV ₹19.58Apr 2016: NAV ₹19.71May 2016: NAV ₹19.83Jun 2016: NAV ₹19.94Jul 2016: NAV ₹20.04Aug 2016: NAV ₹20.15Sep 2016: NAV ₹20.26Oct 2016: NAV ₹20.37Nov 2016: NAV ₹20.45

27 month-ends · ₹17.40 → ₹20.45, 1.2× since Sep 2014

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
not computed
Worst month
not computed
Days to recover
not computed
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

— disclosure · 0 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
No holdings disclosed in this build.

Largest sectors, latest disclosure

Not yet computable. Sector labels come from the disclosures; none were mapped for this fund.

By market cap, latest disclosure

Not yet computable. Needs cap tiers for every holding.

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured
Not measurable yet. Needs a Direct and a Regular growth class with overlapping NAV history.

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought
Not measurable yet. Needs at least two consecutive monthly disclosures.

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia
Not measurable yet. Needs the holdings history for this fund; not computed yet.

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten
Not measurable yet. Detector not yet written: needs each disclosure's top ten joined to six months of forward prices. Holdings and prices are in hand.

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹236 Cr

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
AUM, Sep 2013 → Sep 2016₹1,536 Cr → ₹236 Cr (−46% a year)

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Jun 2010 – Sep 2016

020004000Jun 2010Mar 2012Sep 2013Jun 2015Sep 2016Jun 2010: ₹6 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹7 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹10 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹16 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹17 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹2,952 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹2,356 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹1,536 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹1,666 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹3,806 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹3,937 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹5,533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹4,846 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹5,439 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹3,607 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹2,132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹740 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹271 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)
020004000Jun 2010Mar 2012Sep 2013Jun 2015Sep 2016Jun 2010: ₹6 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹7 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹10 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹16 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹17 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹2,952 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹2,356 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹1,536 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹1,666 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹3,806 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹3,937 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹5,533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹4,846 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹5,439 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹3,607 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹2,132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹740 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹271 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)
020004000Jun 2010Mar 2012Sep 2013Jun 2015Sep 2016Jun 2010: ₹6 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹7 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹10 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹16 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹21 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹17 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹15 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹13 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹2,952 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹2,356 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹1,536 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹1,666 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹3,806 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹3,937 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹5,533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹4,846 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹5,439 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹3,607 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹2,132 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹740 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹271 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹236 Cr (amfi-aaum)

26 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. Co-managed funds attribute the same months to every named manager, and a factsheet names the manager of record, not necessarily the person making the calls.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

No signal. Replication needs a fully disclosed domestic-equity portfolio and daily prices for every line; this fund has not been replicated in this build.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Growth Option
growth₹20.4524 Nov 2016
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Daily Dividend Option
idcw₹10.0124 Nov 2016
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Weekly Dividend Option
idcw₹10.1425 Apr 2016
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Monthly Dividend Option
idcw₹10.0818 Nov 2014
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Fortnightly Dividend Option
idcw₹—
direct
JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Direct Plan - Bonus Option
₹11.9024 Nov 2016

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Retail Plan - Growth Option
growth₹18.5324 Nov 2016

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Retail Plan - Daily Dividend Option
idcw₹10.0224 Nov 2016

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Retail Plan - Weekly Dividend Option
idcw₹10.0224 Nov 2016

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Retail Plan - Fortnightly Dividend Option
idcw₹—

JPMorgan India Liquid Fund - Retail Plan - Monthly Dividend Option
idcw₹10.0724 Nov 2016
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹20.45
Regular growth NAV
₹18.53
NAV divergence to date
10.4% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
not computed
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
not computed

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size