ANVESHAN Create account
HSBC · Uncategorised · wound up

HSBC Tax Saver Equity Fund

uncategorised Direct plan, growth

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 23 Jan 2026
₹101.24
−1.31% since 22 Jan 2026, the previous NAV
1 year
1.6%
return
3 years
19.1%
a year
5 years
17.6%
a year
Since launch
13.2%
a year, over 11.3 years
Assets (AUM)
₹59 Cr
Mar 2026 AMFI quarterly average
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
not disclosed
a year
Holdings
52
top ten are 48% of the fund · Dec 2025
Disclosed history
4.6 yrs
Sep 2018 – Dec 2025 · 1 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.05 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹30,657 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

Not replicated: the portfolio cannot be priced line by line in this build.

Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.

Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

See every window →

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 23 Jan 2026

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Sep 2014

100200300400Sep 2014Jul 2017Jun 2020Apr 2023Jan 2026Sep 2014: NAV ₹25.00Oct 2014: NAV ₹26.06Nov 2014: NAV ₹26.61Dec 2014: NAV ₹26.80Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.36Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹27.23Apr 2015: NAV ₹26.57May 2015: NAV ₹27.11Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.10Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.39Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.12Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.09Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.25Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹27.04Jan 2016: NAV ₹25.34Feb 2016: NAV ₹22.93Mar 2016: NAV ₹26.02Apr 2016: NAV ₹26.46May 2016: NAV ₹27.67Jun 2016: NAV ₹28.43Jul 2016: NAV ₹29.83Aug 2016: NAV ₹30.47Sep 2016: NAV ₹30.75Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.28Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.00Dec 2016: NAV ₹28.78Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.81Feb 2017: NAV ₹32.60Mar 2017: NAV ₹34.23Apr 2017: NAV ₹35.65May 2017: NAV ₹36.08Jun 2017: NAV ₹36.28Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.51Aug 2017: NAV ₹37.13Sep 2017: NAV ₹36.95Oct 2017: NAV ₹38.97Nov 2017: NAV ₹39.63Dec 2017: NAV ₹41.36Jan 2018: NAV ₹41.21Feb 2018: NAV ₹39.28Mar 2018: NAV ₹37.69Apr 2018: NAV ₹39.99May 2018: NAV ₹38.82Jun 2018: NAV ₹37.15Jul 2018: NAV ₹39.09Aug 2018: NAV ₹39.83Sep 2018: NAV ₹35.99Oct 2018: NAV ₹34.88Nov 2018: NAV ₹36.37Dec 2018: NAV ₹36.81Jan 2019: NAV ₹35.81Feb 2019: NAV ₹35.34Mar 2019: NAV ₹39.19Apr 2019: NAV ₹38.39May 2019: NAV ₹39.39Jun 2019: NAV ₹39.25Jul 2019: NAV ₹36.58Aug 2019: NAV ₹36.40Sep 2019: NAV ₹38.12Oct 2019: NAV ₹39.01Nov 2019: NAV ₹40.15Dec 2019: NAV ₹40.26Jan 2020: NAV ₹41.38Feb 2020: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2020: NAV ₹29.39Apr 2020: NAV ₹32.71May 2020: NAV ₹31.52Jun 2020: NAV ₹34.20Jul 2020: NAV ₹36.36Aug 2020: NAV ₹37.36Sep 2020: NAV ₹37.10Oct 2020: NAV ₹38.35Nov 2020: NAV ₹42.74Dec 2020: NAV ₹46.08Jan 2021: NAV ₹45.14Feb 2021: NAV ₹48.56Mar 2021: NAV ₹48.78Apr 2021: NAV ₹48.58May 2021: NAV ₹51.76Jun 2021: NAV ₹53.55Jul 2021: NAV ₹55.20Aug 2021: NAV ₹58.63Sep 2021: NAV ₹61.03Oct 2021: NAV ₹61.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹59.32Dec 2021: NAV ₹61.67Jan 2022: NAV ₹61.89Feb 2022: NAV ₹58.66Mar 2022: NAV ₹60.99Apr 2022: NAV ₹59.48May 2022: NAV ₹57.00Jun 2022: NAV ₹54.29Jul 2022: NAV ₹60.13Aug 2022: NAV ₹61.91Sep 2022: NAV ₹60.14Oct 2022: NAV ₹62.37Nov 2022: NAV ₹64.29Dec 2022: NAV ₹62.23Jan 2023: NAV ₹60.22Feb 2023: NAV ₹58.98Mar 2023: NAV ₹58.91Apr 2023: NAV ₹61.05May 2023: NAV ₹63.72Jun 2023: NAV ₹66.25Jul 2023: NAV ₹68.90Aug 2023: NAV ₹70.02Sep 2023: NAV ₹71.26Oct 2023: NAV ₹69.45Nov 2023: NAV ₹74.77Dec 2023: NAV ₹79.22Jan 2024: NAV ₹82.12Feb 2024: NAV ₹84.39Mar 2024: NAV ₹84.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹88.40May 2024: NAV ₹87.89Jun 2024: NAV ₹95.03Jul 2024: NAV ₹98.76Aug 2024: NAV ₹102.04Sep 2024: NAV ₹104.37Oct 2024: NAV ₹103.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹105.27Dec 2024: NAV ₹106.20Jan 2025: NAV ₹98.20Feb 2025: NAV ₹87.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹95.16Apr 2025: NAV ₹99.26May 2025: NAV ₹103.70Jun 2025: NAV ₹108.15Jul 2025: NAV ₹107.43Aug 2025: NAV ₹104.13Sep 2025: NAV ₹104.24Oct 2025: NAV ₹107.60Nov 2025: NAV ₹108.06Dec 2025: NAV ₹107.65Jan 2026: NAV ₹101.24
100200300400Sep 2014Jul 2017Jun 2020Apr 2023Jan 2026Sep 2014: NAV ₹25.00Oct 2014: NAV ₹26.06Nov 2014: NAV ₹26.61Dec 2014: NAV ₹26.80Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.36Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹27.23Apr 2015: NAV ₹26.57May 2015: NAV ₹27.11Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.10Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.39Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.12Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.09Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.25Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹27.04Jan 2016: NAV ₹25.34Feb 2016: NAV ₹22.93Mar 2016: NAV ₹26.02Apr 2016: NAV ₹26.46May 2016: NAV ₹27.67Jun 2016: NAV ₹28.43Jul 2016: NAV ₹29.83Aug 2016: NAV ₹30.47Sep 2016: NAV ₹30.75Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.28Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.00Dec 2016: NAV ₹28.78Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.81Feb 2017: NAV ₹32.60Mar 2017: NAV ₹34.23Apr 2017: NAV ₹35.65May 2017: NAV ₹36.08Jun 2017: NAV ₹36.28Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.51Aug 2017: NAV ₹37.13Sep 2017: NAV ₹36.95Oct 2017: NAV ₹38.97Nov 2017: NAV ₹39.63Dec 2017: NAV ₹41.36Jan 2018: NAV ₹41.21Feb 2018: NAV ₹39.28Mar 2018: NAV ₹37.69Apr 2018: NAV ₹39.99May 2018: NAV ₹38.82Jun 2018: NAV ₹37.15Jul 2018: NAV ₹39.09Aug 2018: NAV ₹39.83Sep 2018: NAV ₹35.99Oct 2018: NAV ₹34.88Nov 2018: NAV ₹36.37Dec 2018: NAV ₹36.81Jan 2019: NAV ₹35.81Feb 2019: NAV ₹35.34Mar 2019: NAV ₹39.19Apr 2019: NAV ₹38.39May 2019: NAV ₹39.39Jun 2019: NAV ₹39.25Jul 2019: NAV ₹36.58Aug 2019: NAV ₹36.40Sep 2019: NAV ₹38.12Oct 2019: NAV ₹39.01Nov 2019: NAV ₹40.15Dec 2019: NAV ₹40.26Jan 2020: NAV ₹41.38Feb 2020: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2020: NAV ₹29.39Apr 2020: NAV ₹32.71May 2020: NAV ₹31.52Jun 2020: NAV ₹34.20Jul 2020: NAV ₹36.36Aug 2020: NAV ₹37.36Sep 2020: NAV ₹37.10Oct 2020: NAV ₹38.35Nov 2020: NAV ₹42.74Dec 2020: NAV ₹46.08Jan 2021: NAV ₹45.14Feb 2021: NAV ₹48.56Mar 2021: NAV ₹48.78Apr 2021: NAV ₹48.58May 2021: NAV ₹51.76Jun 2021: NAV ₹53.55Jul 2021: NAV ₹55.20Aug 2021: NAV ₹58.63Sep 2021: NAV ₹61.03Oct 2021: NAV ₹61.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹59.32Dec 2021: NAV ₹61.67Jan 2022: NAV ₹61.89Feb 2022: NAV ₹58.66Mar 2022: NAV ₹60.99Apr 2022: NAV ₹59.48May 2022: NAV ₹57.00Jun 2022: NAV ₹54.29Jul 2022: NAV ₹60.13Aug 2022: NAV ₹61.91Sep 2022: NAV ₹60.14Oct 2022: NAV ₹62.37Nov 2022: NAV ₹64.29Dec 2022: NAV ₹62.23Jan 2023: NAV ₹60.22Feb 2023: NAV ₹58.98Mar 2023: NAV ₹58.91Apr 2023: NAV ₹61.05May 2023: NAV ₹63.72Jun 2023: NAV ₹66.25Jul 2023: NAV ₹68.90Aug 2023: NAV ₹70.02Sep 2023: NAV ₹71.26Oct 2023: NAV ₹69.45Nov 2023: NAV ₹74.77Dec 2023: NAV ₹79.22Jan 2024: NAV ₹82.12Feb 2024: NAV ₹84.39Mar 2024: NAV ₹84.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹88.40May 2024: NAV ₹87.89Jun 2024: NAV ₹95.03Jul 2024: NAV ₹98.76Aug 2024: NAV ₹102.04Sep 2024: NAV ₹104.37Oct 2024: NAV ₹103.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹105.27Dec 2024: NAV ₹106.20Jan 2025: NAV ₹98.20Feb 2025: NAV ₹87.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹95.16Apr 2025: NAV ₹99.26May 2025: NAV ₹103.70Jun 2025: NAV ₹108.15Jul 2025: NAV ₹107.43Aug 2025: NAV ₹104.13Sep 2025: NAV ₹104.24Oct 2025: NAV ₹107.60Nov 2025: NAV ₹108.06Dec 2025: NAV ₹107.65Jan 2026: NAV ₹101.24
100200300400Sep 2014Jul 2017Jun 2020Apr 2023Jan 2026Sep 2014: NAV ₹25.00Oct 2014: NAV ₹26.06Nov 2014: NAV ₹26.61Dec 2014: NAV ₹26.80Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.36Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹27.23Apr 2015: NAV ₹26.57May 2015: NAV ₹27.11Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.10Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.39Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.12Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.09Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.25Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.12Dec 2015: NAV ₹27.04Jan 2016: NAV ₹25.34Feb 2016: NAV ₹22.93Mar 2016: NAV ₹26.02Apr 2016: NAV ₹26.46May 2016: NAV ₹27.67Jun 2016: NAV ₹28.43Jul 2016: NAV ₹29.83Aug 2016: NAV ₹30.47Sep 2016: NAV ₹30.75Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.28Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.00Dec 2016: NAV ₹28.78Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.81Feb 2017: NAV ₹32.60Mar 2017: NAV ₹34.23Apr 2017: NAV ₹35.65May 2017: NAV ₹36.08Jun 2017: NAV ₹36.28Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.51Aug 2017: NAV ₹37.13Sep 2017: NAV ₹36.95Oct 2017: NAV ₹38.97Nov 2017: NAV ₹39.63Dec 2017: NAV ₹41.36Jan 2018: NAV ₹41.21Feb 2018: NAV ₹39.28Mar 2018: NAV ₹37.69Apr 2018: NAV ₹39.99May 2018: NAV ₹38.82Jun 2018: NAV ₹37.15Jul 2018: NAV ₹39.09Aug 2018: NAV ₹39.83Sep 2018: NAV ₹35.99Oct 2018: NAV ₹34.88Nov 2018: NAV ₹36.37Dec 2018: NAV ₹36.81Jan 2019: NAV ₹35.81Feb 2019: NAV ₹35.34Mar 2019: NAV ₹39.19Apr 2019: NAV ₹38.39May 2019: NAV ₹39.39Jun 2019: NAV ₹39.25Jul 2019: NAV ₹36.58Aug 2019: NAV ₹36.40Sep 2019: NAV ₹38.12Oct 2019: NAV ₹39.01Nov 2019: NAV ₹40.15Dec 2019: NAV ₹40.26Jan 2020: NAV ₹41.38Feb 2020: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2020: NAV ₹29.39Apr 2020: NAV ₹32.71May 2020: NAV ₹31.52Jun 2020: NAV ₹34.20Jul 2020: NAV ₹36.36Aug 2020: NAV ₹37.36Sep 2020: NAV ₹37.10Oct 2020: NAV ₹38.35Nov 2020: NAV ₹42.74Dec 2020: NAV ₹46.08Jan 2021: NAV ₹45.14Feb 2021: NAV ₹48.56Mar 2021: NAV ₹48.78Apr 2021: NAV ₹48.58May 2021: NAV ₹51.76Jun 2021: NAV ₹53.55Jul 2021: NAV ₹55.20Aug 2021: NAV ₹58.63Sep 2021: NAV ₹61.03Oct 2021: NAV ₹61.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹59.32Dec 2021: NAV ₹61.67Jan 2022: NAV ₹61.89Feb 2022: NAV ₹58.66Mar 2022: NAV ₹60.99Apr 2022: NAV ₹59.48May 2022: NAV ₹57.00Jun 2022: NAV ₹54.29Jul 2022: NAV ₹60.13Aug 2022: NAV ₹61.91Sep 2022: NAV ₹60.14Oct 2022: NAV ₹62.37Nov 2022: NAV ₹64.29Dec 2022: NAV ₹62.23Jan 2023: NAV ₹60.22Feb 2023: NAV ₹58.98Mar 2023: NAV ₹58.91Apr 2023: NAV ₹61.05May 2023: NAV ₹63.72Jun 2023: NAV ₹66.25Jul 2023: NAV ₹68.90Aug 2023: NAV ₹70.02Sep 2023: NAV ₹71.26Oct 2023: NAV ₹69.45Nov 2023: NAV ₹74.77Dec 2023: NAV ₹79.22Jan 2024: NAV ₹82.12Feb 2024: NAV ₹84.39Mar 2024: NAV ₹84.06Apr 2024: NAV ₹88.40May 2024: NAV ₹87.89Jun 2024: NAV ₹95.03Jul 2024: NAV ₹98.76Aug 2024: NAV ₹102.04Sep 2024: NAV ₹104.37Oct 2024: NAV ₹103.95Nov 2024: NAV ₹105.27Dec 2024: NAV ₹106.20Jan 2025: NAV ₹98.20Feb 2025: NAV ₹87.94Mar 2025: NAV ₹95.16Apr 2025: NAV ₹99.26May 2025: NAV ₹103.70Jun 2025: NAV ₹108.15Jul 2025: NAV ₹107.43Aug 2025: NAV ₹104.13Sep 2025: NAV ₹104.24Oct 2025: NAV ₹107.60Nov 2025: NAV ₹108.06Dec 2025: NAV ₹107.65Jan 2026: NAV ₹101.24

137 month-ends · ₹25.00 → ₹101.24, 4.0× since Sep 2014

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
−20.3%
16 Dec 2024 → 3 Mar 2025
Worst month
−10.4%
Feb 2025
Days to recover
not yet recovered
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Dec 2025 disclosure · 52 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
1 ICICI Bank Limited
equity
Banks 6.88% Sep 2018 7.3 yrs −0.13% points
2 TREPS / cash equivalents
Treps · money market
— 6.13% Sep 2020 5.3 yrs −0.42% points
3 Multi Commodity Exchange of India Ltd.
equity
Capital Markets 6.04% Sep 2023 2.3 yrs +1.74% points
4 HDFC Bank Limited
equity
Banks 5.64% Sep 2019 6.3 yrs +0.14% points
5 Reliance Industries Limited
equity
Petroleum Products 4.85% Sep 2018 7.3 yrs +0.58% points
6 Bharti Airtel Limited
equity
Telecom - Services 4.52% Oct 2023 2.3 yrs +0.42% points
7 Infosys Limited
equity
IT - Software 4.14% Sep 2018 7.3 yrs +0.38% points
8 TVS Motor Company Limited
equity
Automobiles 3.52% Jan 2022 4.0 yrs +0.22% points
9 State Bank of India
equity
Banks 3.46% Oct 2021 4.3 yrs +0.34% points
10 PB Fintech Limited
equity
Financial Technology (Fintech) 3.01% Dec 2023 2.1 yrs +0.16% points
Showing 1–10 of 52 · page 1 of 6 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Dec 2025 · grey: a year ago

Banks20.1% · 15.6%
Consumer Durables8.9% · 13.9%
Capital Markets8.8% · 9.3%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology7.3% · 6.6%
IT - Software5.1% · 8.1%
Petroleum Products4.9% · 3.5%
Telecom - Services4.5% · 3.2%
Industrial Products3.8% · 4.5%
share of the book05%10%15%20%25%

By market cap, Dec 2025

Large cap46.6%
Mid cap21.9%
Small / micro cap17.6%
Cash & equivalents5.7%
Not classified8.3%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 48% → 47%Mid cap: 17% → 22%Small / micro: 12% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 6%25%50%75%Sep 2018Oct 2023Dec 2025
Large cap: 48% → 47%Mid cap: 17% → 22%Small / micro: 12% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 6%25%50%75%Large cap 47%Mid cap 22%Small / micro 18%Sep 2018Oct 2023Dec 2025
Large cap: 48% → 47%Mid cap: 17% → 22%Small / micro: 12% → 18%Cash & other: 0% → 6%25%50%75%Large cap 47%Mid cap 22%Small / micro 18%Sep 2018Oct 2023Dec 2025
  • Large cap 47%
  • Mid cap 22%
  • Small / micro 18%
  • Cash & other 6%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 1.05 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹30,657 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹30,657Direct vs Regular, annualised13.1% vs 12.1%measured over11.33 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 45% of the portfolio a year

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
excess return per unit of turnoverneeds the category 1-year median — not computed yet
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 61 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten
Not measurable yet. Detector not yet written: needs each disclosure's top ten joined to six months of forward prices. Holdings and prices are in hand.

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹59 Cr

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
AUM, Mar 2023 → Mar 2026₹181 Cr → ₹59 Cr (−31% a year)

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Jun 2010 – Mar 2026

100200300Jun 2010Jun 2014Jun 2018Jun 2022Mar 2026Jun 2010: ₹302 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹285 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹281 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹243 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹218 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹201 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹208 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹162 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹184 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹199 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹204 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹176 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹159 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹186 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹172 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹167 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹148 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹147 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹171 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹174 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹194 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹181 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹203 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹219 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹229 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹251 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹259 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹232 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹248 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹59 Cr (amfi-aaum)
100200300Jun 2010Jun 2014Jun 2018Jun 2022Mar 2026Jun 2010: ₹302 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹285 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹281 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹243 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹218 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹201 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹208 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹162 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹184 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹199 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹204 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹176 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹159 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹186 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹172 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹167 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹148 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹147 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹171 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹174 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹194 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹181 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹203 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹219 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹229 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹251 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹259 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹232 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹248 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹59 Cr (amfi-aaum)
100200300Jun 2010Jun 2014Jun 2018Jun 2022Mar 2026Jun 2010: ₹302 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹285 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹281 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹243 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹218 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹206 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹201 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹208 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹162 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹168 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹184 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹197 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹199 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹204 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹176 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹159 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹170 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹177 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹185 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹186 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹183 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹172 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹167 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹148 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹154 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹147 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹119 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹152 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹171 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹174 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹202 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹189 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹194 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹181 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹182 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2023: ₹196 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2023: ₹203 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2024: ₹219 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2024: ₹229 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2024: ₹251 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2024: ₹259 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2025: ₹232 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2025: ₹239 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2025: ₹248 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2025: ₹245 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2026: ₹59 Cr (amfi-aaum)

64 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. Co-managed funds attribute the same months to every named manager, and a factsheet names the manager of record, not necessarily the person making the calls.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

No signal. Replication needs a fully disclosed domestic-equity portfolio and daily prices for every line; this fund has not been replicated in this build.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
HSBC Tax Saver Equity Fund - Growth Direct
growth₹101.2423 Jan 2026
direct
HSBC Tax Saver Equity Fund - IDCW Direct Plan
idcw₹37.1623 Jan 2026
regular
HSBC Tax Saver Equity Fund - Growth
growth₹89.8523 Jan 2026
regular
HSBC Tax Saver Equity Fund - IDCW
idcw₹32.8823 Jan 2026
The Direct / Regular gap, in money
Direct growth NAV
₹101.24
Regular growth NAV
₹89.85
NAV divergence to date
12.7% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
1.05% points a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹30,657

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size