ANVESHAN
Theme
Create account
Aditya Birla Sun Life AMC Limited · Uncategorised · wound up

Aditya Birla Sun Life Tax Plan

uncategorised Direct plan, growth

At a glance

the fund as it stands today, from public disclosures

NAV, 13 Apr 2023
₹51.83
+1.95% since 31 Mar 2023
1 year
−2.8%
return
3 years
16.4%
a year
5 years
5.2%
a year
Since launch
9.9%
a year, over 8.5 years
Assets (AUM)
₹42 Cr
Jun 2023 AMFI quarterly average
Expense ratio, Direct / Regular
not disclosed
a year
Holdings
42
top ten are 54% of the fund · Mar 2023
Disclosed history
9.8 yrs
Apr 2013 – Mar 2023 · 1 of 11 checks could run
Fund managers
not parsed from the factsheets yet

What only Anveshan can tell you

measured from the disclosures, not quoted from a brochure — each links to how it was done

P5Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.92 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹20,676 on ₹1 lakh over ten years. Same portfolio, two prices — the difference is what the Regular plan's distribution costs you, read from the two NAVs.

See how it is measured →
P7Whose record

Not known yet: no factsheet named a manager for this fund.

How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

See what is missing →
NAVTracking gap

Not replicated: the portfolio cannot be priced line by line in this build.

Each day, the NAV the fund published against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at that day's prices. A gap that opens and stays is a change the fund has made and not disclosed yet.

See the daily gap →
P4Consistency

Not measurable yet: needs three years of NAV and a category median.

Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

See every window →

NAV and drawdown

Direct plan, growth class · as of 13 Apr 2023

Month-end NAV, indexed to 100 at Sep 2014

100150200250Sep 2014Nov 2016Jan 2019Mar 2021Apr 2023Sep 2014: NAV ₹23.12Oct 2014: NAV ₹23.84Nov 2014: NAV ₹25.39Dec 2014: NAV ₹25.94Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.08Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹28.12Apr 2015: NAV ₹27.36May 2015: NAV ₹27.93Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.62Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.93Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.47Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.90Dec 2015: NAV ₹28.34Jan 2016: NAV ₹26.79Feb 2016: NAV ₹24.76Mar 2016: NAV ₹27.27Apr 2016: NAV ₹27.95May 2016: NAV ₹28.68Jun 2016: NAV ₹29.33Jul 2016: NAV ₹30.69Aug 2016: NAV ₹31.21Sep 2016: NAV ₹31.42Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.92Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.52Dec 2016: NAV ₹29.55Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.73Feb 2017: NAV ₹31.71Mar 2017: NAV ₹33.77Apr 2017: NAV ₹34.88May 2017: NAV ₹34.91Jun 2017: NAV ₹35.80Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.44Aug 2017: NAV ₹36.83Sep 2017: NAV ₹37.84Oct 2017: NAV ₹39.90Nov 2017: NAV ₹40.55Dec 2017: NAV ₹42.59Jan 2018: NAV ₹42.12Feb 2018: NAV ₹40.89Mar 2018: NAV ₹40.20Apr 2018: NAV ₹42.92May 2018: NAV ₹41.67Jun 2018: NAV ₹41.18Jul 2018: NAV ₹42.68Aug 2018: NAV ₹44.54Sep 2018: NAV ₹40.71Oct 2018: NAV ₹38.44Nov 2018: NAV ₹40.32Dec 2018: NAV ₹40.84Jan 2019: NAV ₹39.95Feb 2019: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2019: NAV ₹42.10Apr 2019: NAV ₹41.81May 2019: NAV ₹41.98Jun 2019: NAV ₹41.02Jul 2019: NAV ₹38.18Aug 2019: NAV ₹38.09Sep 2019: NAV ₹40.11Oct 2019: NAV ₹42.42Nov 2019: NAV ₹42.67Dec 2019: NAV ₹42.60Jan 2020: NAV ₹43.16Feb 2020: NAV ₹41.56Mar 2020: NAV ₹32.68Apr 2020: NAV ₹36.94May 2020: NAV ₹35.63Jun 2020: NAV ₹38.78Jul 2020: NAV ₹39.53Aug 2020: NAV ₹41.54Sep 2020: NAV ₹41.75Oct 2020: NAV ₹41.64Nov 2020: NAV ₹45.45Dec 2020: NAV ₹48.98Jan 2021: NAV ₹47.36Feb 2021: NAV ₹50.68Mar 2021: NAV ₹51.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹50.03May 2021: NAV ₹52.15Jun 2021: NAV ₹52.70Jul 2021: NAV ₹53.56Aug 2021: NAV ₹54.72Sep 2021: NAV ₹56.36Oct 2021: NAV ₹55.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹54.73Dec 2021: NAV ₹55.19Jan 2022: NAV ₹54.48Feb 2022: NAV ₹51.82Mar 2022: NAV ₹53.37Apr 2022: NAV ₹52.89May 2022: NAV ₹50.75Jun 2022: NAV ₹48.65Jul 2022: NAV ₹52.85Aug 2022: NAV ₹54.88Sep 2022: NAV ₹52.44Oct 2022: NAV ₹54.33Nov 2022: NAV ₹56.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹54.63Jan 2023: NAV ₹52.46Feb 2023: NAV ₹51.26Mar 2023: NAV ₹50.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹51.83
100150200250Sep 2014Nov 2016Jan 2019Mar 2021Apr 2023Sep 2014: NAV ₹23.12Oct 2014: NAV ₹23.84Nov 2014: NAV ₹25.39Dec 2014: NAV ₹25.94Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.08Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹28.12Apr 2015: NAV ₹27.36May 2015: NAV ₹27.93Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.62Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.93Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.47Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.90Dec 2015: NAV ₹28.34Jan 2016: NAV ₹26.79Feb 2016: NAV ₹24.76Mar 2016: NAV ₹27.27Apr 2016: NAV ₹27.95May 2016: NAV ₹28.68Jun 2016: NAV ₹29.33Jul 2016: NAV ₹30.69Aug 2016: NAV ₹31.21Sep 2016: NAV ₹31.42Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.92Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.52Dec 2016: NAV ₹29.55Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.73Feb 2017: NAV ₹31.71Mar 2017: NAV ₹33.77Apr 2017: NAV ₹34.88May 2017: NAV ₹34.91Jun 2017: NAV ₹35.80Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.44Aug 2017: NAV ₹36.83Sep 2017: NAV ₹37.84Oct 2017: NAV ₹39.90Nov 2017: NAV ₹40.55Dec 2017: NAV ₹42.59Jan 2018: NAV ₹42.12Feb 2018: NAV ₹40.89Mar 2018: NAV ₹40.20Apr 2018: NAV ₹42.92May 2018: NAV ₹41.67Jun 2018: NAV ₹41.18Jul 2018: NAV ₹42.68Aug 2018: NAV ₹44.54Sep 2018: NAV ₹40.71Oct 2018: NAV ₹38.44Nov 2018: NAV ₹40.32Dec 2018: NAV ₹40.84Jan 2019: NAV ₹39.95Feb 2019: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2019: NAV ₹42.10Apr 2019: NAV ₹41.81May 2019: NAV ₹41.98Jun 2019: NAV ₹41.02Jul 2019: NAV ₹38.18Aug 2019: NAV ₹38.09Sep 2019: NAV ₹40.11Oct 2019: NAV ₹42.42Nov 2019: NAV ₹42.67Dec 2019: NAV ₹42.60Jan 2020: NAV ₹43.16Feb 2020: NAV ₹41.56Mar 2020: NAV ₹32.68Apr 2020: NAV ₹36.94May 2020: NAV ₹35.63Jun 2020: NAV ₹38.78Jul 2020: NAV ₹39.53Aug 2020: NAV ₹41.54Sep 2020: NAV ₹41.75Oct 2020: NAV ₹41.64Nov 2020: NAV ₹45.45Dec 2020: NAV ₹48.98Jan 2021: NAV ₹47.36Feb 2021: NAV ₹50.68Mar 2021: NAV ₹51.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹50.03May 2021: NAV ₹52.15Jun 2021: NAV ₹52.70Jul 2021: NAV ₹53.56Aug 2021: NAV ₹54.72Sep 2021: NAV ₹56.36Oct 2021: NAV ₹55.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹54.73Dec 2021: NAV ₹55.19Jan 2022: NAV ₹54.48Feb 2022: NAV ₹51.82Mar 2022: NAV ₹53.37Apr 2022: NAV ₹52.89May 2022: NAV ₹50.75Jun 2022: NAV ₹48.65Jul 2022: NAV ₹52.85Aug 2022: NAV ₹54.88Sep 2022: NAV ₹52.44Oct 2022: NAV ₹54.33Nov 2022: NAV ₹56.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹54.63Jan 2023: NAV ₹52.46Feb 2023: NAV ₹51.26Mar 2023: NAV ₹50.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹51.83
100150200250Sep 2014Nov 2016Jan 2019Mar 2021Apr 2023Sep 2014: NAV ₹23.12Oct 2014: NAV ₹23.84Nov 2014: NAV ₹25.39Dec 2014: NAV ₹25.94Jan 2015: NAV ₹28.08Feb 2015: NAV ₹28.29Mar 2015: NAV ₹28.12Apr 2015: NAV ₹27.36May 2015: NAV ₹27.93Jun 2015: NAV ₹27.62Jul 2015: NAV ₹28.93Aug 2015: NAV ₹27.58Sep 2015: NAV ₹27.47Oct 2015: NAV ₹27.74Nov 2015: NAV ₹27.90Dec 2015: NAV ₹28.34Jan 2016: NAV ₹26.79Feb 2016: NAV ₹24.76Mar 2016: NAV ₹27.27Apr 2016: NAV ₹27.95May 2016: NAV ₹28.68Jun 2016: NAV ₹29.33Jul 2016: NAV ₹30.69Aug 2016: NAV ₹31.21Sep 2016: NAV ₹31.42Oct 2016: NAV ₹31.92Nov 2016: NAV ₹29.52Dec 2016: NAV ₹29.55Jan 2017: NAV ₹30.73Feb 2017: NAV ₹31.71Mar 2017: NAV ₹33.77Apr 2017: NAV ₹34.88May 2017: NAV ₹34.91Jun 2017: NAV ₹35.80Jul 2017: NAV ₹37.44Aug 2017: NAV ₹36.83Sep 2017: NAV ₹37.84Oct 2017: NAV ₹39.90Nov 2017: NAV ₹40.55Dec 2017: NAV ₹42.59Jan 2018: NAV ₹42.12Feb 2018: NAV ₹40.89Mar 2018: NAV ₹40.20Apr 2018: NAV ₹42.92May 2018: NAV ₹41.67Jun 2018: NAV ₹41.18Jul 2018: NAV ₹42.68Aug 2018: NAV ₹44.54Sep 2018: NAV ₹40.71Oct 2018: NAV ₹38.44Nov 2018: NAV ₹40.32Dec 2018: NAV ₹40.84Jan 2019: NAV ₹39.95Feb 2019: NAV ₹39.68Mar 2019: NAV ₹42.10Apr 2019: NAV ₹41.81May 2019: NAV ₹41.98Jun 2019: NAV ₹41.02Jul 2019: NAV ₹38.18Aug 2019: NAV ₹38.09Sep 2019: NAV ₹40.11Oct 2019: NAV ₹42.42Nov 2019: NAV ₹42.67Dec 2019: NAV ₹42.60Jan 2020: NAV ₹43.16Feb 2020: NAV ₹41.56Mar 2020: NAV ₹32.68Apr 2020: NAV ₹36.94May 2020: NAV ₹35.63Jun 2020: NAV ₹38.78Jul 2020: NAV ₹39.53Aug 2020: NAV ₹41.54Sep 2020: NAV ₹41.75Oct 2020: NAV ₹41.64Nov 2020: NAV ₹45.45Dec 2020: NAV ₹48.98Jan 2021: NAV ₹47.36Feb 2021: NAV ₹50.68Mar 2021: NAV ₹51.11Apr 2021: NAV ₹50.03May 2021: NAV ₹52.15Jun 2021: NAV ₹52.70Jul 2021: NAV ₹53.56Aug 2021: NAV ₹54.72Sep 2021: NAV ₹56.36Oct 2021: NAV ₹55.76Nov 2021: NAV ₹54.73Dec 2021: NAV ₹55.19Jan 2022: NAV ₹54.48Feb 2022: NAV ₹51.82Mar 2022: NAV ₹53.37Apr 2022: NAV ₹52.89May 2022: NAV ₹50.75Jun 2022: NAV ₹48.65Jul 2022: NAV ₹52.85Aug 2022: NAV ₹54.88Sep 2022: NAV ₹52.44Oct 2022: NAV ₹54.33Nov 2022: NAV ₹56.04Dec 2022: NAV ₹54.63Jan 2023: NAV ₹52.46Feb 2023: NAV ₹51.26Mar 2023: NAV ₹50.84Apr 2023: NAV ₹51.83

104 month-ends · ₹23.12 → ₹51.83, 2.2× since Sep 2014

Deepest fall (max drawdown)
not computed
Worst month
not computed
Days to recover
not computed
from the deepest trough back to the old high

Drawdown is measured on the last year of daily NAV; trailing returns are CAGR of the direct growth class. A single end date decides them — the consistency card (P4) below is the record that does not, and it reports both how often the fund beat its category and by how much, because the first without the second can point the wrong way.

Holdings

Mar 2023 disclosure · 42 lines · when each was first held and the change over the last three disclosures

#HoldingSectorWeightFirst heldHeld for3-mo change
11 Gillette India Limited
equity
Personal Products 3.36% Jun 2014 8.8 yrs −0.12% points
12 Fortis Healthcare Limited
equity
Healthcare Services 3.15% Jan 2020 3.3 yrs +0.07% points
13 Shoppers Stop Limited
equity
Retailing 2.95% Apr 2013 10 yrs +0.09% points
14 Tata Consultancy Services Limited
equity
IT - Software 2.68% Apr 2013 10 yrs +0.27% points
15 Sundaram Clayton Limited
equity
Auto Components 2.38% Apr 2013 10 yrs −0.64% points
16 Shree Cement Limited
equity
Cement & Cement Products 2.05% Apr 2013 10 yrs −0.39% points
17 Pfizer Limited
equity
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology 1.86% Apr 2013 10 yrs −0.25% points
18 Kansai Nerolac Paints Limited
equity
Consumer Durables 1.68% Mar 2015 8.1 yrs −0.46% points
19 Hindustan Unilever Limited
equity
Diversified FMCG 1.55% Apr 2013 10 yrs +0.18% points
20 ICRA Limited
equity
Capital Markets 1.43% Apr 2013 10 yrs −0.41% points
Showing 11–20 of 42 · page 2 of 5 rows per page102550all

Largest sectors, Mar 2023 · grey: a year ago

Banks22.6%
IT - Software9.4%
Finance7.6%
Industrial Manufacturing6.1%
Consumer Durables5.8%
Petroleum Products5.4%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology5.2%
Construction4.5%
share of the book05%10%15%20%25%

By market cap, Mar 2023

Large cap52.9%
Mid cap17.4%
Small / micro cap18.8%
Cash & equivalents1.0%
Not classified10.0%
share of the book025%50%75%100%

"Not classified" is what no cap tier could be inferred for — newly listed names, or lines without an ISIN.

Composition by market cap, month by month — what the fund actually held against what its label says

Large cap: 32% → 53%Mid cap: 18% → 17%Small / micro: 16% → 19%Cash & other: 0% → 1%25%50%75%Apr 2013May 2018Mar 2023
Large cap: 32% → 53%Mid cap: 18% → 17%Small / micro: 16% → 19%Cash & other: 0% → 1%25%50%75%Large cap 53%Mid cap 17%Small / micro 19%Apr 2013May 2018Mar 2023
Large cap: 32% → 53%Mid cap: 18% → 17%Small / micro: 16% → 19%Cash & other: 0% → 1%25%50%75%Large cap 53%Mid cap 17%Small / micro 19%Apr 2013May 2018Mar 2023
  • Large cap 53%
  • Mid cap 17%
  • Small / micro 19%
  • Cash & other 1%

The seven checks, in full

each: the plain claim, where it sits in the category, and — folded — how it is measured and the case against. A flag fires only where headline and record disagree.

P4 Consistency, not a single end date
Not measurable yet. Needs at least three years of month-end NAV and a category median; not computed for this fund yet.

What this means. Take every three-year stretch since the fund had a NAV, one starting each month, and ask two things of each: did it beat the typical fund in its category, and by how much. Counting the wins tells you the record does not depend on when you happen to look; averaging the margin tells you whether winning often was worth anything, because four small wins do not pay for one large loss.

How it is measured, and the case against

A fund that beats its category in most rolling three-year windows has a record; one that beats it in a few has an end date. How often it won and by how much are different questions, and this card answers both, because a fund can win four windows in five and still be behind across all five.

How often has it beaten its category, across every window?

Why this might matterRolling every three-year window forward month by month gives hundreds of overlapping observations instead of one. A single end date decides a headline five-year figure; the share of windows won cannot be flattered by when you happen to look. The average margin across every window is that share and the payoff multiplied together — win share x average beat plus loss share x average shortfall is exactly the average — so a high share bought with a few ruinous windows cannot hide behind the count.
Why it might notRolling windows overlap heavily, so they are not independent observations and the true sample is far smaller than the count suggests — the card says how many non-overlapping windows the same span holds, and it is usually a handful. A fund that changed manager or mandate carries a record that is only partly its own. The average margin is only as meaningful as the category: where a category is a grab bag (“Other ETFs” holds gold beside equity), a large shortfall says the comparison is wrong, not that the fund is. And none of this forecasts: our own study found the share of windows won does not predict the next three years, and weighting it by payoff gives no reason to think otherwise.
P5 Cost, measured

Regular plan costs 0.92 percentage points a year more than Direct

₹20,676 on ₹1 lakh over ten years

What this means. The Regular and Direct plans hold the same portfolio; the Regular one pays a distributor out of your money every day. The gap between the two NAVs is that cost, measured from the NAVs rather than quoted from a document.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
on ₹1,00,000 over ten years₹20,676Direct vs Regular, annualised9.9% vs 8.9%measured over8.58 years
How it is measured, and the case against

The Direct plan is the same portfolio, priced differently; the divergence of the two NAVs is the cost, measured rather than quoted.

What does the Regular plan actually cost against its Direct twin?

Why this might matterSame manager, same holdings, same day. The gap between the two NAV series is the one number on this page that is knowable today rather than hoped for, and it compounds for as long as the units are held.
Why it might notA Regular plan buys advice. If that advice stops someone selling in a drawdown it can be worth more than the fee — the cost is visible and the behavioural saving is not, which makes this comparison unfair in exactly one direction.
P1 Churn, and what it bought

Turns over 43% of the portfolio a year

What this means. How much of the portfolio was bought and sold in a year, computed from what the fund disclosed each month. Trading costs something certain; the extra return it is meant to buy is not.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
excess return per unit of turnoverneeds the category 1-year median — not computed yet
How it is measured, and the case against

Turnover measured from consecutive disclosures — Σ|Δweight|/2 — costs something certain; the excess return it is meant to buy is not.

Is the trading paying for itself?

Why this might matterAMCs define their own turnover figure inconsistently. This one is computed from what the fund disclosed month to month, so two funds are comparable on it. Read it beside the excess return per unit of turnover.
Why it might notTurnover computed from month-end snapshots misses everything bought and sold inside a month, and a fund forced to sell by redemptions is charged for churn it did not choose.
P2 Conviction or inertia

Typical top-10 holding kept 113 months

What this means. How long a typical top-10 position has been in the top ten. Long-held positions are a decision; a top ten that changes every quarter is a reaction.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
active sharenot yet computable — needs index constituent files
How it is measured, and the case against

The median months a top-10 position has been held separates a portfolio somebody chose from one that drifted.

How long does a top-10 position stay a top-10 position?

Why this might matterConcentration is how a manager expresses conviction, and persistence is how long they keep it. Long-held positions with a rising weight are a decision; a top ten that turns over every quarter is a reaction.
Why it might notPersistence without active share is inertia: a portfolio of 166 names that tracks its category closely has diversified away the reason to pay for it. Active share needs index constituent files, which are not loaded yet.
P3 Hit rate of the top ten
Not measurable yet. Detector not yet written: needs each disclosure's top ten joined to six months of forward prices. Holdings and prices are in hand.

What this means. Take each month's ten largest holdings and check whether each one beat the typical stock its category holds over the next six months, and by how much. A blended return can hide two wins and eight losses; a count of wins can hide one position that lost half its value.

How it is measured, and the case against

A manager's largest bets, judged one by one over the following six months, say more than the fund's blended return — and how far each one beat or missed the median stock says more than counting how many did.

Of its top-10 positions, how often did they beat the category-median stock?

Why this might matterA fund can beat its category on two positions and lose on eight; the hit rate shows the pattern the aggregate hides. The average margin then shows what the hit rate hides in turn: six winners worth a point each do not pay for four losers worth ten, and only the margin says which happened.
Why it might notSix months is short, sizing matters more than counting, and a manager who is right on the biggest position and wrong on nine small ones has done their job — the margins here are unweighted, so they answer the counting question better, not the sizing one. Overlapping disclosures judge the same position again each month it is held, so one long-held winner is counted many times. And this is a description of six months already past, not a forecast of the next six.
P6 Size against edge

₹42 Cr

What this means. Where the fund sits by size in its category, and how much of its growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding. A very large fund cannot buy what a small one can; size should buy a lower fee in return.

No category distribution for this measure yet.
AUM, Jun 2020 → Jun 2023₹474 Cr → ₹42 Cr (−56% a year)

Assets under management, ₹ crore, Jun 2010 – Jun 2023

200400600Jun 2010Sep 2013Mar 2017Jun 2020Jun 2023Jun 2010: ₹155 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹153 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹143 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹144 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹135 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹126 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹121 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹123 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹125 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹110 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹116 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹120 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹238 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹263 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹277 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹284 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹295 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹345 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹391 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹405 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹577 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹643 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹686 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹718 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹714 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹647 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹641 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹637 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹579 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹561 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹474 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹521 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹528 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹538 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹494 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹482 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹460 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹408 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹367 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹369 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹362 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹331 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)
200400600Jun 2010Sep 2013Mar 2017Jun 2020Jun 2023Jun 2010: ₹155 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹153 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹143 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹144 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹135 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹126 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹121 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹123 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹125 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹110 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹116 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹120 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹238 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹263 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹277 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹284 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹295 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹345 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹391 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹405 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹577 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹643 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹686 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹718 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹714 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹647 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹641 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹637 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹579 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹561 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹474 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹521 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹528 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹538 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹494 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹482 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹460 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹408 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹367 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹369 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹362 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹331 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)
200400600Jun 2010Sep 2013Mar 2017Jun 2020Jun 2023Jun 2010: ₹155 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2010: ₹153 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2010: ₹157 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2011: ₹143 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2011: ₹144 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2011: ₹135 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2011: ₹124 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2012: ₹126 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2012: ₹121 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2012: ₹123 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2012: ₹129 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2013: ₹125 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2013: ₹117 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2013: ₹110 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2013: ₹116 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2014: ₹120 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2014: ₹137 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2014: ₹165 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2014: ₹192 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2015: ₹238 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2015: ₹263 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2015: ₹277 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2015: ₹284 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2016: ₹295 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2016: ₹345 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2016: ₹391 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2016: ₹405 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2017: ₹452 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2017: ₹533 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2017: ₹577 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2017: ₹643 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2018: ₹686 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2018: ₹718 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2018: ₹714 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2018: ₹647 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2019: ₹641 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2019: ₹637 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2019: ₹579 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2019: ₹600 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2020: ₹561 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2020: ₹474 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2020: ₹521 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2020: ₹528 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2021: ₹538 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2021: ₹494 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2021: ₹482 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2021: ₹460 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2022: ₹408 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2022: ₹367 Cr (amfi-aaum)Sep 2022: ₹369 Cr (amfi-aaum)Dec 2022: ₹362 Cr (amfi-aaum)Mar 2023: ₹331 Cr (amfi-aaum)Jun 2023: ₹42 Cr (amfi-aaum)

53 points · months without a factsheet figure use AMFI's quarterly average

How it is measured, and the case against

Past a certain size the smaller end of a mandate becomes unreachable, and the fund starts to look like its index; what size should buy in return is a lower expense ratio.

Has the fund outgrown the universe it invests in — and did size buy a lower fee?

Why this might matterSize narrows what the manager can meaningfully hold and should lower what the investor pays. Read the AUM history beside the expense ratio: a fund that has tripled through inflows while its Regular-plan TER sits above the category median has kept the benefit of scale for the house. The flow decomposition says how much of the growth was money arriving rather than the portfolio compounding.
Why it might notScale funds research teams, and plenty of large funds have gone on compounding for decades. Inflows follow performance, so a fund growing fast is usually one that did well; the constraint is real but not automatically binding, and a TER is a ceiling the AMC can cut at any time.
P7 Whose record is this
Not measurable yet. Needs manager names from the monthly factsheet archive; none were parsed for this fund yet.

What this means. How long the people running it now have been running it, read from the monthly factsheets. A five-year record earned under someone else is not evidence about these managers.

How it is measured, and the case against

A record earned under different people is not evidence about these ones.

Does the displayed record predate the people running it?

Why this might matterA five-year figure on a fund whose longest-serving manager joined two years ago is the house's record more than the person's. The tenure here comes from what each monthly factsheet named, so a change of hands is dated to the month it was disclosed, and the fund's return against its category can be read over exactly those months.
Why it might notFund houses have processes, research desks and mandates that outlast individuals, so a manager change is not a reset. Co-managed funds attribute the same months to every named manager, and a factsheet names the manager of record, not necessarily the person making the calls.

Tracking gap

the NAV the fund published, against the NAV its last disclosed portfolio would have produced at each day's prices

No signal. Replication needs a fully disclosed domestic-equity portfolio and daily prices for every line; this fund has not been replicated in this build.

Share classes

latest NAV per AMFI code

PlanOptionNAVDate
direct
Aditya Birla Sun Life Tax Plan - Direct Plan - Growth Option
growth₹51.8313 Apr 2023
direct
Aditya Birla Sun Life Tax Plan -DIRECT - IDCW
idcw₹160.9813 Apr 2023
regular
Aditya Birla Sun Life Tax Plan - Regular Plan - Growth Option
growth₹47.4913 Apr 2023
regular
Aditya Birla Sun Life Tax Plan -Regular - IDCW
idcw₹89.3913 Apr 2023
The Direct / Regular gap, in rupees
Direct growth NAV
₹51.83
Regular growth NAV
₹47.49
NAV divergence to date
9.1% — same portfolio, priced differently
Regular costs more by
0.92% points a year
On ₹1,00,000 over ten years
₹20,676

A Regular plan buys advice. The fee is visible and the behavioural saving is not; both are shown, neither is netted off.

Compare with

same category, by size